We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Makanda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makanda Inn & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Makanda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fairview, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Makanda Inn over Friday and Saturday night. While there we were able to experience all of the wineries on the Shawnee wine trail, and do some hiking and biking in Giant City State Park. The Inn was absolutely beautiful! The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLB175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rivers, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My entire family gathered here for a small wedding and it was absolutely, unbelievably great! It is so quiet and beautiful and the whole place is built sustainably and eco-friendly. Our hosts - Heather, Eric, and Jason - are really what made the stay memorable. They greeted us with local coffee, went out of their way to cater to us in any way needed, and helped make our wedding the best ever. The breakfast they prepared was delicious and fresh. I couldn't have imagined that our wedding could be so fun, relaxed, easy, and beautiful. I highly recommend Makanda Inn for a quiet, natural getaway. Love, love, love............

Green Features: Their cottages have green roofs. The main building roof tiles are made from recycled tires and it is insulated with hay. The innkeepers are dedicated to recycling anything that is possible to recycle.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBird779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First let me say this is the greatest staff I have ever experience at a lodge, Jason,Erick and Heather went way above all expections for us. They could not have been nicer or more helpful plus there great attitude was a plus. The lodge was so lovely in the middle of the woods great for a wedding. The catering they did was yummie. Cabins are rustic and great get away kind of place. There are also rooms in the lodge . If anything no wifi in cabin but who wants it anyway in the heart of nature and you can go to lodge for get wifi. I had no trouble with my Verizon phone . Cabins are done nicely and very unique.

Room Tip: If wanted more creature comforts go for the lodge and if you want a real nature experience go for th...
See more room tips
Green Features: They appeared to be environmentally -friendly. I was not checking this so much but they used class plates instead of paper and appeared to recycle which is always good.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Down from st Charles Illinois for a weekend event at siu fantastic stay, we did hiking trails at giant city state park, wine tasting at the many wineries in the area, and grilled out right at the lodge one night. Highly recommend for a quick getaway or a nice week of relaxing or Adventures in southern Illinois.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englert31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairsville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I were visiting relatives in the area and stayed three nights over the July 4th weekend. The small town country setting is quiet and beautiful with lots of common space both inside and out. Breakfast was delicious and gave us the opportunity to get to know other guests - not required; but we consider that part of the fun of staying at a bed and breakfast. We enjoyed the proximity to Giant City's hiking trails and to the wine trail. Our only disappointments were that the DVD player in our room didn't work and that the shower temperature was hard to regulate - we didn't complain so can't say what the staff response would have been. We left early on our last day and the staff was very accommodating and arranged to serve us breakfast before we left.

Room Tip: Suites 3 and 4 have the wood view from their deck seating while Suite 1 and 2 face the entry road.
See more room tips
Green Features: Eco-friendly hay bale construction deadens the sound. Individual HVAC units are in each room. A centrally-located masonry heater provides heat in the winter along with individual room units.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackievolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marengo, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This place is beautiful! My wife and I stayed for 2 nights during the week and had the place to ourselves. Eric and Heather, the innkeepers, were very friendly and made us feel very welcome like we were staying with friends. The room was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. Heather made us two delicious breakfasts. When we got there, Heather asked if we had a special diet needs and made our breakfasts to fit our diets. The Inn is located close to the Shawnee Hills wine trail. We will definitely be going back to the Makanda Inn.

Green Features: The room has an album explaining how the building was made using green material. The walls are insulated with straw and there is actually a small window in the wall in the rooms so you can see the material. The roof is made of recycled plastic and says that it can also be recycled.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Makanda Inn was absolutely wonderful. Our room in the lodge was perfectly appointed and had loads of charm, the setting of the Inn is exceptionally charming and the proximity to the Makanda Boardwalk and Giant City was perfect. Jeff was a great host, we really appreciated his flexibility and attention to dietary restrictions in his impressive breakfasts. I would highly recommend a stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makanda
8.7 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
408 reviews
16.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
16.2 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
397 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
16.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makanda Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makanda Inn & Cottages

Property: Makanda Inn & Cottages
Address: 855 Old Lower Cobden Rd, Makanda, IL 62958-3120 (Formerly Makanda Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Makanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Makanda
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B & B experience in the Inn! Southern Illinois first, Eco-Friendly Inn & 3 Private Cottage accommodations. Open year round! The four suites in the Inn are operated as a B&B, where you will enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. There are three cottages,2 are one bedroom and 1 is a two bedroom - two bath cottage. Breakfast is not included in the cottages, however it can be purchased on a limited basis. As a cottage guest, you are invited to utilize the common area of the Inn for your enjoyment and to access the free Wi-Fi service. The cottages do not have Wi-fi service. Inn suites have a refrigerator and coffee maker. The one bedroom cottages have a kitchenette which includes a two burner stove, sink, refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave. The two bedroom cottage has a full size kitchen. We proudly serve Steam Shovel Coffee, a local micro roasted coffee that is supplied freshly ground in your suite and fresh beans are provided in the cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makanda Hotel Makanda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing