We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's happening to historic Long Grove??”
Review of Long Grove

Long Grove
Attraction details
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What's happening to historic Long Grove??”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Many of the shops are gone. Used to be such a fun place to go and explore. Of the few stores that are still open, people were very pleasant. Not much fun anymore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveler102712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    25
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago's North Shore, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not very historic to my eye”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We live in Illinois and stopped here recently after years of seeing the tollway exit for "Historic Long Grove" and occassionaly articles touting the town in newspapers. As a former New Englander, I don't see this village as being very historic. There are a couple of nice shops and a fair restaurant. But don't venture too far from your path to walk this Grove.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TahitiJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back to Long Grove.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We haven't been here for a few years, but were in the area last week so we stopped by. We were very saddened to see that the apple haus had closed as with some of the other shops. But everyplace we did go to, the confectionary for chocolate covered strawberries, the popcorn shop for fudge and the bakery, we were welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. The treats were delicious too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David and Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not open”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Staff at the hotel recommended this, and the internet said it was open on weekdays until 9:00 pm so we drove over there. It was cute from what we could see from the outside, but all that was open were two restaurants. There were several businesses that had gone out of business, so it must not be doing well. Was sad I didn't get to go in some of the gift shops that were listed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Sleepy Sunday”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We arrived at 10:00 AM on a Sunday morning for the Farmers' Market. We figured that it would attract a lot of vendors who would want to capitalize on overflow visitors to she shops. When we got there, there were 6 pop-ups in the parking lot. Only one sold any produce. Very sad.

A few of the shops were really fun, with lots of unique items. There were also many boutiques, with high-priced clothing. It was OK. I was a first-time visitor. I didn't hate it, but I don't know that there was anything there that would compel me to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Grove also viewed

Long Grove, Lake County
Long Grove, Lake County
 
Buffalo Grove, Lake County
 

Been to Long Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing