We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Express Marion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
181 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express Marion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel on my way back to Ohio from San Antonio, and found this hotel to be a very enjoyable stay. Everything you'd expect from a Holiday inn Express. Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff. Recommend if you're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 37Geese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your way back home to Ohio. All of your great feedback is very much appreciated and has been shared with all at our hotel! Thanks again and we hope to see you next time you are traveling out this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    51
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
58
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very clean hotel, with friendly staff willing to go that extra step to make your staff very comfortable. We rented the Jacuzzi suite and loved it.
If ever visiting the area again, we would gladly stay there. Extra bonus we found out they are pet friendly too!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your jacuzzi suite! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stopped on our way south to Shiloh Battlefield in Tennessee.

New, clean, and friendly staff. Great king room with every amenity. Wall mounted HD TV, good WiFi with Ethernet cable. Excellent free breakfast in spacious seating area.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us! We take great pride in all of our guests' opinions and feedback. Great reviews like yours helped us win the Certificate of Excellence for 2013 and helps us set our sights on the award for 2014 as well. Thanks again for staying with us and hopefully we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We were on our way back to Wisconsin from Orlando and had preplanned to stop over in southern Illinois. I chose HIE Marion after reading all the positive reviews. I was very pleased with the experience. I found this location was very new, spotlessly clean, and ultra modern. The parking was ample and well lit. The front desk was staffed with ample people so I did not have to wait. Josh was very courteous at check in and found my reservation immediately. He even called our room to ensure all was in order a few minutes later. It seems like a little thing, but they have really nice luggage carts to use.
The room was smaller but very well designed for efficiency. The beds were two full sized with 4 pillows each. Each bed had a lamp plus a little bendable reading lamp.The fridge and micro was hidden in a cabinet. TV looked to be a wall mounted 32 inch HD and was good. Channel selection was also good.
If I had been a business traveler I would have been impressed with work station in room with good wifi and a LAN cable. Also had a business room downstairs.

Breakfast was free and hot in the morning. Didn't use the pool. I would definitely stay here again! Great job staff!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank chasmofromwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for all your great comments regarding your recent stay with us! I have shared your comments with Josh and the rest of the staff as well. Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my three children while traveling through. We were exhausted and where we would have usually stayed was booked up - the front desk at that hotel recommended this hotel. I took a chance and was pleasantly surprised! The room was clean, quiet, comfortable, and had Disney Junior on the television. The breakfast was pretty standard. We would absolutely stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank llaugh8424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay with us! We are glad you decided to give us a try and hopefully we exceeded all of your expectations! Your business is very important to us, so next time you are in the area please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

we spent one night at this hotel on March 21, enroute from Alabama to visit family in the Chicago area. The location is right off the interstate - easy off and on, although they are working on the roads at and near the exit. Although we arrived a little later than expected due to a traffic accident on I-24 in Tennessee, we found that the staff had everything ready for us to check-in with ease. There were a couple of sports teams staying in the motel but the room was quiet, clean, and well-equipped except that there were no blankets. A call to the front desk and an attendant quickly delivered two blankets.
The breakfast was good - probably the best crispy bacon I've even had in a motel-type breakfast line and the eggs were tasty too. The room was a little pricey, but I always opt for a clean, nice place to lay my head rather than try to squeeze out a few extra bucks. Not a lot of restaurants that I saw right around the motel, but we did not need find one either.
Very nice and courteous staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay! I am glad you found everything to be to your satisfaction. We value all of our guests feedback and if there is anything we can do to make your stay any better please let us know. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My daughter had her birthday sleepover at this hotel. The suite was set up perfectly for 5 tween girls to hang out. They had a great time in the pool.

A couple of observations...there are no food vending machines, only soda. They have a "market" but it is very expensive, which is normal. Also, our room was over the pool and when I was in there I could hear my girls screaming and giggling in the pool. So if you do not want to hear people swimming ask for a suite away from the pool.

The staff were friendly and helpful with any request we had of them. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: For a quiet room on the second floor I would stay at the opposite end from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slccH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay with us. We are glad you stayed with us. I am very sorry you felt the market store at our front desk was a little over priced. We try to price things comparable to what one would pay at most stores in the area(Sodas -$1.50, Chips-$1.25, Candy Bar-$1.00). Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#4 of 15 in Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
Address: 2609 Blue Heron Drive, Marion, IL 62959
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing