We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Super 8 Mattoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Mattoon
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Mattoon
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The girl at the front desk who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful, and that is the ONLY nice thing that I have to say about our stay here. The hallway floor was filthy and looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in months. There wasn't a nightstand or any sort of furniture on one side of the bed, only the folding luggage holder. The switch on the one lamp in the room was broken so it had to be unplugged to turn it off. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and the sheets were close to sandpaper texture. There was a puddle on the floor in the bathroom from a leak in the toilet. The bathroom had a total of two towels in it; one hand towel and one bath towel. There was no shampoo, conditioner, or soap in the room. There was no microwave in the room. There was nothing hanging on any of the walls except for empty nails. It was a dreadful experience. We were exhausted after 12 hours on the road and I had the flu, otherwise we would have left immediately. Certainly not the type of experience I expect from a Super 8.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davispat, General Manager at Super 8 Mattoon, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
I would like to apologize if your experience was anything less than comfortable. We are in the process of renovations and have a note at the front desk apologizing so that our guests are aware of the renovations. We want our guests to have the best possible experience so we strive to make this hotel the best it can be by doing all new renovations. Again, I apologize for the inconvience. We hope to see you again in your travels.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    80
    41
    18
    23
See reviews for
99
50
27
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The place could use a good cleaning. The curtains on the windows are terrible dusty. I woke up and felt like I had mud in my nostrils. The staff was very nice. Clean the place. A little noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davispat, General Manager at Super 8 Mattoon, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guest:
I apologize if your experience was anything less than positive. We have been renovating the hotel so things may have been a bit out of sorts. We are very sorry for this issue. We are pleased to announce that the hotel has been renovated and hope that you will give us another chance to show yu what a great place to stay we truley are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mattoon hotels

Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went to the Super 8 due to the fact that we and hundreds of other drivers were stuck in that really horrible blizzard on the way home. Trisha L. and the rest of the staff were more than accommodating considering the terrifying weather conditions outside. Not only did she and the rest of the staff have a friendly, calm demeanor, she set up the rooms that were currently being renovated to make room for more travelers. Considering where Mattoon is located, I assume this hotel is not regularly completely exploding at capacity, and yet the staff still helped as many people that all swarmed in as possible. There were a few guests complaining about things running out of the vending machines or having to wait, but considering the circumstances, this staff did an exceptional job doing their best to make as many people happy as possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davispat, Manager at Super 8 Mattoon, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete the survey. Your input is very important to us and we strive to see that your stay is as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you again in your travels!

Patti Davis - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doniphan
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We slept well at a fair price and the beds were comfortable. Two story building with no elevator (I have arthritis which is painful on stairs) and our smoking room was only offered on the second floor but I understand why.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti D, General Manager at Super 8 Mattoon, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We just want to let everyone know that we have done total renovations and are anxious to see what you all think. We are realy excited to get your feedback. You are very important to us and we like hearing from you! Let us know how we are doing! Have a safe and great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mattoon
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
1.0 mi away
Suite Dreams Hotel
Suite Dreams Hotel
#7 of 9 in Mattoon
19 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mattoon
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mattoon
Hampton Inn Mattoon
#2 of 9 in Mattoon
320 reviews
7.1 mi away
Days Inn Charleston
Days Inn Charleston
#1 of 2 in Charleston
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Mattoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mattoon

Property: Super 8 Mattoon
Address: 205 McFall Rd, Mattoon, IL 61938-6211
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mattoon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Mattoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Mattoon 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new renovated rooms, flat screen TV's, and free access to the local YMCA with hotel stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Mattoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Mattoon
Mattoon Super 8
Mattoon Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing