We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Bay Beach & Dive Resort
Nearby Hotels
Huma Island Resort & Spa(Dicilingan Island)
US$670
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$536
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Busuanga Bay Lodge(Concepcion)
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$337
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Chindonan Dive Resort(Chindonan Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Club Paradise Palawan(Dimakya Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
85
62
13
22
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
62
13
22
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoral bayfishdive resortother islandstwin islandsremote islandbeach fronthour boat ridewatch the sunsetcold watersouth beachbeautiful islandloud musicnatural environmentcoron busuangabeautiful surroundingsprivate beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2008

We had a wonderful stay. Thanks to Maribel at the Coral Bay Coron office/dive shop for making the arrangements; to the owners Olf, Monica, & son; to Bernadette who cheerfully served us breakfast-lunch-&dinner, to the Chef for the meals we now miss, and to all the other staff there on our Nov.4-6 stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelingcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We just spent two perfect weeks with Monika, Ulf and Emil (sorry not sure of the correct spellings) and all the courteous staff of the island resort. Our trip to Coron started as a bit of a disaster (false advertising by Kokusnuss resulting in us not staying there for more than 2 hours); however, thanks to the very helpful Mari-Belle in the Coral Bay Beach and Dive resort office in Coron we were transferred to the island early the next morning.

The accommodation was exactly as we expected and wanted to find on an island resort getaway, don’t go expecting the Hilton or Club Med, but you can expect and will experience 5 star accommodations and service when compared with other resorts in the Philippines; we have traveled before to locations with far less facilities. Diving was complimented by experienced, knowledgeable, friendly dive master (Renaldo) with boat captain (Nelson) ensuring we arrived exactly on target for every dive. The wrecks and reefs that we experienced will certainly bring us back to Coral Beach again in the future.

A special mention for the quality, and quantity, of food we were presented with daily, the packed lunch on the dive trips was more than could ever be expected. Evening meals were definitely 5 star qualities, presentation, flavor, variety; a special thank you to Monika and her assistants in the Kitchen for their efforts there.

There is a comment already posted on the time it takes from the airport to the island, from our experience 2:45, 45 minutes by road from the airport to Coron, 2 hours by boat to the island. But if you book an island holiday you expect to have to get to the island, we have had many holidays where the transfer took a lot longer, both by road and water.

In general our experience of the island and the whole holiday was very good, we will return and would recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheTwoMusketeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to celebrate our anniversary in Palawan, and after searching Tripadvisor for reasonable places to stay the Coron Bay Beach Resort caught our eye. After calling around, we chose this Danish owned resort.

First things first - the travel time IS long. If you arrive at Coron airport you have about 45 minutes in a car until you reach Coron City. From there you have to shift to a banka (boat) and the journey takes no less than 1 hour and 20 minutes. Some may regard this as a disadvantage, because you do get a bit tired after a while. But then again, if you are truly looking for a special getaway, would you want it to be too accessible? By being so distant the resort really is as peaceful and untouched as you could want it.

We were greeted upon arrival by one of the owners, Danish Monica, and she even prepared lunch for us. The room rates are quite high, especially for being in the Philippines, but you do get full board, complimentary water/tea/coffee and free lending of kajacks. The price is not per room, but per person - which can make it a costly affair despite all that is included.

Our stay was in a low-peak season, and we were at one point the only guests there. At the same time the resort personell were busy helping build the new reception area and the soon to open spa. Even the chief and dive masters were engaged in this, meaning it was actually Monica who prepared the meals.

If would in a way be unreasonable for me to comment the food seeing how it was not under normal circumstances. During high-peak there is a buffee, and normally the chief would be in charge of the cooking. The food was okay - but we had no choice in dishes. It was also most often European food, with a lot of oil and fried potatoes, which may not be a first option to many. The seafood was excellent, however.

The staff is very friendly. My boyfriend is a Filipino so it was easy to communicate, and all whom we met were friendly and helpful. The divemaster even brought us to the fishvillage on the other island after one of our dives where we bought two fish. The fish we asked for the Filipina waitress to prepare, and she made several local dishes for us and the staff.

The resort itself has single bungalows and bungalows in pairs of 4 (they are attached to eachother). Some have complained about hearing everything in the other bungalows, but since we had a single bungalow it is hard to make a comment on this. Seeing how we could hear everything outside easily, however, I dont doubt that sound would travel easily between the bungalows.

The bungalow we had was very nice - it was spacious, clean and even had separate livingroom and bedroom. The bathroom has running water and a toilet, and the design is very native. There is no warm water, though, but its not something you would truly miss. There is no aircon, but two fans which is no problem. Having an aircon would certainly be out of the question in such a place.

The area of the resort is really remote and picture perfect. You can take a kajack and go on an adventurous journey. We got our lunch pre-packed in the morning and paddled our way to the Monkey Island, Twin Islands and the other side of our island. There is more to see, and you could go on some of the package tours available, but be warned that they are too very expensive.

All in all, our stay was very nice. Some have commented that the owners are racists, but we noticed nothing of this. Both the owners and their son were very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceanbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We had a wonderful time during our 10 day stay at Coral Bay. If you are looking for tranquility, an idillic setting, and beautiful scernery and water life- this is the place for you. This is not a typical package vacation for those who are looking for nights on the town with fried food, german beers, or dance clubs. Coral bay is for those who truely enjoy nature,being on the water, snorkeling, diving, and beautiful beaches.
It is a unique place, which is refreshing to see still exhists. Coral bay is built around the nature of the area, and efforts are made to protect one of the most beautiful peices of coral reef in the world- which is right out front of the resort .
The service we received was excellent! We were greated by smiling faces by all the staff, and they were very helpful in arranging tours for us. We enjoyed many boat trips island hopping with our snorkle gear, and experiencing the fantastic coral reefs. We also enjoy paddling around in one of the resorts canoes to the many beautiful and seren beaches close by the resort area. We also loved gathering the most amazing shells which all over in this area.
We found that the food was excellent at Coral Bay. We loved the buffet style service and trying all the different foods. The standard for quality seemed very high, and the food was very fresh.
Yes, we would highly reccomend Coral Bay for a unique vacation experience which is close to nature and is not out to spoil such unique and beautiful places like this. One of the very poetic "Eagles" songs says... "call something paradise, kiss is goodbye"...

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ltravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

coral bay..... is not at place to judge.
is not at place to describe in small boxes varying from terrible to great.
is not a place to scale and meassure in a fancy food magazine.
is not a place you can understand og experience through a website or rating list with comments spanding from god to worse.


the concept is simple----------------------- LESS IS MORE !

anyone setting foot on this piece of heaven on earth will instantly form their own perspective and feelings towards the place.
such as any stunning and unike scenary would take your breath away.

this review is not made to judge life on the island or judge anything or anyone there.
this is made only to ask whom-ever that reads this, a simple guestion - is your mind open !?

to travel in the phillipines requires an open mind and a taste for simple life !
this is not thailand nor greece, this is unexplored, wonderfull, basic nature !
'
so with this in mind me and my wife went down there.... and yes, the trip is long, and yes, it is hard, and yes it is a wet boat trip that goes on forever until you about to turn back, then suddently this little ray of sun shines on the most simple gorgeous island, just waiting for you.

TO TRAVEL IS TO LIVE ! so wouldn't it be boring if the journey wasn' t hard????
wouldn' t it be sad if everybody could go there in five minutes!?
wouldn't it be sad if the kitchen was so modern that you would actually be forced to sit together in silence and get to talk about something different than the food????

we loved it, and yes, it is different...... and yes it is slow i many ways.... but i you dont have the time to enjoy simple life and eachother.... just don' t go !

we will be comming back soon !

christian and malene :-)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travelunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews