We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word...clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Lombard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I refuse to pay the rates for a room in downtown Chicago and with a little research found that the Stay Inn in Lombard was very reasonably priced and not that far a drive into the downtown area and to the local attractions. I noted that many reviewers mentioned the motel was clean, but I was still pleasantly surprised to see exactly how clean it was. The first thing that stood out was the carpet. I've rarely stayed in a motel that didn't make me want to keep my shoes on in the room. But not only was the carpet in the room clean and bright, the carpet in the hallways was too!

The beds were a little strange looking when we walked in and it gave me pause. The comforters had lumps in them from being laundered and it gave a strange appearance to the beds but it turned out the beds themselves were very comfortable. I have some health issues that make it difficult to sleep and I awake often with pain. I had a good nights sleep two of the three nights we were here and I attribute that to the quality of the mattresses. Nice!

There is a microwave and coffee available in the lobby 24/7, which made up for not having a microwave in the room but I did really miss having a mini-fridge in the room. I drink hot tea rather than coffee and they had the set up for tea alongside the coffee, but the hot water wasn't ever really hot except first thing in the morning. Perhaps there aren't enough tea drinkers like me to use it and consequently require it to be refilled during the day? If that's the problem, they need to just dump it out and refill it as it gets lukewarm.

The only thing I would say really needed improving is the breakfast. It was mediocre at best. They did change the menu a little each day, but there wasn't that much of a variety. The eggs were pretty much tasteless. And just once at a motel breakfast I'd like to find the pastries room temperature and not COLD, fresh out of the refrigerator. You can't put them in the toaster so you're stuck with cold pastry. Yuck.

We had a minor maintenance problem that was attended to very promptly. I was impressed with the quick response.

We did miss having a pool. When I booked this location I thought we'd be too busy and too tired at the end of the day to care, but turns out we could have made use of it. Seems most motels in Chicago don't have pools though for some reason.

Overall, great stay and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank picschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and are always happy to see that our guests appreciate it. Thank you again! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

I am still talking about my stay at this hotel. It exceeded our expectations in every way.

If I had to have ONE complaint - the room was a tad bit small. It met our needs for our extended weekend in Chicago, however I would have liked a little more roaming room.

The room was clean (upon check-in and after housekeeping came in when we left). The breakfast was tasty and I appreciated the variety and hot options (not just your typical bagels & cereal).

We stayed on the 3rd floor right off the elevator and I have no complaints (I've read some about noise from the elevator and was worried a bit at first). The bed?! It slept like a dream. We both said we hadn't slept so well in a hotel in a very long time.

This location is ideal!!! I stayed in Downers Grove (a nearby suburb) a few years ago and was already familiar and Lombard did not disappoint! You are a straight shot into downtown and everything you could need is easily accessible (food, shopping, movies, etc.). I'd definitely stay here again, in a heart beat!

Thanks Stay Inn & thank you Hotwire for making my birthday weekend in Chicago one to remember. ((I also booked a car rental through Hotwire for this trip)) :) I've always used priceline and this was my first booking experience with Hotwire and I'll return, for sure!!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the 3rd floor...no other suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmplyAnita619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Stay Inn Lombard. Your kind words are really appreciated and we are extremely happy that you enjoy your stay with us :).


Please keep us in mind when you are back in the area.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked this room via Hotwire and it was about $60 after taxes. The room and bathroom were all really clean. The location is great because you're close to all the highways and across the street from Yorktown mall. The breakfast is free and is tasty with a lot of options. I would stay here again. The only thing is they don't bring anything to your room, so if you need shampoo or an extra pillow, you have to go get it yourself which seemed kind of odd to me.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YumMT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I was a little concerned about making a reservation at Stay Inn. It was a great low price, but I had expected the quality to be lower. It was not! It was a great deal and super accommodations. At many places I would have had to pay much more for the same atmosphere and amenities. Good job.

Room Tip: I don't know which room would be better than another. I always like rooms on the first floor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here in all of our visits to Chicago. We find it is central to things you need.

Close to Chicago premium outlets, malls, restaurants, target, Costco. Saves us money on breakfast with the awesome breakfast they serve.

Warm breakfast, bacon, eggs, yogurt, sausage, waffle maker, donuts, bagels, English muffins.

Room was always clean, no smells, Washroom clean.

Free parking. Free wifi.

Will alway come back here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank LRG710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Front Desk at SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about the Stay Inn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. Please keep us in mind when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I went to this hotel last summer for a vacation to see Chicago for the first time. From the clean room and excellent customer service and very well done breakfast! My experience at this hotel help make my first visit to Chicago a great one! I am planning a trip to Chicago again next year and this will be the hotel I will stay at!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmh54496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our hotel. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us and will return.
We are looking forward to see you again :)

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a return visit to the Stay Inn over Mother's Day weekend. We were still very pleased with the cleanliness of the facility, the courtesy of the staff and the great location. Our room was large, clean and had everything we needed. I love the clean white duvet covers and clean white towels. And, they even had fresh baked cookies in the evenings! We used the small exercise facility this time and it was clean and had very nice equipment. We visit family in the area once or twice a year and will definitely make this our home base next time. It is a remarkable value for the area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S, Front Office Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We appreciate your input as it helps us to provide the highest quality of service to all our guest. Please come and visit us again when you are back in the area.

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lombard
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
Comfort Inn Downers Grove
#3 of 7 in Downers Grove
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Lombard - Oakbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
241 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Lombard
0.4 mi away
The Westin Lombard Yorktown Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard

Address: 222 E 22nd St, Lombard, IL 60148-6142 (Formerly Stay Inn Lombard)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Lombard
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lombard
#3 Business Hotel in Lombard
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lombard
Price Range: £48 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier choices for Chicago, Lombard, or Oakbrook hotels. Welcome to the SureStay Plus℠ Hotel Chicago Lombard. The hotel is located near major corporate companies and businesses. We are conveniently located between the Chicago OHare and Midway Airports. Downtown Chicago and its major attractions such as Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile are less than 25 miles away. Other nearby attractions and points of interest include the Morton Arboretum, Lynfred Winery, Lombard Historical Society, Fashion Outlet Malls, Cantigny Park and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your SureStay Plus Hotel Chicago Lombard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Inn Lombard Hotel Lombard
Hampton Inn Lombard
Lombard Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing