We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite special occasion couples place”
Review of Trattoria Pomigliano - CLOSED

Trattoria Pomigliano
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our favorite special occasion couples place”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Family owned and VERY Italian - you'll often see the family taking up a table or two to gather while they work. The food is never disappointing. Wine is served in glasses that remind me of "jelly jars" - the same as they use in Italy. The Sausage, peppers and onions dish is a fave. Try it for something different.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“30 Person reservation”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a great place. We had 30 adults/teenagers there for dinner and the service was fantastic, the food even better. They treated us like family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimCreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good homecooked Italian!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although we don't go often, even though it's just around the corner, we know that the food is consistently good at Trattoria Pomigliano. Have never had a bad meal, and like many others will tell you it's just good homecooked Italian "comfort" food! Fairly large menu with most of the basic Italian fare listed. Prices very good, with only a few specials over the $20 range. Surprisingly nice side salad-more than lettuce with a couple pieces of tomato and maybe a cucumber-their's had fresh mozzarella, a couple of Italian olives and croutons with homemade Italian dressing. My husband and I shared the veal parmiggiano and manicotti. Both good and tasty with enough to take home. The sauce on the veal, which comes with penne pasta, was more acidic, but the meat sauce on the manicotti was a touch more sweet. You could see, and taste, that it was long cooked with meat in it-it looked like both beef and pork. Drinks also a good value-tanquerey and tonic for $8 when across the street at pricier restaurants it would easily be $10-$12. Beer-$4.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinR699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fresh, original Southern Italian served like you are family”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

If Aunt Patty is working when you walk in the door, you are greeted with a hug and a smile as if you are coming home. The red sauce is authentic, homemade, and perfectly seasoned. Chicken is pounded flat. Lasagna is piled deep. Anything a la (family member) is wonderful. We bring friends, family, and ourselves here time and time again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nelson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visiting Trattoria Pomigliano is almost like going to someone's home for great Italian meals. We always very much enjoy our visits. The food is good and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. Great to eat in Libertyville.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bluestraveler1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Pomigliano also viewed

Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
 
Libertyville, Lake County
Libertyville, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing