We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Keller, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed two nights on business. Not sure when the hotel was built but it shows some wear. The bathroom door knob was broken and dangling. The bathtub drain stopper would not work and you had to constantly leave the water running in the tub so it wouldn't all drain out before you were finished bathing.
The room had an "odd" smell when I first arrived. I couldn't determine if it was just a musty smell or if it was a smoke smell.... I opened the window and let the room air out and it seemed to get better. The room was clean and well supplied. It had a clean microwave and clean refrigerator in the room as well.
FYI: The hotel is directly across the street from a minor league baseball team stadium and there was a game Thursday evening so the traffic was a nightmare around the hotel while the fan's were arriving and leaving.
Not much to say except it was an average stay.

Room Tip: Stayed on the third floor - it was fairly quite. Didn't really sound like the walls were paper t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    56
    19
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
41
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here one night on Marriott points the night before catching an! Mtrak train out of Carbondale (about 20 minutes away). Like most Fairfields, this is a basic, no frills place, but it is certainly more than a rundown motel.

My room was very clean and absolutely functional. I did not use the pool, but it looked fun, though extremely small and plain. If I was going to be here more than a night, I would look for something more upscale, but for a night, it was fine.

The clerk was friendly and efficient.

I found the breakfast to be on the ordinary side: no toast, for instance. But there were other types of items like cereal and pastries.

On balance, I'd say the Fairfield Inn at Marion is a no frills but dependable stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henryv731_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Very modern, clean Fairfield Inn. One of the better Fairfield Inn's I've ever stayed in. Would highly recommend. Even have an evening social with two free drinks and light snacks.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisbon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Got it all. Great staff, accommodations, price. Nearby restaurant with food you'll enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc943a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield Glade, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice in the last week and we were pleasantly surprised at how clean, modern, comfortable and quiet this hotel is. We checked in with the desk clerk (Katie) who was extremely helpful and pleasant. She wanted us to be totally pleased with our stay and even upgraded us to a suite. The room was very nice and had a great wireless internet service also.
If and when we are ever in the Marion, IL area again, we will be sure to stay here. There are many restaurants nearby to choose from and this was a wonderful stop.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite when using Marriott points.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstteam7071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A wonderful stopping point for tired travelers. Nice, modern, clean hotel with courtiest staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haveyouseenmyluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have stayed at this hotel twice recently (August 2011 and September 2011) as our son attends SIU in Carbondale. It was a very pleasant stay both times. Hotel rooms, lobby, and pool area are very clean and welcoming. The staff are friendly, professional and accommodating. Hotel location is ideal and near several restaurants. Two very good restaurants near the hotel include 17th Street Barbecue and the Asian Bistro. Overall a great place to stay and we will return to this property when visiting the area again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Marion
Hampton Inn Marion
#6 of 15 in Marion
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
Address: 1400 N. Halfway Road, Marion, IL 62959
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites underwent a change of ownership in October 2010 and was completely renovated shortly thereafter and has had many new amenities made available to guests. New amenities include new high definition televisions in each guestroom, new electric front entry doors, new furniture and fixtures throughout the guestrooms and public areas, and the availability of complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet service to guests. We look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Marion
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion Hotel Marion
Fairfield Inn Marion
Fairfield Marion
Marion Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Hotel Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing