We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn - McHenry
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McHenry
Certificate of Excellence
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I stopped for a stay here at the Hampton Inn McHenry while traveling through the area. The hotel is in a nice area and the room was very modern and very clean. The breakfast was just ok as the eggs were the now common clumpy scrambled variety. The bacon was 99.99999999 fat with the tiniest slither of actual meat on the very ends. I had a nice apple and oj and was fine. I wouldn't mind staying here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    97
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
138
58
26
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I've been to a number of hotels and most of them I wouldn't go back to. The people at this hotel made my happiness feel like it was their job. From the time I called to make the reservation, the check in, the service during my stay, and everything in between-everything was top notch-My husband said he wants to stay there every night just for the bed! They did good and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a big group and stayed on the 4th floor on the north side so we didn't bother anybody! It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina f, General Manager at Hampton Inn - McHenry, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay and our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you were happy with our customer service! We take pride in our guests in providing them with the best customer serivce possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We had a sleep over here for my daughters Birthday last month. The room was nice enough, but there were several things that left us less than impressed. The first thing was an overwhelming amount of bugs in the pool area, I counted atleast 30...yuck. The other thing that was unlike any other Hampton I have stayed in was the breakfast delay. It said breakfast started at 6 am, but none of the hot items were out until 9:30 when almost all the guests had given up on waiting for them. Now, the staff was kind and the rooms and beds were comfortable, which is why this review has 2 stars instead of 1. I should also add that when the clerk asked us upon checkout how our stay was we were honest. With no further questions asked she informed us that she was very sorry and that these things were not typical for this hotel and she would be waiving our room fee for night. Overall, it was an okay experience, but I am not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank altheaoleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina f, Manager at Hampton Inn - McHenry, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for selecting our hotel for your daughters birthday celebration. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definately keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definately take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerly hope that you will give us another oppurtunity and stay with us next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna City, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel was very nice, from the rooms to the lobby/breakfast area. We had several hockey teams staying the weekend. We gathered in the breakfast area in the evenings bringing in pizza for the entire group. The staff was helpful as we were in need of plates, napkins, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyParent13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
399 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I expected a decent place to stay for a couple of nights while visiting my sister. Given the price point---and that this is Hilton's economy brand---I did not expect to have more than just the basics. Well, they really outdid themselves! The place is beautifully decorated---tasteful, stylish and modern. Nice fireplace in the lobby. My room was huge; delicious bedding---welcoming, fluffy, and clean....love the duvet. My bathroom was very large, with a walk-in shower. Soft towels. The toiletries were great, and always replenished. The room was clean, clean, clean. The complimentary breakfast each day was generous, nicely laid out, and always replenished. The dining area was immaculate. Very good workout room. Clean and functional. When the TV clicker didn't seem to work, I picked up the house phone....a very pleasant young lady said she'd have it taken care of. I didn't expect much, but 45 seconds later, a maintenance person came into the room, with a new clicker in hand----and I could watch CNN while working out on the treadmill. All the amenities of the gym were fully stocked as well---water, clean towels, wipes. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The front desk staff were very pleasant. The hotel seemed pretty full, but I was never bothered by noise, which tells me that the rooms are built to be at least somewhat sound proof. I will definitely return to this hotel next time I am in the area. What a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wonder Lake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was a great place to have a meeting!!! We are a group of ladies that stay for the whole weekend doing what we enjoy- scrapbooking... and every lady had a good experience with the hotel and staff. The group voted to come back to the hotel over the other three places we have stayed at. From the start to check out, the professionalism and friendliness was superb!!! Thank you!

Room Tip: If you like to be away from the elevators or ice machine, just ask and they will do their best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have stayed here several times, and find it to be very comfortable and reliable. The rooms have a good layout, with nice furniture and comfortable beds. The bathroom is nice. The lobby and breakfast area are cozy, and guests seem to enjoy hanging out there. The breakfast hours are 6-10 AM, which works well for those who need to eat early. I appreciate that, since some hotels don't start their hot breakfasts until 7:00. I also appreciate good, hot coffee and hot chocolate at any time of the day, which this hotel offers.

The only con this time was that there were bugs (lots of them) in the pool/hot tub area. Strange occurrence for this time of the year, and not something anyone wants to encounter at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
5.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Crystal Lake
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
Holiday Inn Crystal Lake
#1 of 4 in Crystal Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
5.3 mi away
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
WaterFront Hotel & Marina
#1 of 1 in Johnsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 4 in Crystal Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chicago-Libertyville
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago-Algonquin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - McHenry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - McHenry

Property: Hampton Inn - McHenry
Address: 1555 S Il Route 31, McHenry, IL 60050-8246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > McHenry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McHenry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - McHenry 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn - McHenry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Mchenry Hotel Mchenry
Mchenry Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing