We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polo Zarapa”
Review of Los Zarapes

Los Zarapes
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Mahomet
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mahomet, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Polo Zarapa”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Polo Zarapa (chicken with white cheese sauce) is AWESOME. Portions are great. Carmen is friendly and the service is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better Before They Moved”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

In a town with just a few restaraunts, you'd think that they would do better.

Before they moved to the other end of the shopping strip we would stop in every so often.
Both times we've been since they moved we have been the only table busy in the restaurant.

With one table and one server - service was prompt.
Like others have commented, the food has much to be desired.
Bland and canned.

I'm hoping they can turn it around

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshinetravel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, could be better”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

With a plethora of Mexican restaurants in the Champaign area, Los Zarapes just doesn't cut it when compared to other nearby restaurants. It's good enough to tolerate when I need a quick carry-out fix, but otherwise I end up driving into town for higher-quality Mexican fare.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, IL
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor choice”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had stomach issues the last time I ate there. Most of the food appears pre-prepared and microwaved. Nothing original. Weak margaritas.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet
2 reviews
“FYI”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you want authentic mexican food DON'T expect to get it from Los Zarapes. The service was great and the food was served quickly. However, it wouldn't surprise me if it was served straight from the can. The food lacked flavor and was extremely bland.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Los Zarapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing