We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Mendota, but...”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Mendota, but...”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

...that's not saying much since I only know of one other place in town. I have stayed here several times in the past while visiting family in the area. It's a pretty standard roadside hotel. The level of cleanliness is fine and the beds are comfortable enough. Breakfast is fine; I usually opt for the waffles. Used the pool for the first time on our last visit and it was okay, nothing special. Overall I would say there is not much to complain about, but not much to rave about either.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akimbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is a bit worn compared to other Comfort Suites. Breakfast was good, but again the scrambled eggs were runny and bacon paper thin. Spouse said the pool was great. Not much choice for food at that exit either. We ate at the restaurant by the hotel which is attached to the gas station and it was OK. If you want a better meal, you'll have to drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

This place was exactly what we needed: Comfortable, clean and friendly. We only stayed overnight, passing through Mendota late without a reservation, but we were warmly greeted and quickly given a large up to date room, easy plug ins for charging, etc... Didn't have time to check out the pool or the hot breakfast. Would definitely stop there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed here for two night while attending an event in Mendota. I don't want to take away too many stars from the rating because for what they advertised, it was pretty reasonable. Everything was very clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. The quality of sleep was very good too and despite being near the highway I did not hear any noise. The one thing that struck me upon checkin was that they had a sign at the front desk saying "If any personal pillows are left behind they will not be returned" (meaning that you had to come back to pick them up, they will not be mailing them). This inclined me to believe that this must be a problem if they have to put a sign up, and if lots of people are bringing in personal pillows, maybe the pillows are no good. Yup. That was a correct assessment. Luckily they provided 5 on a king bed so that you could arrange them all in such a way that was moderately comfortable, but if you are pillow-picky then bring your own, if you don't mind it smelling like hotel when you leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k86j84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Nice breakfast and courteous staff. Rooms are quiet and affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hombre-15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This comfort inn not the same quality as others I have stayed. Very cheap linens. Awful pillows.
Half the lights were unplugged. Seemed dreary. Breakfast average, bacon undercooked.
Had nice dinner at reasonably priced whistle stop restaurant in town about 3 miles away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lclmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, IL
Level Contributor
163 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here while on a 2-day outing to northern Illinois. Yes, the breakfast was great, especially since bacon was on the menu along with scrambled eggs, hot waffles, and the other usual fare. Everything was kept well stocked and hot. Good coffee. Got a very good rate with choice membership and a senior discount. Room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. Rob, Mr. Personality, at the front desk was very helpful during checkin. We had requested an upper floor room away from the elevator; however, our room was right next to the elevator. We informed Rob about this, and he moved us to a double queen room away from the elevator for the same rate. We always inquire at the front desk as to where "the locals go for good food at a decent price". Rob immediately told us to go to Ziggies in town--2.4 miles. We did and were not disappointed. Our room was on the back side so we had a view of the countryside. We liked this hotel location since it was convenient to the interstate but away from the traffic of a larger city. The TV was a flat screen and there were several lineup choices; however, I couldn't watch the golf channel since it wasn't on the lineup. Make sure you stay here if you have the opportunity while in the area. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Take a back-side room to enjoy the country view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendota
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Mendota
Super 8 Mendota
#1 of 2 in Mendota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peru
13.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
13.4 mi away
Super 8 Peru Starved Rock State Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1307 Kailash Dr, Mendota, IL 61342-9233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mendota
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mendota
Mendota Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing