We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Metropolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We loved staying at this B&B. The hospitality and room were amazing! Pictures on the website don't even begin to show the elegance of the place. It was even more beautiful. My husband and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful little escape!! The house is a great historical building, every room has a Jacuzzi, fireplace, and claw foot tub, and breakfast is waiting for you when you get up. The casino and river are right across the street, and there is a restaurant a block over. The Inn keepers are helpful, friendly, and hospitable. My husband and I had never been to a bed and breakfast, but decided it would be a nice treat for our anniversary. It definitely was, and we will be back. It was very romantic, and we enjoyed our little haven. I would recommend this place to anyone!! Thank you to the owners for taking great pride and care in this wonderful house, and for allowing us the opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kellie N Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed last weekend at this beautiful B&B. Delicious food, restful sleep, and fabulous historical building. Hope to enjoy this gem again soon! We really enjoyed the restaurants in the area and the Casino :)

Room Tip: I was so surprised that we could walk to the Casino and to great restaurants from here. Great weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhonda1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We happened to be visiting Paducah, Ky. for my wife Elizabeth's 50th year high school reunion, and for our last day before flying back to San Francisco, we decided to stay here because we had eloped to get married in Metropolis 42 years ago. The photos on the website do not completely do this Inn justice. What a magnificent place to stay! Gorgeous rooms, parlor, kitchen, history, and fabulous hosts Hank and Colleen. Hank cooked up a great breakfast, with scrambled eggs, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, fruit, yogurt and great service. As we were watching television later, and having some fine wine and cheese, Hank brought up a plate of cookies and chocolates and strawberries for us - a complete surprise! If you are planning to visit Harrahs in Metropolis on the riverfront, do not stay at the Harrahs hotel if you can possibly get a room at Summers Riverview Mansion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimhilgendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you want a great place to just relax and have a good time this is it! You will feel like royalty here! It is quite here and you are well taken care of. You really have to see it to believe it! Thank you for the best experience that I have ever had!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladyk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It was a wonderful experience. The rooms are beautiful. The neighborhood is great. I slept better than I have in a long time and to top it off....I just learned that my sister and brother were born in this house when it was a hospital. Can you beat that!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for one night -- the location is in a neighborhood near the casino parking lot and they were doing some construction on the street but the neighborhood seemed safe enough. The room was clean and well kept. The owners were very friendly and provided us everything we needed. The free juice and bottled water was a great thing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William N, Owner at Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

My wife, Lori, and I are the new owners, June 10, 2015. We would love for you to stay at the Mansion again and enjoy the holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Metropolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
2,309 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Metropolis
9 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#4 of 6 in Metropolis
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 205 Metropolis, W are across the street from Harrah's casino, and we are two blocks from the Ohio River., Metropolis, IL 62960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Metropolis
Price Range: £116 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Mansion is a romantic, Victorian Bed and Breakfast replete with a Chapel/Event Center. Built in 1889 as an estate celebre' for the community to enjoy, Riverview sits two blocks north of the Ohio River. It features five, individually decorated bedrooms, usable antiques, great mattresses, and a spa tub in each one. Relaxing is more than a word at Riverview. Read our reviews; our casual gourmet breakfasts and hospitality are very good. 24 hour snacks, coffee and tea bar, comfortable rooms, free wifi and cable tv are available to make you feel welcome. At Riverview, we want you to come for the experiences, and stay for the memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Summers Riverview Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing