We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your hard earned money somewhere else”
Review of Rodeway Inn Lyons

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Lyons
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyons
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spend your hard earned money somewhere else”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

i checked in at 8:30 p.m. the parking lot was full, unless you wanted to walk to the back lot. It was raining and dark. The room smelled like cigarettes (this was a none smoking room). The toilet paper roll was almost empty, I had to go out in the rain to get roll of toilet paper for the front desk clerk, the clerk had to go to a storage room to retrieve a roll of toilet paper. The Kleenex box had 1 tissue in it, I refuse to go back to the front desk for kleenex. The towels were dingy, stained, and hard. The room was stocked with 2 hand towels and 2 wash clothes. The price I was charged for this room was ridiculously overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    22
    24
    23
See reviews for
23
26
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I was actually rather surprised at how...nice the room was. Ok maybe not nice. Decent. I wasn't expecting much and therefore wasn't unhappy with the room. The outside of the place is run down and rusty and i was glad we had a first floor room.

We brought our own towels and washcloths in case there weren't any adequate ones which I'm glad we did because the towels provided were kind of small, thin, and scratchy. There was one bar of soap and one little tiny shampoo bottle. But we brought our own soap and shampoo so it wasn't really a problem.

The shower itself was very nice. Not aesthetically, though it didn't look like there was any problems. There seemed to be a limitless supply of hot water. It was excellent.

The internet connected but it was very spotty and frustrating to use most of the time, so if you need wifi you might be better off somewhere else. The tv worked alright and had a good selection of channels, sometimes the reception was bad.

Surprisingly the bed was very nice, a little too soft for me personally but very big and comfortable. Could use better pillows, preferably not down pillows. There were a few stains on the blanket but not really a big problem.

The biggest problem for me in the room was the lack of air conditioning and ventilation. The room got really muggy and hot and there was really no way to air it out without propping the door open which is very nerve wracking. There was a unit in the room that we assumed was just a fan so we kept it on to go get lunch and came back. Turned out to be a heater. That was horrible to walk into.

We didn't try out the pool, it looked decently sized, we peeked through the window and looked at it, it seemed alright.

Hotel is located very near a lot of convenient places, including the train station for a quick trip into chicago or elsewhere, the zoo, and numerous convenient stores and fast food places

All in all I think that if you know what you're in for and you plan ahead for issues it will probably be a fine experience. Don't expect amazing things from a 50 dollar room and you'll be pleasantly surprised when it's not as horrific as you anticipated.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballisticweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyons
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Do not use debit or credit card. When Rodeway swipe your card their Inc (SEY INC) will manually and fraudalently take money off your card. Rodeway Inn (general manager & assistant general manager) will not give info on SEY Inc. When you google SEY Inc there is no listing. They have roaches in the dining area, especially in the evening. The rooms are not cleaned properly. The housekeepers are totally lazy and the dining attendant is very rude.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theyknowwhoiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyons hotels

Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just the facts: 1. Lack of Parking 2. Advertised WIFI not available. 3. Recent Snow/Ice allowed clumbs of salt/treatment to be tracked into the room, when asked for a broom was given an item that resembled a broom. 4. No wash cloths in the sink/bath area; when asked for wash cloths they claimed they were not available. 5. No heat/cooling controls the room was an excellent sauna. 6. the room access door would not lock sufficiently; we used our cooler to block the door at night. 7. The television reception was poor. 8. Door seals at the bottom gone with about 1/2 inch exposed to the outside, we used a towel to block the cold air entering the room. 9. Bath tub had no plug, we used a towel to plug the drain so our son could get a bath. 10. Parking lot had ice with no treatment to prevent falls. 11. The window was really dirty: made me wonder if it was ever washed. If you don't mind these things it was a wonderful place to stay. I must say the beds were clean and comfortable. It was also good that this hotel allowed pets, which we needed at the time. It would seem to me that a business would want their facility to look decent for ANY traveler. We stayed here because is was close to Loyola Hospital where our daughter was in ICU from a recent Auto accident.

Room Tip: Cannot observe a good area to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldwelch_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Mones, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My one-night stay in late September, 2013, was memorable for the great bed, one of the most comfortable I've ever had, but my requirements are minimal, Spartan perhaps. The room was clean and showed signs of wear. The continental breakfast was adequate and enhanced by freshly made hot waffles, a nice surprise.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DanSewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Quite a straight forward drive to here from O'hare. Just one turn right at the airport and follow the road and your there. Reception staff were not really very helpful and not one piece of tourist information was available. We stopped here to be on Ogden which is the route 66 road out of Chicago. It's a 15 minute walk to Brookfield station for the train in to down town & $4 pp each way. Overall the stay was value for money and it worked well for us. Continental breakfast included in price was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_early_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicagoland - Countryside
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Westchester (Oak Brook)
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Countryside
Holiday Inn Countryside
#2 of 2 in Countryside
202 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview/Chicago Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Lyons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Lyons

Property: Rodeway Inn Lyons
Address: 8640 Ogden Ave, Lyons, IL 60534-1039
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Lyons
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lyons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Lyons 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Lyons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Lyons Hotel Lyons
Lyons Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing