We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older facility, worn rooms, yucky breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the lowest review I have ever given. I will start out with the positives...it is easy to get to, and we booked with points, so it was free. The staff was friendly, it's very close to restaurants, and that's where the positives end. The hotel was older and very worn. The pool was closed for "repair and cleaning". As you could see from previous reviews, the bathroom is tiny and hard to manage with a family of four. The door opens in, so it's hard for even one person to use the toilet and shower. If you are a larger person at all, good luck. There also seemed to be a permanent noise machine outside in the marking lot to maybe scare off birds? it ran all night long. The room was hot (air conditioning didn't keep up) and the breakfast was a scandal! Thank goodness we travel with a cooler. Kids ate the pancakes which were fine, but I opted for something out of the van, and the coffee was pretty skunky. We drove to a gas station to get some instead. Very thankful we only had to stay one night. Book elsewhere!

Room Tip: Although it is close to the highway, the highway noise is not the problem. Noise machine in parking...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liberty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Liberty K,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. I would like to sincerely apologize that we fell short in providing the excellent facilities that have become the cornerstone of Holiday Inn Express hotels around the world.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the pool being down on the day of your arrival; for the noise coming from the parking lot; and the poor breakfast experience you had. We take our guest comments/reviews very seriously. I have shared your comments with my colleagues, and are going to make sure that this sort of thing does not happen again in the future.

Once again, I apologize and regret that this negatively impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Vic M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Metropolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

The front desk staff here is wonderful - friendly and helpful even when arriving after midnight. Hotel is small, a bit older, but well kept. It's very easy to get to from the highway. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Wanted to book a room using my IHG points and blonde girl at front desk was S L O W as molasses! I think on purpose too. First off, she said she couldn't book the room with my points and that I would have to call IHG club to do it. Asked her for the number. She spent 5 minutes looking thru a pamphlet for the number. Why would a Holiday Inn clerk not have the club number? She finally dialed and I got to reserve the room. She was S L O W to complete the transaction.
Later this blonde desk clerk was right outside the front door smoking - so you have to wade thru disgusting cigarette smoke to go in and out of the hotel. Very unsightly and unprofessional to see the front desk clerk smoking in front of the main door entrance.
The bathroom door is in the way when using tub, toilet, etc. Weird design!
The room smelled musty and moldy upon entering so had to run the AC even though its cold out.
Breakfast is meager and barely could feed my bird.
NOT suitable for extended stays, but will do for 1 over night on the way thru this silly town.
Hard to get into the facility too, you have to pass it, than double back into the parking lot.
Would NOT return unless forced too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear JimB_Traveler,
Thank you for your feedback, for being an IHG Rewards Club member, and also for staying with us on your trip through this area. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient for a 1 night stay if you are passing through this area. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the Front Desk staff, your Guest room experience, and the breakfast selection which was meager. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and forwarded to the appropriate persons concerned. I have addressed the issue with the Front desk employee, Housekeeping supervisor, and Breakfast Hostess, and made sure that they are all on the same page as our vision, which is 'Great Hotels, Guests Love'. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Sincerely,
Vic M
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The facility was neat, attractive, and clean. The staff were all friendly, helpful, and courteous. The beds were extremely comfortable -- wished I could take the mattress and pillows with me. We asked how old the place was and we were told it had been renovated in 2009. Everything looked so fresh and well-kept that we were amazed it had not been done within a year. The indoor pool and whirlpool were in good condition. The breakfast was tasty and offered a variety of pastries, muffins, breads, cold and hot cereals, as well as sausage, eggs, biscuits, and sausage gravy, juices, milks, yogurt, and hot beverages. Vending machines were reasonably priced (comparable to the ones at my workplace) and conveniently located , along with the ice machine.
Room service is not available but Domino's and Pizza Hut deliver. Not a big problem because there are plenty of restaurants within 5 - 10 miles.

Room Tip: A top floor room would probably have been a tad quieter -- the room above us had busy people in it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for one night with our two grown collies and new collie pup. The staff was very nice and extremely accommodating. The room was like brand new and very comfortable. Great place when traveling with pets the grounds around the hotel were nice for walking the dogs too.

Room Tip: Very nice comfortable rooms. The first floor room at the back side of the motel has a nice view of a...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here back a few weeks ago, booked a last minute room on priceline at a great price. The other hotels in the area were booked and the casino was completely filled, so we decided to stay off the exit at the holiday inn. it looked like they had a pretty bad snow storm come in, because the entire place was covered with snow and ice. We checked in and asked for a room with 2 queen beds and the manager on duty asked how many people would be staying in the room and that our room type is not guaranteed when you book through priceline. He said there would be 10 dollar fee to have a third person in the room which was fine, no big deal. Did not spend much time at the hotel other than sleeping, because we went to the casino the majority of the night. Upon waking up trying to get an early start on the day, not a single one of us had hot water for our shower. We took quick cold showers, ate breakfast, and upon checkout notified the front desk that there was no hot water. The front desk said that there were other rooms that had the same issue as well, we over heard guests complaining about it in breakfast. The desk clerk said that maybe it had to due with us being on the third floor? not sure what that has anything to do with it. I asked if an adjustment to the room could be made, given that a hot shower is kind of essential in a hotel stay, especially at a holiday inn express. She said she would have to speak with the manager and see if an adjustment would be made. I left my name and number and comments about the problem. I got no phone call and no adjustment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear krishna212,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced and we regret the issue you had with the condition of the shower. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team to review the procedures we have in place and make necessary improvements to ensure guests do not experience this in the future.

Once again, we apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel is just minutes north of Paducah, KY, where most hotels are located. We found this hotel to be an excellent choice. The room was spacious and clean. Our room had a sofa area partially separated from the bed. There were flat-screen TV's in both areas (nice). The bathroom housed the sink, toilet and shower, instead of a separate area for the sink. The room included a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.

This hotel is conveniently located just off the interstate. To get to the hotel, you need to drive past the hotel to the first stop light then backtrack to the hotel (a slight inconvenience). The hotel is very quiet because of the location. Hotel parking is ample and well lighted.

The breakfast includes many options, including cold cereals, pancakes, oatmeal, omelette's, ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, Danish rolls, their featured warm cinnamon rolls, cranberry, apple and orange juice, milk, coffee and tea. The breakfast area was not over-crowded during our stay. We found all staff including the breakfast host to be friendly and helpful. This hotel offers both an indoor pool and hot tub as an additional benefit.

You can expect to have a good experience here.

Room Tip: The location of the hotel ensures that all rooms will be without traffic noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy and Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Metropolis
3.0 mi away
Harrah's Metropolis
Harrah's Metropolis
#1 of 6 in Metropolis
2,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Metropolis
Super 8 Metropolis
#3 of 6 in Metropolis
399 reviews
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Metropolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 6 in Metropolis
33 reviews
5.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paducah
5.9 mi away
Auburn Place Hotels and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Metropolis

Address: I24 And Us 45 Exit 37, 2179 East 5th Street, Metropolis, IL 62960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Metropolis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Metropolis
Price Range: £66 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Metropolis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, Illinois. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Metropolis, IL, is located at the intersection of I-24 and US 45 at exit 37, across the Ohio River, about 7 miles from Paducah, KY. Just minutes from Harrah's Casino on the river, and Fort Massac State Park, host of the 19th century re-enactment, 'The Encampment.' And of course, Metropolis is also the Home of Superman, and features a 15-ft tall statue of Superman and a million dollar Super Museum! We are also the closest town to Mermet Springs/Mermet Lake Conservation Area, where you can go scuba diving, hiking, picnicking, fishing and hunting, all in the same area. Come and enjoy the new Express Start Refresh breakfast bar featuring our cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, crispy bacon strips, sausage patties, biscuits & sausage gravy, yogurt, and Smart Roast coffee, among other items. We also have an indoor pool and spa for your recreation, along with a fitness center. All guest rooms feature the Simply Smart exclusive line of amenities, bedding, and the one and only Stay Smart shower head. Passing through or visiting Metropolis, IL? Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel.We are situated just outside Paducah, KY, about half way between St. Louis, MO, and Nashville, TN, posing as an ideal overnight stop for long-distance travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Metropolis Hotel Metropolis
Holiday Inn Metropolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing