We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBB--Better Be Bacon--on the breakfast menu!!!!”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Swansea, IL
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“BBB--Better Be Bacon--on the breakfast menu!!!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here while on a 2-day outing to northern Illinois. Yes, the breakfast was great, especially since bacon was on the menu along with scrambled eggs, hot waffles, and the other usual fare. Everything was kept well stocked and hot. Good coffee. Got a very good rate with choice membership and a senior discount. Room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Rob, Mr. Personality, at the front desk was very helpful during checkin. We had requested an upper floor room away from the elevator; however, our room was right next to the elevator. We informed Rob about this, and he moved us to a double queen room away from the elevator for the same rate. We always inquire at the front desk as to where "the locals go for good food at a decent price". Rob immediately told us to go to Ziggies in town--2.4 miles. We did and were not disappointed. Our room was on the back side so we had a view of the countryside. We liked this hotel location since it was convenient to the interstate but away from the traffic of a larger city. The TV was a flat screen and there were several lineup choices; however, I couldn't watch the golf channel since it wasn't on the lineup. Make sure you stay here if you have the opportunity while in the area. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Take a back-side room to enjoy the country view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    31
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were exhausted when we reached the Comfort Inn but we were so pleasantly surprised at the updated, spotless, comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price. Breakfast was excellent and well attended and the beds were the best we had on our one week trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indianatraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Originally, we were going to stay in LaSalle, IL, where there's more of a selection, but I decided to check on the Comfort Inn in Mendota. I discovered they had a much better rate, and since my famiily of 20 + members already had rooms, I checked them out first. I was very pleasantly surprised because they were newly renovated, and for a small town hotel, their amenities were in keeping with hotels in larger urban areas. We booked our room there, and were surprised to find out that they had three queen bed rooms available. Since our two kids are of the opposite sex and older, this was perfect! I'd never seen that cofiguration before, and was impressed. It fills a niche! Their breakfast was pretty good, including bacon, scrambled eggs, waffles, ceareals, muffins, etc. Everything was "serve yourself" but all that was to be hot was hot, and all tha was to be cold, was cold. They kept it well filled, so there was no chance of running low on anything. They have a basic pool, but it's new, and a great diversion for the kids. We had an abundance of towels in our room and the staff was exceedingly helpful and very friendly and considerate. It was refreshing! I do definitely recommend this hotel. It's perfect for an overnight stay, if you're travelling down the interstate, or if you come for the annual Sweet Corn Festival in Mendota every August. I do travel alot, and I'm a travel agent so I'm a bit more picky and discerning. One note: they allow pets and don't charge a deposit to bring them. This is a nice little gem!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tymetocruz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskegon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is the fourth time I've stayed at this hotel which is right off I-39 just north of I-80. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Large updated TVs and the beds are comfortable as well. The pool is medium sized and has a fitness center. The breckfast has a good variety of foods including fruit, yogurt, waffles, breads and pastries (individually wrapped), cereals, juices and coffee. The pleasant feeling by all the staff made for a pleasant stay. Fuel and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaldEagle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

we are relocating to the area, the front desk staff was informative, the cleaning staff was great. the rooms were clean and smelled like hotels. the pool did have a problem but it was fixed with in a couple of days. Very nice hotel. Staff was very helpful to my girls who seem to run the hotel. They even allow animals which was a plus in our case. Excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misha1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

while staying here with family upon check in the lady working the desk who was later found out to be the "manager" was complaining and very rude. she was telling about 10 to 12 guests how her night desk clerk called in with car trouble and his name is Danny and he is not this and bad that and i must tell you the whole experience was rather embarrassing to the point that i walked away. i later went down to the desk and spoke to Danny and apologized to him for the things i had to hear her say. very unprofessional and uncaring as to what other peoples problems are. i would never stay here again as long as she is working here still. i would like to report her to the owners but there is no way to reach them..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funforlife74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The pool was absolutely filthy! Carpeting, bedspread...dirty....If we hadn't been so exhausted, we would have left. Don't recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gitpickerwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendota
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
13.4 mi away
Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Mendota
Super 8 Mendota
#1 of 2 in Mendota
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
13.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1307 Kailash Dr, Mendota, IL 61342-9233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mendota
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mendota
Mendota Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing