We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential, but missed by long shot”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Marion B&B and Inns
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great potential, but missed by long shot”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My sister and I stay at cabins alot and have never had this experience. Pictures are not deceiving, but the cabin we were in was dangerous to say the least. Electrical wiring exposed, not safe for children. Leak under kitchen sink. Bathroom was very dirty and shower had old spoiled rag still in it when we arrived. We did expect rustic, but nice. Towels were old, thin and very used hotel towels. Dishes not clean. Sheets did not fit the bed and kept coming off during the one night that we stayed. I requested my money back for the second night. The owner was not happy about us leaving and threw the money on the table in front of us. We were honest about the conditions, but he did not agree. He had already spent some of the money that I gave him so I was short on my refund. Overall, would not recommend.
SC resident.

Room Tip: Beautiful property, but cabins need alot of work! Find another location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I visited the Olde Squat Inn for a mother-daughter weekend getaway. We stayed in the lovely church cabin. The quiet, peaceful seclusion was exactly what we needed. We enjoyed sitting by the fire and simply spending time together. Jim even brought us a puzzle to work on. We also enjoyed the quick drive over to Marion to do a little antiquing during the day. Jim and Katy were so kind, even bringing by some sweet homemade treats! We felt so welcomed and appreciated the hospitality this wonderful couple showed. If you're looking for somewhere to unwind and unplug, this is definitely the place! This was our first stay, but it most certainly won't be our last!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrollton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The Old Squat Inn offers beautiful hand-crafted log cabin rentals in scenic Southern Illinois. Our cabin intertwined modern conveniences with a vintage touch. Surrounded by logs dating from the 1850's, we couldn't help but speculate as to what these walls had seen. The elegant simplicity created the perfect environment for our getaway. The fun, friendly, and flexible owners make this Inn a jewel. We have already returned once since our initial stay and can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick3205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My husband and I have stayed at over 20 cabins around the country. Most are modern and beautifully decorated with rustic accessories that are easily found at many modern gift shops. The Old Squat Inn, however, is a collection of true 1800s cabins, decorated with authentic, antique goodies, inside and out, that take you back to a simpler time. We loved it! These are not for everyone. If you can't handle some dirt and dust, you would not be comfortable here. But if you like history, and really want to sit in an authentic 1840 cabin and try to imagine who built it, who lived in it, where they came from, the hardships they endured, how they survived... This is it. We did not get to meet Katy, but Jim was such a kind host, showing us all around, and so proud of all he has accomplished with this dream of his. He reminded me of my own stepdad, who also was from southern Illinois, and like Jim, was a do-it-yourselfer, who made things work, even if it wasn't perfect. It was called being resourceful, and Jim is a champion at that! The crunchy towels reminded me of my childhood, growing up on a farm, and always line drying laundry which does not lend itself to soft fluffy towels, but that is all part of country living. We really admire all Jim has done and continues to do on what little income he gets from this business. He is charming and kind and we hope more people will give this place a try, knowing it's not the fancy, new cabins available elsewhere, but offers an appreciation for the past found nowhere else. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alongtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We (a german family) were staying 6 days in "Uncle Jims" Old Squat Inn and we love it.
Our children come back to the ground. After some days they are really happy children.
The cabins are wonderfull and the breakfast is unbelievable. So much things and homemade.
Applecake, muffins, pancake, eggsoufle, potatoes with ham and and and ...
Katy make it delicious every day. The people there are so friendly.
I get homesick when we have to leave.
We will come back next year.
Hella Klinge and family

Room Tip: I think every Cabin is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellaklinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaPorte, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were eager to see and stay in log cabins that date back to the 1850's. The Old Squat Inn did not disappoint. Our innkeeper is a collector of old cabins which he reconstructs on his property and situates around his lake. It is a real throwback to days gone by--the rugged individual who learns to do for himself whatever he needs to, the friendly chew-the-fat conversation about anything and everything, the helpful advice about the area (Katie once worked for the tourism office), the delicious country breakfast around the kitchen table, the gift of homemade "pickles", genuine hospitality all around. We thoroughly enjoyed the country ambiance and our gracious hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 539crosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We just completed our 4th stay at the Olde Squat Inn and had an enjoyable time as expected. In looking at the various reviews, I find that people either love it or not, so let me offer some help for those considering their first stay. What you expect will make all the difference in your stay. If you expect recently constructed prefab log cabins like they have in the hills around Gatlinburg TN, then you will be disappointed. These are pre-civil war log cabins that Jim has found around southern Illinois and Indiana. He reconstructs them himself with a patchwork quilt of recycled materials from old buildings he comes across in his daily travels, which gives them an authenic charm. You may find the occasional cup or plate that wasn't cleaned well by the previous guest, but it's no trouble washing a quick cup before my morning coffee. The dogs do have the run of the place, but they are friendly and lend to the charm of the setting.

My wife and I recently talked about how different people are comfortable with different levels of cleanliness. If you like camping, are comfortable with the outdoors, and have an imagination that allows you to put yourself into a historic context, then you will love visiting the Olde Squat Inn. However, if the closest you ever want to get to camping is the Holiday Inn on the edge of town, if bedding must be crisp and pressed, and bathrooms are best scented with tile sanitizer, then there are some very nice hotels just a few miles away in Marion that will suit your better.

But, if you are somewhere between my examples, then please stop by the Olde Squat Inn and see it for yourself. Jim and Katie are two of the nicest, genuine people you could ever meet. Jim loves to visit and get to know his guests a bit. If he is not too busy he will be glad to show you his latest projects...right now he is finishing a two story cabin and putting a wrap-around porch with large windows on an old log barn. Katie serves an excellent breakfast that often features eggs, pancakes, biscuits with homemade preserves, and vegetables fresh from the garden. Katie also worked with the tourism office and can offer all kinds of suggestions for things to do in Southern Illinois during your visit. During cooler weather, Jim will have a fire going in your cabin for when you arrive, and there is typically a campfire outside for guests to sit around and enjoy each other's company as the stars cast reflections on the pond.

As I shared at the beginning, we just completed our 4th stay and hope to come back in the spring for another stay at our favorite B&B. I hope you give the Olde Squat Inn a try, and tell them Larry sent you!

Room Tip: Visit their website to view photos of the cabins interior and exterior. Also, Jim can help you pick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Larry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
8.2 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
277 reviews
9.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 2 in West Frankfort
53 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Super 8 Marion
Super 8 Marion
#3 of 15 in Marion
592 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Olde Squat Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 14160 Libery School Road, Marion, IL 62959-6798
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing