We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice comfortable stay, except...”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Marion
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very nice comfortable stay, except...”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Well, I've been lucky my last 2 nights. This was the 2nd one. Very nice comfortable room. This is a nice property. However, I must ask, if you are going to put an elevator in a nice user friendly facility such as this one, why not put it in a central location rather than at the end of a very, very long hallway?? Really dumb design. The swimming pool is where the elevator should be!! Anyway, it's a nice quiet place. Adequate bedding, clean, nice bath facilities including shower. Hot breakfast with variety. Plenty of adequate room outside to maneuver around with a large trailer as I do. Nice place. I'd stay here again, and will

Room Tip: Ask them if there is way to get to the second floor through the swimming pool. Pool is where elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buytheplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    47
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
56
41
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
RIDGELY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This was an unplanned stop. I usually review hotels in an area and choose what sounds best so we had no idea what this hotel would be. With tax we paid $105 for the night..it was a suite..divided room with a club chair and recliner seperate from the bed...and it was clean and had a desk and a breakfast in the morning. I do a lot of traveling and admit to being picky when it comes to the hotel I stay in . This one was ok and most hotels cost more now but in comparison to others I stayed in on this trip this one would have been a fair price for about 15-20 dollars less. They did have a hot breakfast in the morning which was a plus and the front desk was very pleasant. Rooms also were clean and the bed fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My first impression of this hotel was that it looked clean, smelled clean, and the suites are very nice. However, Jennie @ the front desk was less than friendly. She gave me a very bad vibe and was very rude. Because of her, I will NOT be returning to this property. The breakfast was a joke, and not a very funny one either. This was in 2010 when I stayed, and the only good thing I can remember was how comfortable the in-suite jacuzzi was. Oh yay.

Room Tip: Go to Carbondale. There is a Holiday Inn there that is much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N717JG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Checked in late with wife and kids and ended up with a room directly above front desk. Its a non-smoking hotel and it was full for the night. Walked into room and it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. Two empty pizza boxes behind the door. Thats a bad way to start a visit! Clearly they have an employee (or two) who doesn't care too much. Front desk apologized but couldn't do anything. It got better from there and I have to say that the swimming pool was fairly large and clean, the room was large and otherwise seemed clean, but that first taste was tough to swallow. The beds have very small pillows and my wife didn't like them.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrepok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed at this property many times in the past, but not for a few years. Since my last visit, they have had a total re-do of the interior - new carpet, paint throughout, new bedding. Altogether great job and very well appointed. I had been staying at the Hampton in Marion but that one seems a bit tired by comparison.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Labrachow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Hotel was clean, nice size rooms and close to highway 57. I noted some complaints on TripAdvisor about the breakfast and the staff said they had changed their breakfast selection a few months earlier - overall, we found the breakfast fine (3 choices of cereal, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, pastries, toast, oatmeal, juice, etc). Free internet in the room, the pool was nice and clean. We stayed for 2 nights. One day the hotel internet was down for about 1 hr and the check-in staff seemed a bit confused and overwhelmed with people trying to check-in and handling calls from guests. I can imagine some complaints, but it really didn't impact our stay.
The sleeper sofa in our room was not very comfortable (not recommended for an adult). The hotel staff was helpful. Hotel gym was small, had a decent cross trainer, halfway decent treadmill and a multi-station weight machine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I read the reviews and must say I was skeptical. We arrived to find a very clean, well appointed room. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was very clean, and the property was well maintained. Breakfast was served daily and offered a simple variety, but the eggs and coffee were hot and we were pleased. The pool area was clean as well. It was worth the $.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60859Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marion hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Marion
Comfort Inn Marion
#2 of 15 in Marion
341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Marion
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn Marion
Drury Inn Marion
#1 of 15 in Marion
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 2608 W Main St, Marion, IL 62959-4931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Marion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Marion
#9 Family Hotel in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you need to unwind or wrap up your work, Comfort Suites gives you the room you need. Spread out in oversized rooms with separate areas for working, sleeping and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Marion
Comfort Suites Marion
Marion Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing