We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the current "light show"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morton Arboretum

Morton Arboretum
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Lisle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only 25 miles west of Chicago, there's something for everyone in all four seasons at The Morton Arboretum. Whether you seek a quiet hike in the woods or an active family day out, The Morton Arboretum offers a wide variety of fun activities, events, tours, and classes for all ages and interests. Here you'll find an oasis of 16 miles of hiking trails and nine miles of paved roads, perfect for hiking, running, biking or just exploring. From a guided tour on an open-air tram, to the award-winning Children's Garden and Maze Garden, to outdoor summer concerts, to lunch in The Ginkgo Room restaurant overlooking Meadow Lake, the Arboretum is a unique place to explore, discover, escape, and connect with trees and nature.
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
931 reviews
353 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Don't miss the current "light show"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We attended on the opening day of the Light Show last Saturday and while it was absolutely freezing it was a wonderful event and the Arboretum deserve accolades for its presentation. The employees were of high spirits despite the temperatures; where we normally would have ambled our way around the lake, stopping at the various lighting destinations, we sort of ran from destination to destination, stopping to pick up a hot chocolate or hot cider at multiple locations enroute. It was frightfully cold and I hope those who were working escaped without frostbite.
There are noise activated, motion activated, and facially activated lighting experiences and this outstanding installation should not be missed by singles, couples, families, nor the curious.
It's WONDERFUL. There is an extra charge for the light show so call ahead to learn.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    116
    24
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
LISLE
2 reviews
“Morton Arboretum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful place that captures the essence of the area. Nature and rural splendor gives a feel for what the region was like a 100 years ago!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DAVID L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, IL USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Illumination:Tree lights at the Morton Arboretum. . .beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Last night we took three of our grandchildren to see the lights. The display is beautiful but I gave this otherwise 5* attraction 4*'s because of the cost. $15 for adults, $10 for kids over 2, $4 for a small cup of hot chocolate. . .

It took us about and hour and fifteen minutes to walk the mile around the lake in bitter cold weather. We probably would have stayed longer if it hadn't been so cold. They have fire pits set up along the display but they weren't much help as far as warming up. The path is paved and is great for strollers or wheelchairs. Bathrooms are located in the visitors center but a porta-john here and there would have been welcome for the two year old who had to go potty about half way around the lake.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank VijogeJoliet_ILUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to attend a wedding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We attended a wonderful wedding at the Thornhill Education Center followed by a reception at the Gingko Restaurant. Had time to visit the grounds. Even on a cool fall day, this is a beautiful place to visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We are members and I have yet to discover the entire place. Ride bikes, walk around the lake, run 12 miles or just look at the beauty of the grounds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank th0masm972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morton Arboretum also viewed

Wheaton, DuPage County
Downers Grove, DuPage County
 
Wheaton, DuPage County
 

Been to Morton Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing