We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If they only had wireless in the rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If they only had wireless in the rooms!”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I had a great one-week stay at this property. However, I misread the website and thought there was wireless access in the rooms. Why wouldn't there be? Marriott in 2011, right? But on arrival, the very kind Mark (manager, I think) let me know that was not the case. He tried valiantly to find a Marriott property nearby with similar rates AND wireless access, but no luck. So I ended up staying, and except for that one glitch, everything was fine. (I had taken a "tablet" with me instead of my laptop, or I would have been able to use WIRED access in my room.) There IS wireless access in the very small (and chilly) lobby, or in the breakfast room.

I had a "studio" room on the 3rd floor, and found everything quite clean and in good repair and working order. I requested a quiet room, and the one I had fit the bill nicely. I was never disturbed by guests or housekeeping, or by noises from above or below. I actually LIKE that they only "freshen" your room a couple of times if you are there a week, since I don't really make the kind of mess I need someone cleaning up after on a daily basis. I used the kitchen pretty extensively, and it was stocked with everything I needed (with a little improvisation on some things). There was a separate can for recycling (yay!). Bathroom was in good shape, though not the most modern or "upgraded". Flat screen TV and heat/ac worked fine. The only little gripe I have about the room was that the sleeper sofa was pretty uncomfortable for sitting; somehow the cushions shift back and your legs are left in contact with a hard metal rod that I assume is part of the unfolding mechanism.

Every employee I came in contact with was pleasant, courteous, and helpful. There is plenty of shopping nearby, including a Target with some groceries just off the back of the parking lot. A major area mall is also very close by, and plenty of good restaurants within just a couple of miles.

Free breakfast is offered; I can't eat much of it due to dietary restrictions, but the coffee was always good, and the area seemed spacious enough for the use it was getting.

I visit this area a few times a year, and I'll check back to see about the wireless upgrade before deciding to stay again. Mark did say that Marriott is in the process of adding wireless in rooms at all its properties and they hope to be upgraded soon. He was very apologetic about the inconvenience.

Room Tip: They accommodated my request for quiet, but the whole place seemed pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roadripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard.

I wanted to take a moment to let you know that we have added wireless internet to all of our guest suites as well as all of our public areas. In addition, we have doubled our bandwidth to insure that our guests have the speed and efficiency they need to get their work done.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Lombard area, you will again choose TownePlace Suites for your accommodations! We'd love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    45
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
46
19
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. When I arrived I had some problems with my credit card all I had were my Marriott Rewards points. The operations manager, Mark Paprocki, let me check in without putting anything down for incidentals and gave me food. I will never forget that. I would recommend this property to anyone that wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard and Mark, our Operations Manager.

I am so excited to hear how you were treated and that your stay was definitely a pleasant one. We have also added wireless internet to all of our guest suites as well as all of our public areas. In addition, we have doubled our bandwidth to insure that our guests have the speed and efficiency they need to get their work done as well.


I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Western suburbs that you choose the TownePlace Suites for your hotel accommodations. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pampa, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed here as a family, if you don't need all the frills and just want a clean comfortable room at a great price this is it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FEMAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard.

I am excited to tell you about some of our recent improvements. We have added daily refreshes to our housekeeping services and these have made a significant impact on the overall cleanliness of our suites.

We have added wireless internet to all of our suites and our public areas. In addition by increasing our bandwidth, it allows our guests to work much more efficiently.

And lastly, we have added a variety of yogurts and hard boiled eggs to our continental breakfast to offer some healthier options.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Lombard area, you will again choose the TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
360 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 760 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Spotlessly clean. Nice cold buffet breakfast, plenty of choice. Friendly staff. Quiet hotel. Exercise room. One minor gripe - could not get wifi in room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pgbDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites in Lombard, Illinois.

I am so excited that you were pleased with the accommodations. Since your visit, we have added wireless internet to all of our guest suites and all public areas. In addition, we have increased our bandwidth to insure that our guests have the speed and efficiency they need to get their work done.

We have added some healthier options to our continental breakfast to include a variety of yogurts and hard boiled eggs.

Should your travels bring you back to the Lombard area, I hope you choose TownePlace Suites for your accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiawatha, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This hotel is really designed for extended-stay business clients, but it is OK for families as well. We stayed here one night during a recent mini-vacation. We chose the hotel because it was fairly close to the Oak Brook Shopping Center and because they offered a two-bedroom suite with full kitchen for a reasonable price.

The room was nice and roomy, the beds were very comfortable, and the staff (including the housekeepers) were exceptionally friendly. My only serious complaint is that WiFi is available only in the lobby area, not in the guest rooms. Network cables were available in the rooms, but the data transfer rate was disappointingly low. Hello, this is 2011!

The breakfast was also a little skimpy compared to other hotels in this class, but they probably assume that many extended-stay guests will opt to cook their own breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NerdyButNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard.

We have made some improvements to our extended stay property. One significant change is the addition of wireless internet to all of our guest suites and public areas. The bandwidth has been increased also to insure that our guests have the speed and efficiency necessary to get their work done!

We have increased our breakfast offerings to include a wide variety of yogurts and hard boiled eggs to satisfy the needs of our healthier guests. I am confident that you will see even more improvements in the breakfast area ini the months ahead.

I hope that if your travel plans bring you back to the Lombard area, you will once again choose TownePlace Suites for your accommodations. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Overall the place was above average with a very helpful staff. Room was pretty large with a very nice desk and great wi-fi for those interested. Kitchenette was nice. Room was clean This is a Marriott that is a step below the Residence Inn but, for the price it was decent. Hotel has great restaurants nearby, a Targets next door and tons of shopping within walking distance. Appreciated the front desk service calling and asking how my stay was. The complimentary breakfast was a little bit of disappointment, but not an issue. You could do worse. Would recommend this for short to mid-term stays. Didnt try out the pool, but it looked well kept. They also have grills available for guests.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartTimeTNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard.

I would like to take this opportunity to share a few recent upgrades with you. We have recently increased the bandwidth for our wireless internet which allows our guests to work more efficiently from the comfort of their suite.

In addition we have added some healthier options to our continental breakfast with a variety of yogurts and hard boiled eggs.

And lastly, we now offer daily refreshes as part of our housekeeping service. This has made a signficant impact on the overall cleanliness and upkeep of our suites.

I do hope that when your travels bring you back to the Lombard area, you will again choose the TownePlace Suites. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Stayed one night here. There is a Target and a mall very nearby. Close to the mall are a lot of restaurants. It was a good overall experience. I prefer this brand to the Candlewood Suites brand. The advantages are that the rooms are a little larger, they have a sofa in the room, and they offer breakfast. I left too early in the morning to have breakfast, so I can't comment on that. They do have free coffee and tea in the lobby, so I had some of that before I left. I did have some problems connecting to the internet, but that may have been a problem with my computer. There is not much in the workout room, but they did have a place to work out. When I walked into the building for my room, I did smell an awful smell. I think it must have been someone cooking a meal. That's one disadvantage to a place that offers kitchens - you do have to smell what other people cook. In addition, I could hear someone's dogs barking during the night. The rooms were very clean, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mrjanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding our TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard.

We have recently added wireless internet to all of our guest suites and our public areas. In addition, we have increased the bandwidth to insure that our guests have quick connectivity and efficient service to help them get their work done in a timely fashion.

We have also increased our breakfast offerings to include a variety of yogurts and hard-boiled eggs giving our guests some healthier options.

In addition, we have added daily refreshes to our housekeeping schedule. This has made a significant improvement in the overall cleanliness of our rooms.

I hope that if your travels bring you back to the Lombard area, you again choose the TownePlace Suites for your accommodations. We'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lombard hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Lombard
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
0.2 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
0.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard

Property: TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard
Address: 455 E 22nd St, Lombard, IL 60148-6170
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay property with many of the comforts of home. Flat screen tv's and free high speed internet make it easy to relax. Our Studio Home Office Suites make it easy to spread out and be connected. Our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast gives you just the right start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Chicago Lombard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Chicago Lombard Hotel Lombard
Towneplace Suites Lombard
Lombard Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing