We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Los Zarapes

Los Zarapes
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Mahomet
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntley, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I love Zarapes. My favorite is Pollo Zarapes (chicken on cheesy rice), and I love the chips and salsa/queso. They started small, and it wasn't long before they had to move into this larger location. That pretty much says it all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AWCGaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mahomet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The food was over salted and we all know what that means. When we told them that the food was not edible, they didn't care. We left it on the plate, paid the bill and left. Will not return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belinda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Prefer it to ones in Champaign”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I tend to eat out more often when I'm in Champaign--Urbana than when I'm home in Mahomet. However, I actually prefer the food at Los Zarapes to any other Mexican restaurant. Even when the place is busy, I prefer the atmosphere there to other Mexican restaurants.My favorite is fajita quesadillas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food, and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

One of our "go to" restaurants, we eat there about once a week. Not sure what you want? they will create a special dish-just for you. Polo Zarapa is a favorite. The salsa is always fresh and the chips are hot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudyBeth2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Having lived in Albuquerque, Los Zarapes reminds us of the great authentic Mexican food we had there. This is not your fake-overly-spiced-up-Americanized Mexican food. This is the real deal and we love it. There have been times that we've eaten here 4 or 5 times a week when our schedule is too hectic to cook at home. I've tried nearly everything on the menu by now and enjoyed every meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimC_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Los Zarapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing