We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No AC”
Review of Comfort Inn Marion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Marion
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No AC”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our 3rd floor room was stifling hot upon arrival. We could not get the AC to pump cold and phoned the desk. A polite, pleasant, blonde young man came up to reset the unit and set the fan on continuous; he believed that would do the trick. We decided to relax in the pool as our room cooled. Unfortunately our room was just as hot as when we left it upon our return. Phoned the desk and the pleasant guy came up with a more experienced wiser dark haired young man. They explained that the room did not cool because we were not present; that there are motion detectors in the rooms and the AC turns off if no one is in the room. This made no sense to me because that would mean that the AC would turn off as people slept. The two young men supposedly overrode the turn- off by plugging the unit into a different outlet. We were exhausted and needed our sleep, thanked them and said goodnight. After a while it became apparent that the AC still didn't work. Again we phoned the desk and both fellows came up and decided to put us in a different room. As we entered the new room, we were assured that the room would be satisfactory because they just turned on the AC Aand they said it had already cooled considerably, even though it was still hot. We tried to sleep and had to do so naked on top of the sheets because it so hot and not getting any cooler. By now it was almost midnight. I looked out the window at at least half a dozen hotel marquise and had a sinking feeling that I chose incorrectly. I phoned the desk again. Upon the return of the two gentlemen, the dark haired in charge guy admitted that it was balmy. He said he would search the property for a cooler room. Having already spent hours in search of an environment in which we could obtain some badly needed sleep, we decided to pursue lodging on a different property. The only reason that they did not get a score of zero is because the blonde, I think his name was Marshall, was extremely pleasant and tried to do everything to help us. Also, the girl at the desk when we checked out was very polite and apologetic, even though we had not dealt with her at all all night long. The hotel is new and clean. They have a nice pool and a jacuzzi. Maybe this was an isolated incident but it seems that they are more concerned with saving a buck or two on their electric bill than providing an environment conducive to a good nights sleep for their said guests.

Room Tip: Sleep elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valentineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns over your recent stay.
I am very sorry you had a problem with the AC during your stay, and that you were not able to enjoy a good nights rest. Our guests comfort is our main goal, and I am very sorry we did not achieve this.
I believe the young workers may have been misinformed concerning how our units energy savers work. They are set by a motion detector on your door, and when opened, it activates the AC or heater to bring the room to the temperature set on the unit. When the room is unoccupied, it is still set to maintain a temperature of 75* or below. We can over ride all of this if the guest prefers it, or it does not seem to be efficiently running.
With that said, we had the service tech check out the units and he found a control switch in one that was not functioning, and the override in one was not plugged in correctly.
Our entire team join me in offering our most sincere apology for your experience. I understand knowing the "why" does not rule out the fact that we had an issue, but maybe it will be enough for you to give us another try when you are in the area again, so we can show you we know how to get it right.
Please feel free to contact me directly so we may discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    56
    8
    1
    5
See reviews for
122
89
30
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Everything is brand new. The staff at the front desk are young and eager to help many people were checking in at the same time and they handled it flawlessly. Pool and whirlpool we're great and rooms are spacious. Harley Davidson is in the back of the building (odd number rooms). The guys like to rev their engines so if you're going to sleep during the day you probably want to be on the front of the building(even number rooms). Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at our property. We really enjoy hearing from all of our guests, and use your feedback as motivators for continuing to exhibit the customer service our guests are entitled to.
Again, from our entire team, thank you.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Pros: New, fresh, and clean; Everything works; Microwave oven and refrigerator in room; A bit larger rooms then some with very comfortable betting; Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff; An abundance of dining choices for a variety of appetites very close by; Plenty of shopping nearby for anything you need; Conveniently located off of I-57; Breakfast area very clean; Great traveler's hotel with competitive rates for the area.

Cons: Slowest and most unreliable Wi-Fi ever. All it needs is dial up noise. Located next to very large Harley dealer. Occasional loud motorcycle noises during business hours but to me it was music to my ears. Some people may be annoyed. Standard fare for free breakfast with the usual minimal offering; not bad but far from great except the coffee. The coffee was great.

I would recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience with us.
We appreciate the kind words and comments we need to grow in.
We do take all our guests feedback very seriously and I have called our internet tech to ensure all ports are operating as they should be. We apologize if they were not doing your stay.
We also try to add more than the "required" fare in our breakfast area. If there is something you would like to see added or changed, please contact us so we may discuss it.
Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I could just say ditto read all previous reviews. This hotel is worth your visit. Its clean and a outstanding value for your dollar. We only spent one night but would no have a problem with ever coming back again. The staff were first class. Breakfast area had your needs covered. As a added bonus you can walk to many places right from hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witkowskiHebronIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at our hotel. We really appreciate hearing our guests thoughts and comments on their stay, and use your feedback to grow and change as needed.
Also, thank you for the comment concerning the return visit, We take a return stay as the highest compliment!
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Excellent hotel to stay at! Staff was wonderful and room was immaculate! Pool was pristine and breakfast more than adequate! This area has really built up in recent years, but this is the best hotel in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lodging experience with us. we are happy you stayed with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Our area has grown substantially in the last few years, and the one thing we try to remember is: if we don't take care of you, someone else will.
Thank you again for the great feedback. I have shared your kind words during our team meeting, and we all appreciate you staying with us . We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As others have written, we were so impressed with this Comfort Inn! We always stay at Choice Hotels when we travel, so we have a wide range of experiences, and I have to say this Comfort Inn is hands down the best.

The entire hotel was new and clean, including the breakfast area, pool area, and our room. Check in was easy and smooth. Nice to receive a goodie bag at check in (glad that Choice Hotels are starting to recognize their loyal members).

For our family of five, the value was incredible for the quality of this hotel! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent stay with us.
I have shared your feedback at our team meeting, and we all join in and thank you for the fantastic feedback.
We look forward to seeing you and your lovely family the next time you are in our area.
Again, a huge thank you.
Tricia Hadfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stay in hotels about 40-50 nights a year. This Comfort Inn was by far the best Comfort Inn I have ever stayed in. My wife an I stayed here for a little weekend get away and were VERY pleased. The staff was friendly and always helpful. This new hotel was very clean, modern and comfortable. In a great location to get anywhere you need to go in this area. Just far enough from the interstate that you do not hear the traffic, yet close to any needs you might have while traveling (food, department stores and walking distance to the baseball field). The cookies at the front desk are a nice touch. The breakfast had plenty of options, pretty typical for Comfort Inn (Waffles, eggs, meat, cereal, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, pastries and more) however, the biscuits and the pastries were exceptionally good. Not sure where they get them from but other Comfort Inns would do well to find out. Though the host said some guest were not pleased (maybe because they were surprised) my wife and I enjoyed the fireworks that were shot off after the baseball game about a mile away. I think the hotels in the area would do well to let all the guest know when they will have them so they can all enjoy, or at least be aware when they will start.
WE WILL DEFINATELY VISIT AGAIN IF WE ARE IN THE AREA.

Room Tip: We had a room backed up to the elevator and I was worried it would be a distraction. However, we ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tricia H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Marion, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I can't begin to tell you how happy it made me to read about your experience at our hotel! The team here strives to make each guest experience as close to perfect as possible. When we accomplish that goal, we've done our job! We know there are many lodging choices available in Marion and are so pleased that you chose us here at the Comfort Inn. I am glad that you enjoyed breakfast, and enjoyed the Friday night fireworks! Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful feedback. I really appreciate it, and I know the team will enjoy hearing about it as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Tricia - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#3 of 15 in Marion
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#5 of 15 in Marion
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Marion

Property: Comfort Inn Marion
Address: 2403 Black Diamond Dr, Route 13 & O'Neal, Marion, IL 62959-5279
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn is a brand new hotel, with its roots in a guest service honored time frame. We serve a hot, full breakfast every morning, with snacks in the evening. All of our spacious rooms are comfortably patterned for our guest, with a refrigerator and microwave in every room and a 32 inch flat screened TV... We are centrally located near all major intersections and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing