We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Vernon, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband was traveling for work and this was about a mile from his destination. Staff was friendly, the breakfast staff was super friendly and was interacting with a small boy which seemed to totally make his day! Comfy bed and nice size restroom

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We know you have a lot of choices when it comes to lodging, but we are so glad you chose us. Our staff truly cares about our guest and the service they provide you. We are glad you found us friendly and we hope to see you back again.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
51
29
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This property is by far the most comfortable, cleanest, friendliest hotel which I have ever stayed. I am often in the Charleston/Mattoon area for Eastern Illinois University business as well as visiting family. I have been staying at the Holiday Inn Express since they opened in 2009. The staff has been consistent in all these years. Friendly, helpful and always greet me by name with a smile.

The rooms are spacious and super clean. The hotel is pet-friendly also, which is great when I travel with my dog. The beds and pillows are so comfortable, I often sleep better here than I do at home.

THe breakfast area is amazing. The staff is smiling and helpful. The selection allows for all to be able to enjoy breakfast; gluten free items, turkey sausage, pancakes, apples, juice, and always steaming hot fresh coffee.

This property is by the far the best hotel in the area. I would highly recommend staying here due to being family friendly, professional, and always willing to help.

Room Tip: Great when visiting Eastern Illinois University and is within walking distance from several great pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Gretchen T,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you are a part of our family here at the Holiday Inn Express. We look forward to your visits. Our staff takes a lot of pride in the service they provide and I will definitely share your comments with them and we look forward to being your home away from home for years to come.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was sold out over the weekend but I found the staff to be very friendly and caring. Very clean hotel and great parking. Attention to every detail was the best. Want a great experience? Try this Holiday Inn & Express in Mattoon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Renee2525,

We are glad you had such a nice experience with us. Are staff works hard to provide a clean hotel and caring attitude. I would like to thank you for being our guest and also for taking the time to review our hotel.

Thank You
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here with my husband while visiting family. The room we stayed in was very nice. This is the best hotel, in the area, to stay in. It's not too expensive. And the rooms are nice. The staff is super friendly. Next time we visit, we'll be staying there again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorCalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear NoCalTourist,

We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be nice and clean. We take a lot of pride in the service we provide. We are always looking for ways to improve and our guest feedback is crucial to our success. So thank you for taking time out of your busy day to tells us about your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Thank You!
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I can say that this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in as I travel extensively for work. I stay at this hotel when I'm visiting friends and family and I always look forward to it. Everything about that this hotel make you feel like you're in excellent hands. Walking in it is always very clean and the staff is so polite and helpful. They are so good about giving me my Priority Club upgrades when they are available too. I have been staying here for a few years now and the excellent service has been consistent. It makes me feel at home when I'm away from home. If you stay at another hotel when you're in the Mattoon area, you are missing out! Thank you to Stephanie Packer and her staff! See you again soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HBadger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear HBadger87,

We know life is busy so we wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear we are providing you with the experience each and every guest deserves! Our staff takes a lot of pride in the service they provide and will be delighted when I share your review. We would also like to thank you for your loyalty, our hotel and IHG as a brand appreciates your patronage. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you!
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Holiday Inn Express and Suites is the best hotel in Mattoon and my preferred place to stay when I visit Mattoon. In addition, Stephanie Packer is THE FINEST hotel manager in the Coles County area!!!

-Ray McElroy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayMcElroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Ray,

Thank you for feedback. We always look forward to reading our guest comments. It is an honor to have you and your crew with us when you come to town. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you!
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Mattoon, IL during the July 4th, 2014 weekend. Our reservations began on Wednesday and on Tuesday afternoon found that we would be arriving early. We called the hotel and added Tuesday night with no problem. The front desk staff person was very accommodating and friendly. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Rebecca,

We are happy you found our hotel clean and our staff accommodating. We pride ourselves in providing the best experience to our guest. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Mattoon and we will be looking forward to your return.

Thank you!
Stephanie Packer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#1 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#4 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
7.2 mi away
Unique Suites Hotel
Unique Suites Hotel
#2 of 2 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
Address: 121 Swords Dr, Mattoon, IL 61938-9758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mattoon
#4 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Mattoon, Illinois boasts excellent facilities! Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mattoon near Lake Land College and Eastern Illinois University. Our Mattoon, IL hotel is the perfect choice for both corporate and leisure travelers. Families looking for lodging in Mattoon, Illinois will not be disappointed by our hotel, located just off I-57 between Effingham and Champaign. We offer you close proximity to many local attractions, including the Lincoln Log Cabin State Historic Site, Fox Ridge State Park and the Douglas-Hart Nature Center. Other nearby activities include Lake Mattoon, the Rockome Gardens and shopping at the Tanger Outlet Mall. Business travelers will be impressed by the convenience of our Mattoon, IL accommodations. Situated in a suburban area of Mattoon, Illinois, the hotel is close to several companies, including RR Donnelley, Mediacom, Lender's Bagel Company and the Sarah Bush Lincoln Medical Center. In addition, we provide a business center with a fax machine, printer, copier, a public computer and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access, so you can stay in touch. While staying in Illinois, you can enjoy our choice hotel amenities, which include a 24-hour fitness center, a heated indoor pool, spa and a complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to enjoy our great Mattoon, IL hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mattoon
Holiday Inn Express Mattoon
Mattoon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing