We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Nice hotel lobby. Friendly employees. Nice rooms, comfortable beds. The only thing that was wrong is that there was someones left over food box in our refrigerator so we called housekeeping and they apologized and cleaned the fridge for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Camille,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you found the hotel and lobby appealing and our associates friendly. I am pleased housekeeping was able to refresh your in-room refrigerator effortlessly.

We would welcome the opportunity accommodate you again.

Be Well,
Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 454 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This was by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at and I have stayed at Westin's around the world. First we had received a handicapped room which was not needed and should have been saved for someone who needed it. The lights to the smoke detectors blinked all night long for 3 nights and I complained at the front desk and they told me this " was normal". I have stayed here in the past and that was not the case. Also I had to get new keys at the front desk and I specifically asked that the Starword preferred level was attached to my keys and of course when I went to that level they did not work! The air did not work at all untill we complained 3 days in a row. The beds were not " Heavenly" at all. They were typical hotel beds. It didn't matter if you complained because management did not care. Worst Westin I have ever stayed at!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank allison1318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Allison,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel dring your recent stay. Please accept my apologies over your dissatisfaction with our associates and the service they provided you.

If you would like discuss your experiences in detail, I urge you to contact the hotel and speak to our front office director.

Stay well.

Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

While there were some nice aspects of the hotel, for a Westin, I expected more. The quality of service varied based on where you were in the hotel. Both at check in and check out I felt simply as if I was being "processed" with no social interaction from either person. The staff in the 18th floor concierge club were, for the most part, pleasant. The cleaning staff were the most helpful and approachable staff we encountered. On that note, I felt our room was cleaned quickly and the little things that you like to see when you walk into a room were missing. The beds were made, but not pulled tight and were wrinkled. One of the beds' sheets had black marks on it. The door the large entertainment piece fell off when I opened it. The bathroom was clean, but was showing signs of age and again, a "quick cleaning". The location is convenient to Yorktown, Oak Brook, and all of the restaurants in the area. I simply expected much more from Westin

Room Tip: Higher Floor
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Green24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your observations.

I am pleased to hear you found the majority of our associates to be helpful and pleasant. I am sorry you felt rushed or as if you were just being processed at check-in. While many guests prefer to check-in and get relaxed in their room as quickly as possible, we should be able to tell if a guest may need a more personalized type of service.

At any time during your stay if you encounter any items which need to be repaired please do let us know – we would be more than happy to have someone renew the item immediately.

Be Well,
Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have stayed in some dumps. The Westin is not a dump, just a big, impersonal, charmless hotel that lacks basic amenities. It exists to serve an unending stream of conferences, and I assume it promotes itself to convention organizers as "cheaper than Chicago."

Well, here's my advice to convention organizers: there's a reason you're paying less in Lombard. Bite the $ bullet and head toward the lake.

If you're an individual traveler and you're staying in Lombard because you have relatives or friends here, my advice is the same as above. Stay in Chicago proper with its terrific restaurants and endless amusements. The Westin is not the place for you, and your friends will have an excuse to get out of the burbs.

If you, like me, are stuck at the Westin because your convention organizer fell for their group sales marketing pitch, here's what you'll find:

* Modestly appointed rooms with comfortable beds. Yay for the beds. That's where my praise ends.

* No coffee shop. We had to cross the parking lot to get to the Starbucks in the Target. In fact, we all made multiple trips to the Target every day, and I am not a Target fan. The Westin should be getting a kickback

* Expensive restaurants/bar that close at a ridiculously early hour. Our last night, we were planning to bring in a small party for drinks and, even though it wasn't closed, we were told it was "too late." The prior night, other members of our group had to leave the bar at 10 pm when it closed.The bartender told us there was another bar down the road that's open until midnight. Yes but...

* The Yorktown area is not exactly walkable. The hotel is ringed by wide roads with fast cars. And when it's 30 degrees and the wind is blowing at 30 mph --this is April -- even walking across the parking lot to the Target for coffee is an endurance exercise.

* Ah, but they have the shuttle! We did use the shuttle one night to get to a restaurant -- less than a mile away, but across inhospitable territory in the cold darkness. The outgoing shuttle -- no problem. The return shuttle: required multiple calls to the Westin. They repeatedly assured us they were on their way. We waited outdoors in freezing temps for 40 minutes for a trip that took exactly two minutes.

* Our conference included a banquet one night. When we told them that we were vegetarians, the manager let us know, not too nicely, that he'd prefer escapees from a leper colony. You'd think people in this profession would be a little bit flexible? Or maybe learn that there are nice ways to say no, and nasty ways to say no? Kudos to the servers who brought us the veg alternatives after management shot us down.

* Back to the room. $10/day charge for meh wifi. No refrigerator -- just a box. Yes, there's a place to get ice, but nothing to put it in. A pen in the room, but no scratch paper.

* Bathroom. Tiny bottles of shampoo/conditioner -- not enough for your roommates too. And -- speaking of roommates -- there's no fan or window in the bathroom, so you may want to time your bathroom forays accordingly. It's impossible to shower without getting water all over the floor. We tried. And if you like your showers really hot, well, guess what?

So, bottom line, here's what you've got. Ugly hotel in a location that's not worth visiting. A place that is sacrificing amenities for the sake of keeping costs as low as possible. And charging top dollar for everything extra, and almost everything is extra. (A member of our group was hungry at night and ordered a sandwich that was $20. He went downstairs to get it because they would have charged more to deliver it. It was not an impressive sandwich.) Somewhere, the MBAs are smiling. But you, dear traveler, should consider your choices carefully before booking here.

Room Tip: Head east to Chicago.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmanneercsAllowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your review and I am sorry the hotel and the surrounding area were not to your satisfaction.

We will speak to the restaurant management regarding their hours; this is something that will have to be considered by the restaurants and their department heads. As always, Starbucks coffee can be brewed in all our guest rooms.

Bath amenity sizes are not determined by individual hotels. There is a specific distributor which is used by Westin Hotels Worldwide, as directed by our management company. If additional items are needed please do call Service Express and we would be more than happy to have more delivered to your room.

During events our servers do have a limited amount of vegetarian dishes. This is something that can be taken care of prior to the event by making requests directly with your meeting planner. By the meeting planner having this information the hotel will be more prepared during your banquet and be able to provide a more efficient delivery of dishes.

I do apologize for the distress you encountered with our shuttle – the shuttle does make runs to the area within 5 miles and may have had other guests to attend to during this time.

We would be happy to follow up personally with you if you would reach out to our manager on duty at any time.

We do wish you well in all your future travels.

Be Well.
Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

As always with the Westin, the bed was really comfortable. Check in was good, but when I went to check out at 6am I was left standing there for about 5 minutes (while the airport shuttle was waiting) for someone to appear to do the checkout. I understand it was really early but I couldn't find a drop box to leave my room keys or any sort of express check out option. No tea in the room, just coffee. The bathtub was tiny - very shallow and when you were sitting in the tub you could see all of the plumbing for the sink. Really odd that they don't have a cupboard or something there to cover all of the plumbing. One of the taps made a loud noise when you turned it on. The room was decent but not the standard you usually get at a Westin.

The food was good at the hotel restaurants, but the service was terrible. Always a long wait for everything. And I agree with the other reviewers that it's time for 4 star hotels to stop charging for internet when every 3 star hotel is offering it for free.

The people I want to give to credit to are the shuttle bus drivers. It was a big conference and they did an outstanding job of getting us around. They took me to a martial arts gym in downers grove to train, and picked me up at the end of the class, even though it was out of the way. 2 thumbs up to the shuttle bus team! Conference attendees had nothing but great things to say about them and the level of service they provided.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello Kerry,

I appreciate the time have taken to share your observations with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your total experience was not to your satisfaction. Feedback is welcomed and your comments will be used as a value tool to help us improve.

Stay well,
Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights for a convention this week. I'm now at the Embassy Suites because the Westin didn't have a room for a 6th night. I wished I would have booked the ES for the whole week. Nothing was over the top but for what you pay at the Westin, I expected more.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank illhavetraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for choosing to stay with as we welcomed many guests during this time frame. At Westin, it is always our goal to have you leave more relaxed, invigorated, and energized than when you arrived. I am sorry we were not successful in doing so.

We do wish you well in all you future travels.

Be Well,
Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great job! Alisha and Kacie at the front desk did a great job with all my requests. They graciously moved me to a bigger room with a smile. Even thought there was a big conference being held in the hotel, it was still pretty quiet in the rooms. The rooms themselves were very nice. I'd definitely stay there again.

I only wish hotels (not just this one) would figure out how to get the correct aspect ratio for the standard definition stations on the tv. The image was all squished (people look 40 lbs. heavier than they actually are) and the remote offered no way to fix it. Again, most hotels are like this, so I don't really blame the Westin.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raindog2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WLYC, General Manager at The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hello,

Thank you for the great review.

I do hope you had a wonderful time while visiting with us. Our associates pride themselves on the great personal service they deliver; I know Alisha and Kacie will appreciate your recognition.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Be Well,
Mike Feigenbaum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lombard
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Lombard Oak Brook
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,013 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
1.9 mi away
Doubletree Suites by Hilton Hotel & Conference Center Chicago / Downers Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center

Address: 70 Yorktown Shopping Ctr, Lombard, IL 60148-5529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lombard
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lombard
#2 Business Hotel in Lombard
#3 Family Hotel in Lombard
Price Range: £107 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center is located near O'Hare Airport in the heart of the Lombard/Oak Brook business and shopping corridor, we blend style with the convenience of a full-service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Lombard Yorktown Hotel Lombard
Lombard Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing