We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak, Steak, Steak”

Cerar's Barnstormer
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Monmouth
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Steak, Steak, Steak”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We had a group of 15 and almost everyone got a steak (filet, ribeye, etc.). Nobody had a bad thing to say about the steak they had. I selected the ribeye and enjoyed it very much. It was spot on medium rare and the flavor was good. They also offer a significant list of 'toppings' or add ons if you like shrooms and the like with your steak.
The down side would be the cost and dated feel of the location. Some may like the decor as it has an older or darker feel on the inside. The inside is clean and is nice... just dark and a bit dated. The cost seems to be a bit high for a steakhouse in a small midwest town but must not be out of line as it is still in business.
I would go back but only on special nights as the costs could be $40-$50/person with drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stlscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“tasty but a bit pricey for area”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We had a very nice dinner at the Barnstormer last night. A majority of the table ordered seafood and they did a great job cooking the salmon! As we were celebrating a birthday, the waitress brought a piece of cake over with a candle on it and another piece of cake so everyone at the table could enjoy some.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank notesfork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galva, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This place is one of the best restaurants in Central Illinois”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

After hearing rave reviews from all our friends we had to try this place. My wife selected this for her birthday meal. This place even exceeded our expectations. The coconut tilapia was some of the best I have had. The crab cakes are a must. Our service was outstanding and the hostess came around frequently to check on us. Very cordial and bubbly! This place is a perfect example of the simple philosophy of serve fantastic food with a good variety and add good service you will succeed. While this place is an hour from our house we will definitely return frequently. Also the spinach artichoke dip is the best we have ever had. You will not go wrong here. Great for any outing or special occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Been back many times since my college days. Always a fantastic dinning experience. Outstanding quality and the wait staff are such pleasure. Headed there again as soon as we get back from Florida!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrWedge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Barnstormer has a wonderful dining atmosphere - very intimate and quiet. They also have an amazing food and drink menu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cerar's Barnstormer also viewed

 

Been to Cerar's Barnstormer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing