We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved everything about the Corner George Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corner George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Corner George Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Maeystown B&B and Inns
St. Louis
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved everything about the Corner George Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

The Inn is very well kept, and the grounds it sets on are beautiful. Country setting with beautiful scenery. The town of Mayestown is such a cute quaint place. We will be back as soon as possible!! The Inn Keepers were so nice & helpful, couldn't have asked for more!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehrta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

This was my second trip back to Maeystown to stay at The Corner George Inn. Maeystown was celebrating their anual " Old Fashion German Christmas Festival" it was as wonderful as expected. There were many activities throughout the day these are only a few I would like to share with you. I enjoyed a free carrage ride through the town and sang Christmas Carols in German in the Ballroom. There were many wonderful musicians performing throughout the day and what fun to see St. Nikolaus arrive on an antique fire truck with the brass band. There was a nice variety of food and pastry ( I sampled everything). After we enjoyed the sounds of hammered dulcimer and carols being sung the traditional lighting of the Weinachtsbaum took place. I think I've found my home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emailjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

The moment I arrived at the Corner George Inn the staff came out of the Inn to greet me and assist with my bags. After I was escorted to my beautiful room by the Innkeeper (Marcia) she told me a short history of the Inn then asked if I would like to tour the rest of the Inn. The Inn is like stepping back in history with the wonderful antiques, floral patterns, and contrasting colors . Every day I stepped out of the Inn (I stayed five days) it was a new discovery or experience, the stone bridge, the spring fed creek, church, the museum, and the most wonderful extended tour of the town with David (Innkeeper and wonderful town historian) to narrate and guide us. The breakfast, muffins, and spiced tea (a family recipe) served daily in the magnificent Ballroom should make restaurant reviews. If you choose to venture out go on line and check out the surrounding towns they have many wonderful restaurants for lunch and dinner and there are lots of attractions to see or sit and read a book in the garden area or in the area upstairs overlooking the garden. This is a great place to take a break from your busy life to unwind, relax, or be adventurous. I am returning in December for the German Christmas festivities and plan to spend many more vacations at the Corner George Inn with the most gracious Innkeepers David and Marcia Braswell.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank emailjoann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Corner George Inn is a hidden gem in Maeystown, IL. The innkeepers, Marcia and David make you feel comfortable and at home. The rooms are charming, decorated with period antiques and quilts. A beautiful and DELICIOUS breakfast is served each morning in the ballroom on a huge antique table handed down in David's family. They supply a game table with current and entertaining games and there are even a piano and organ they invite you to play. A wonderful cold spiced tea is served each evening and we were even given sliced dessert breads (also available next door at the Sweet Shop). I had a wonderful and relaxing trip with shopping and dining in the surrounding towns. I give this trip a 5 star (*****) rating...definitely worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharleneSaintLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We have returned numerous times to the quaint, historic village of Mayestown. The Corner George Inn is a quiet, relaxed, unstressed destination almost within sight of the bustle of St. Louis. The innkeepers, Marsha and David, and their staff are gracious, attentive, and make every effort to insure a pleasant stay. The inn is furnished with beautiful antiques and is very clean and comfortable. The breakfast served is delicious and plentiful. The village itself is steeped in history which your innkeepers will be happy to share with you over a cup of coffee. For a unique experience, try out the Summer Kitchen. Mayestown is convenient to fine dining options, several local wineries, and accessible to Ste. Genevieve, MO by river ferry. The charm of this small village is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLASt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Ridge
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Had a nice stay at this historic B & B. Very picturesque. The owners were very personable and accommodating. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHighRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

The person that owns this Inn was very rude and greedy. Don't stay at this place even though the village is nice.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluestaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maeystown
20.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sainte Genevieve
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 3 in Sainte Genevieve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
9.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Festus
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
9.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Festus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Super 8 Pevely
Super 8 Pevely
#1 of 1 in Pevely
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
20.4 mi away
K-River Motel & Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corner George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corner George Inn

Property: Corner George Inn
Address: 1101 Main Street, Maeystown, IL 62256
Region: United States > Illinois > Maeystown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maeystown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Corner George Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 35 miles south of St. Louis, the inn was originally built as a hotel and saloon in 1884 by George Jacob and Sibilla Hoffmann. After the turn of the century the hotel became a residence and the saloon found new life as the village general store. In 1989 after 18 months of restoration David and Marcia Braswell reopened the former hotel as a bed & breakfast. The inn consists of three buildings: the original inn, the summer kitchen and the 1859 rock house. There are a total of six guest rooms each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Corner George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing