We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life Saver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Morton, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Life Saver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Big thanks to the Holiday Inn Express in Marion who took us in after the Holiday Inn, Carbondale did not have a room for us even though we had a confirmation for a room there (apparently they had overbooked). Special thanks to General Manager Matt Monchino and his staff who were extremely helpful in our situation and made sure we were well taken care of. My son and I were extremely appreciative of their kindness. Room was quiet, very clean, and comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmj283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about your stay. Feedback from great guests like yourself is what allows us to win awards like our most recent one, the Certificate of Excellence Award. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    51
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
59
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The front desk staff was very accommodating and helpful. Very well-kept property.

Our room was beautifully decorated and had many little touches I hadn't seen elsewhere, such as reading lights on both sides of the headboard. Beautifully decorated and perfectly clean and comfortable. It was quiet inside and in the surrounding area outside. Look for the sign, because after you turn off the interstate it may be the last one you'll see! Worth looking for though. Nice continental breakfast with all the extras.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grmmaof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about your stay. Feedback from great guests like yourself is what allows us to win awards like our most recent one, the Certificate of Excellence Award. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I stopped in here on my road trip heading south. I had a king room on the first floor. This is a wonderful new hotel with the latest design and amenities found in a new HIE. Do not be surprised if your GPS does not find this area, there is so much new construction in the area, just follow the signs and you be able to see the hotel once you exit the interstate.

There are several places to eat nearby, be aware, they may not stay open late in the evening. I would also recommend making reservations, you never know when a conference or traveling sports team may be passing through. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for all your kind feedback. We have posted your review for all of our staff to see as well. We look forward to your next stay with us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business, and was very impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. There are several restaurants nearby, although they could stand to be open a little later on the weekend. I stayed in a very spacious king room, which had a refrigerator and microwave. The showers were very hot, and there was a desk to work at and a nice chair to relax in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixmadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your great feedback about your stay. Feedback from great guests like yourself is what allows us to win awards like our most recent one, the Certificate of Excellence Award. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, IL.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a very quiet night for them (day after Labor Day). Arrived to a room upgrade - without requesting one. This is a nearly new facility and everything was clean, comfortable and quiet. The dresser top/counter/work table provide the option of sitting in an ergonomic chair or standing to work on your laptop. I work standing in my office whenever possible and was very please to find this option here. The free breakfast included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage links and patties and everything else you would expect to see at HIE.The staff was very friendly ( They never did figure out what happened to my bonus point reservation but I wasn't charged the extra fee so I can live without it). If you need to be pulling off the road at Marion - it's hard to imagine that you could be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmadlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We were just passing through but found this hotel and were very pleased. Clean, comfortable and friendly. We enjoyed a fantastic pizza at Walt's. Don't think we will be buy this way again but I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpbiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
280 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

You can't go wrong with this hotel, in my opinion. I've stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn hotels and this one was clearly superior to them all. Friendly staff, clean and updated rooms and facility, great value. Holiday Inn should make this one of the examples of how to run a facility (which is in complete contrast to a prior review from me regarding another Holiday Inn Hotel in Columbus, Ohio). The location is near the interstate and a short drive to restaurants and shopping areas. Breakfast was hot, but limited, and tasted fresh. Staff was always greeting me with a smile. Stay here, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Even though my room was next to the elevator, it was EXTREMELY quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincybearcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#4 of 15 in Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Address: 2609 Blue Heron Drive, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing