We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stop for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stop for the night”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

only had a suite left and would not give me a regular room price, even though I am gold member. other HI have done it. good contintal breakfast. loud a/c. staff was nice and it is close to highway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear valued guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We do appreciate you being a gold priority club member and we do offer free upgrades, however per priority club standards we are only obligated to upgrade platinum members. We will generally upgrade a gold members when plenty of rooms are available. I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations where this is concerned.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    36
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
51
30
4
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to Florida. Very clean and modern. Beds were comfy and shower was great..We took our dog. Dog fee is very reasonable. Breakfast was the usual HIE fare. Nothing to brag about, but okay. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank for recommending our hotel we greatly appreciate it. We take pride in the cleanliness and appearance of our property. We hope you and your dog will stay with us again on your way back through.

Sincerely
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent many, many nights here. The staff is always friendly and willing to do anything to keep you happy. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The lobby is bright and cheery, as is the breakfast/lounge area. I recommend this over any other hotel in Mattoon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 147davidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being a loyal guest at our hotel. I would also like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and staff. We take great pride in providing our guest with the best overall experience possible. We will be looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Everything I expected in a Holiday Inn. Great location right off the freeway. Rooms were clean, modern and comfortable. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim21W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so pleased that we met your expectations! We value your opinion and are glad that you took the time to leave your feedback. We hope we will see you again on your next trip through Mattoon.

Sincerley
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The staff at the HI Express in Mattoon are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the daily breakfast was nice. It was also in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay! I am very pleased to hear your positive remarks. Our goal is to give our guest the best experience possible and we look to seeing you again.


Sincerely,
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The staff at the HI Express in Mattoon, IL is very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond during our 2 night stay. The rooms are clean and the daily breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for telling us about your stay! It sounds like you had the experience we strive to achieve with all our guest. I am glad you left our hotel feeling like our staff went above and beyond for your.
Thank you for telling us about your stay.


Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We pick hotels that will take us and our Boston Terrier, so we were quite happy here. There were two complaints- one was no fridge, which we half expected.The other was just bad luck- we had one of those weird people in the room above us who just thumped around all night (past 3 am), so of all the nights on our long trip, this one left us sleepy and grouchy. But, I can't blame the hotel, since we never called, hoping that this person (gorilla?) would eventually go to bed.
The hotel was clean, friendly, and quite reasonable for a Holiday Express. the dog only cost an additional ten dollars.
We would come back anytime.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear valued guest,

I am pleased to hear you were happy with your stay. I am also sorry to hear that you were disturb by another guest. Please feel free to let the front desk staff know so that we can handle the situation for you. We do have refrigerators available in most of our rooms so feel free to make that request when you make your next reservation. It is our goal to make sure all of our guest have the best experience possible. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we will look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely
Stephanie Packer
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#4 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.2 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Address: 121 Swords Dr, Mattoon, IL 61938-9758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing