We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAKE YOUR GPS!!”
Review of Hampton Inn Marion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Marion
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Once we got there the hotel was good and the staff helpful but, my God, GETTING there!!??!! We arrived late at night after a long drive. Northbound on the interstate there was no signage at all so we missed the exit and had a 12-mile round trip to come back. Southbound there was a sign but off the interstate you could not see the motel or clearly make out the sign and had to proceed by best guess and dead-reckoning. Finally we saw the motel - perhaps 1/2 mile off the interstate - and from there it became a maze of parking lots, other motels, and restaurants until we arrived. (there is an easier way but we only learned about it upon leaving and then a hotel employee went out to the parking lot to point it out to us!).

I expressed my displeasure with our now 1/2 hour trip to get from Northbound to the motel and was told "Oh its the road construction. It's been like that for four years and they say there are two more before it is done!"

The people were nice, the hotel was nice, the breakfast was standard but take your GPS if you want to get there!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

The road construction is a mess, isn't it?! Our front desk staff has learned a thing or two about giving directions in the past couple years because of it. Marion is growing so fast and will continue especially when the construction is finished!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

When booking this hotel make sure you are booking it for the town/state you want. I accidentally booked it using an online site I had not used before and ended up with reservations in the next state. Fortunately the hotel had room and the front desk was extremely helpful. They helped me figure out my situation and then took steps to help me resolve it. I couldn't have asked for a better end to my experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank mayberry3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I'm glad we were able to help you get that resolved!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here on our way back to Atlanta from the University of Kansas. It was very convenient being right off the expressway and about halfway home for us. This hotel was everything you expect when you stay at a Hampton Inn. My only complaint is that it is kinda confusing to get to the entrance due to construction on the highway. Quality room, quality breakfast, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

We appreciate your compliments and thank you for the loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for three days on business trip. If you know Hamptons, you know what is here. No more, no less. Staff cordial.
Like most Hamptons the fitness room is small.
Staff wasnt very savvy about restaurants, which are limited in this area.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the side facing the road. While not an interstate, the vehicles start moving along w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stay here often the staff is warm and helpful. rooms are average and dated, and well used. Gym equipment is inconsistent and in need of update and repair. Some of the extras that have gone by the wayside such as happy hour and snacks have been suspended and not returned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarionILHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Marion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

I will pass on your compliments to the staff and I'm honored to say that our Evening Social is back and better than ever! We've added hot foods to our complimentary drinks now and it seems to be a hit. We are excited to have it back and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here one night while in town for work. The exit has a lot of restaurants and hotels. The hotel itself is easy to find, my room was quiet and clean. Front staff were very nice. The breakfast did seem a little thin (water was out in the machine, no bananas, 2 yogurts, etc.). The pool looked clean when I walked by. I would stay here again while in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank DavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Breakfast bar poorly attended. No coffee, had to ask for it. Had to ask for spray for the waffle iron. Door to room drug on the carpet. Took both hands to open or close door. Air conditioner very loud .. Would wake up each time it came on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bobby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.0 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Marion
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Marion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marion

Address: 2710 W Deyoung St, Marion, IL 62959-4950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marion
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marion
#7 Family Hotel in Marion
Price Range: £82 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind and relax at the Hampton Inn Marion, IL hotel, where you can enjoy Kokopelli golf course, catch a Southern Illinois Miners game, or take a dip in Crab Orchard Lake. Hotel guests can take advantage of the many value added amenities offered by Hampton Inn. Start your day with our free hot breakfast buffet daily, and enjoy free WiFi in every room and throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind in our clean and fresh Hampton beds, or stay productive with our handy lap desk. Keep your fitness routine in our fitness center, or take a leisure dip in our pool. We look forward to having you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Marion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Marion Hotel Marion
Marion Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing