We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Burrator Inn

The Burrator Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dousland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cask Marque accredited, Free WiFi, Food served all day until 9pm, Live Entertainment every Saturday, Weekly Quiz Night every Sunday 9pm, Family friendly, large Beer Garden with Children's Play Area, Off road parking, En Suite accommodation an AA 4 Star Rated Inn, Disabled Access and disabled toilet facilities
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wife and I stayed here whilst attending a family event.
Room very spacious, ensuite virtually new - shower awesome.
Bar process reasonable, food good size portions - good value for money.
Staff really friendly

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank razorfight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    74
    28
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My friends and I were out on a tour of Dartmoor on the evening of 24 April 2014 when we decided to pop in to the Burrator Inn to have an evening meal. It was a lovely sunny evening and the view was magnificent. There was a really friendly atmosphere and the person in charge as well as our waitress could not have been more helpful. The food was served quickly and it was tasty and hot. Afterwards our two-year-old enjoyed a happy half hour in the little park outside the Inn. All-in-all it was a very enjoyable end to our day. Congratulations to the owner and staff on running a great little Inn!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Phil, Sara and Staff, go out their way to make you feel welcome.
Amazing atmosphere, great food and friendly locals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matt w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My lady wife, daughter and my mother and father (grandparents of the aforementioned) visited the Burrator Inn today for lunch. We arrived fifteen minutes after they had opened and the place was already busy. A very charming young lady at a table up for us with a high chair.

We ordered some good pub classics - scampi, ham egg and chips and the like. All served without great delay and to a good standard.

Sorry not to have been able to try the ales but, alas, the law is so very clear regarding driving whilst under the influence.

Helpful?
Thank RobertMonthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I have just returned from our stay at The Burrator Inn. The hotel is situated just several minutes from a number of shops so quiet handy. We were in a family room, which was a good size, the room and hotel showed very high standards of cleanliness (shower curtains were slightly dirty). Our stay was great, apart from the second night we ordered food. My father, brother and I sat down to be served. Nobody came to take our drink order, as the girls the night before had. Therefore, we ordered at the bar. We then waited for a further 30 minutes, however, the two boys did not come to our table so I had to ask them to take our order, which was a bit of a disappointment. I appreciate it was busy, but tables were being cleaned whilst we were still waiting for our order to be taken. Nevertheless, everyone was very friendly. Especially the man who served our breakfast, very impressed! Thankyou.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C, Owner at The Burrator Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thanks for your comments. We need to know when things might not be up to the standards we insist upon, and so the points raised regards service have been addressed. We have a saying here, 'If you have enjoyed your visit, please tell others, but if not, please tell us'. This is obviously so we can put right any failings. Please accept my apologies for the fact that in this instance, there were shortcomings, but this will certainly not be repeated in the future. However, it would appear you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and your review heading is most heartwarming. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Burrator Inn also viewed

Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
 
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Buckland Monachorum, Devon
 

Been to The Burrator Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing