We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special occasion dinner that turned out to be not so special” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wildfire

Wildfire
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildfire is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Lincolnshire
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Aptakisic & Milwaukee
Description: Step back in time to when going out for dinner meant something really special. From the decor to the jazz music, Wildfire has the style and warmth that makes it perfect for celebrating with friends or a quiet evening for two. The extensive menu features broiled steaks and chops, wood-roasted seafood and roasted meats, all prepared in an open kitchen. Signature dishes include Horseradish Crusted Filet Mignon, Macadamia Nut Crusted Halibut, Wildfire Chopped Salad and Cedar Planked Salmon. So order a signature martini or one of our many wines by the glass, then sit back and enjoy the 1940s supper club experience of Wildfire.
Long Grove, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special occasion dinner that turned out to be not so special”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Went there on 11/8/13 for my dad's birthday for dinner. Had reservations for 7 people. They were finally ready to sit us 15 minutes after our scheduled reservation at a table that sits 5 not 7. We refused had to wait another 10 minutes for another table. Two in our party ordered steaks and both steaks were cooked incorrectly - a restaurant who specializes in steak should know how to make them. Manager not understanding, not sympathetic. All she offered us is free dessert for my dad's birthday. Horrible customer service. Our server was not at fault just the management. Last time I visit Wildfire, there are plenty of other incredible restaurants around Chicago.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    131
    31
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
201 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“My favorite steakhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I love wildfire! The food is great, the atmosphere is great. It is probably the best steakhouse in Chicago, and I have been to them all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank djh5723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
184 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This place has awesome food. We've been here a number of times and never left disappointed. The chopped salad is one of the best around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Our children took us here last year as our Christmas gift. Oh what an experience we had. The food is great. Add to that, spending time with family, and our experience was excellent. The servers are very good. This is a very expensive restaurant, but for the money we enjoyed every bite. We will return for another special occasion but would not eat here otherwise. It is very expensive!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nearly excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The ambiance, service, and food has always been top rated. I had my first bad meal there last night. Their roast duck was a special last night. Unfortunately, it was charred black. I mean charred. Always trained to eat what was on my plate, I slowly picked thru the meat looking for good areas. The waitress came over and asked if everything was okay. When I told her I was disappointed with the duck, she brought over the kitchen manager with a replacement half duck. Unfortunately, it was the same charred creature. I told her I appreciated her concern but even she could see the ducks spent too much time under the broiler. I went ahead and finished my meal and was pleasantly surprised to see I wasnt charged. Other than this one time experience, I would give this restaurant an excellent rating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildfire also viewed

 
Lincolnshire, Lake County
Lincolnshire, Lake County
 

Been to Wildfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing