We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the beer, cycle there” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hogs Back Brewery

Hogs Back Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Tongham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the famous Hogs Back Brewery,Surreys largest independent brewery. We are a small craft brewery based in Surrey situated just north of the A31 Hogs Back road between Guildford and Farnham. A visit to the Hogs Back Brewery is a fascinating experience. We are open to the public for Brewery Tours most days of the week and weekends, but we can be flexible to suit individual tour group requirements so please contact us to check availability.Our brewery Shop and Off License is situated on the premises, we not only supply our own fine ales in both draught and bottled, but literally hundreds of other bottled beers from around the world. From notable Belgian beers to almost unknown types from South America to China and, don’t forget a big variety from many small UK breweries. Pay us a visit...you’re bound to find something new!
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love the beer, cycle there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great way to do a tour, sampling the product all the way round. The tour guide Mel (author Anthony Mann) was hilarious and informative with no political correctness. A trip not to be forgotton, definitely would recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    15
    3
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An experience you would love to bottle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was an absolutely brilliant tour - lucky enough to have Mel as our guide - I can only echo what previous reviewers have said about his comedy club delivery style. Very informative and plenty of product to taste and try! Even allowed to try the malt ingredients. Word of warning - best to have a nominated driver so you are able to try everything offered. The shop is a true wonder with so many UK and international beers on offer. Need to book well in advance for the tour as places are soon snapped up. I will certainly pay a return visit to the shop in the not too distant future and I wish the brewery well with their exciting expansion plans.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nel195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“Father's Day gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Took my old man to the brewery for the tour and had an excellent time, must admit out tour guide Mel was superb and definitely made the day. Would recommend anyone who enjoys a proper beer to take visit, but I would definitely say don't drive :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I should start with how good the beer is which it is. I would also like to say how good the tour was both educational and entertaining. I went on a Saturday afternoon with my partner who despite being the only woman was made to feel welcome.I would say that the sampling was forthcoming and the gent who showed us around was very knowledgeable and entertaining he also publishes 3 books that are worth a read. Go and have a great afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank tom8667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Entertaining afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Visited the Hogs Back Brewery with my husband and a couple of friends and spent a truly entertaining afternoon. Our guide was Mel; as others have commented his style of presentation wouldn't be out of place in The Comedy Club. A little un-PC maybe but very amusing. It has to be said that he is also very knowledgable about the brewery past and present. We tasted four different beers throughout the tour and had we wished could have been very sozzled by the end.
The shop has a very extensive selection of ales, lagers and ciders in addition to beer sausages and chutneys and is intending to extend the range and include a coffee shop. If you're looking for an entertaining couple of hours and are interested in real ale, be sure to visit, you won't be disappointed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Meerulover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogs Back Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Hogs Back Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing