We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past history in the present”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Marion B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Was on a mission to trace some of the family history and found this B&B online. It looked rustic and remote, a far cry from the Chicago Suburbs so had to check it out. If you are looking for a modern place to stay, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a historic and realistic place to stay, this is the place. All of the cabins available have everything you need to relax. Front porches, fireplaces and total peace and quiet (minus the critter noises that are really very relaxing). The breakfast that Katie whips up every morning, is bar none the best breakfast you can get. Both Jim's an Katie's knowledge of the area is extensive and fascinating. The only problem was that we did not stay long enough. We are looking to do more ancestry investigation and this will be the place that we will stay. Thanks Jim and Katie for perserving history and making our first B&B experience relaxing and exciting at the same time. Website would not let me load any of the photos, but please know that this B&B is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

It was so disappointing that such a quiet, secluded location within distance of the beautiful Shawnee National Forest and Wine Trails turned out to be such a disappointment. We arrived late Friday night and were greeted by the owner's dogs, Lucky and Eddie, who have the run of the property. They were very friendly, well-behaved, and our cabin porch seemed to be their favorite hangout. They also got along well with my Boston Terrier.

While I was expecting rustic..these are rescued squatters cabins after all, we were appalled by the cleanliness of the cabin. I had read previous posts and thought maybe some previous visitors just weren't prepared for cabins in the woods. I can handle spiders, dust, and the occasional cobweb. Moldy shower curtains hung with twist ties, showers that have only cold water or handles that fall off when you try to turn them on, dirt, grass, and leaves on the bedroom rugs and in the bath room. That is just the beginning. We took a glass out of the cabinet and it was crusted with filth. The microwave hadn't been cleaned, inside or out, for months. The kitchen sink was grimy. There were black rings around the toilet bowls. The bath towels were crunchy!!

WHen we spoke to Jim, the owner, about the hot water in one of the bathrooms, he replied that others had complained about that too. But it would cost $150 to fix it, and it was hot enough for him! He was definitiely full of Southern Illinois charm, and he knows the area very well. We took his hiking advice and found some beautiful places.

On the plus side, sunrise over the lake outside our room was beautiful. The grounds are very well kept and it was so easy to get to all the great places. My advice is if you decide to stay here you must be willing to bring Clorox wipes, bathroom cleaner, and your own towels!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ixplore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

On a weekend visit to see my son, I came across this BnB online, it was pet friendly that was the selling point.As any animal lover who travels with there pet knows, you take them to the vet, feed them, make sure they are clean.Arrived late on a Friday night, the next day the owners dogs showed up, skinny, full of ticks and fleas. They charged me 25$ night for my dog by the way. A little upkeep, get rid of the spiders and ants, do a little cleaning knock down some cobwebs, clean the frig, wash the dishes, etc. Nice location, owners nice, but didnt feel clean taking a shower with a spider! For the price I paid it was a hole.Won't stay again. Lyn Kilgore

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bandlkil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We both work in a high-stress career field....and live hundreds of miles apart....We were looking for a romantic get-away that offered peace and quiet, a casual atmosphere, friendly natives, lots of outdoor activities.....did I mention peace and quiet? Upon our arrival we were greeted by Jim who directed us to the correct cabin(Gabe's cabin) and showed us around while sharing a little history about the place. The cabin was clean, neat, tidy and charmingly decorated with vintage treasures. The full kitchen held moderate amounts of utensils, dinnerware and cookware for meal preparation, plus a large grill on the porch. Speaking of the porch, the swing was very well utilized, with it's afghan and pillows, for listening to the wildlife choir, stargazing, enjoying sunrises and sunsets, or just swinging in the warm afternoon breeze. In addition, Jim has wood and kindling stacked there so that you never have to go far before building a fire....and you should build one, because you never know what surprises will happen in the firelight :-) The unique feature of Gabe's cabin is the jacuzzi tub...located in the bathroom...that adds just a little bit more to the relaxation and romance part of the weekend. There is no shower in this cabin, only the tub, but it worked out just fine, even with my long hair, because the faucet is very high off the edge of the tub. Linens and towels are in abundance in the cabin with an ample supply of towels, sheets and quilts available. Breakfast is included in the cabin rate and is superb! Katy outdoes herself every day, making favorites from scratch. We do not typically eat breakfast, but wanted to be social so we wandered up to the main cabin each morning. Katy has a large table in the center of the room where all the guests sit together....Jim has a warm fire blazing....and you meet all of your "neighbors" for the weekend while enjoying Katy's tasty fare. Our "being social" landed me 2 pieces of warm apple pie on Sunday morning, not to mention oatmeal cookies, egg casserole, homemade cinnamon rolls, fruit salad, and assortments of cereals, breads, juices, coffees and teas. After we stuffed ourselves, a walk around the large pond certainly helped to burn off some of those calories....Jim caught us on the way back and gave us a tour of the other cabins, the gardens and barn. We loved our experience here at the Olde Squat Inn and will be returning very soon with some of our friends. Thank you Jim & Katy....we will see you again very soon! -B&D

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDtravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We enjoyed a relaxing & quiet mid-week stay at the inn--hoping to unwind from the LA crowds & traffic snarls that we contend with daily. Old Squat and the surrounding countryside fit the bill! Wonderful Indian Summer weather, colorful fall foliage; nightly stargazing next to our cozy front-porch fireplace greatly added to our pleasure. Jim & Katy ensure that their guests have a hearty, home-cooked breakfast--with plenty of choices each morning...they are happy to suggest excursions/activities that are within 30 miles of the inn. Ideas include: beautiful hiking trails; quiet biking trails & lanes; wine trails; historical sites & unique museums galore; college games; & blue-grass music...so many choices & not enough time. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Although I didn't expect luxury with a cabin, a little bit of cleanliness was certainly not too much to ask for. We went to Walmart and bought blankets because we were afaid to sleep on the bedding.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sleeper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband, my sister and I stayed during Labor Day weekend and we absolutely loved it!!! Jim is such a character and Katy is such a sweetheart and they make the perfect couple!! You can tell that they care about each and every guest. After reading some of the reviews online we expected a totally rustic cabin, which is what we wanted. However, when I walked in I couldn't believe how big it was and we actually had the smallest cabin! It was beautiful! This was totally worth the price and more! Katy's breakfasts are delicious country cooking every morning and she makes sure you have your fill! We loved the little visits when Jim came around and told a few stories. We actually are planning a Thanksgiving trip back to Olde Squat Inn in a few months. We need more stories and more country cooking! Also, we would love to see it during the winter months!
I wanted to take the 2 dogs home with me, also! They were so friendly, yet such good puppies! We are eager to go back and look forward to our next trip!
5 stars to this vacation!
Neil & Susan Mann and Mary Jo McClung
Streator and Peoria, Illinois

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crzysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
7.6 mi away
Jasones B&B and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
8.3 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 14160 Liberty School Rd, Marion, IL 62959-6798
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing