We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I and our dog have had several extended stays here on visits, several weeks at a time. The management and staff are very accommodating and small town friendly. Fine locale for pet travelers. (Open fields in close walking proximity and two forest preserves nearby) Priced very competitively. Facility is older but being upgraded. Beds are quite comfortable. Indoor pool is larger than many and just redone. Has elevator. Monticello is charming, if not unique. Proximity to the University of Illinois, Allerton Park, Illinois Railway Museum and Amish areas are a plus. Very good in town restaurants/pubs also priced moderately. This is an excellent alternative to higher priced, urban area Champaign/Urbana motels - especially for an extended stay.

Room Tip: South side(odd number) rooms have a view of pond and woods (also electric transmission line), but qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wshwindsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three weeks while I was working on a nuke power house outage near Clinton, Illinois. The employees, Kim, Larry, Mary, Janel, and Cassie all made a construction worker make the best of his stay while being so far away from home. The rooms were clean and did not smell musty like some other reviews had said. The pool was recently redone and very clean. The hotel itself was very clean and upkept. I highly recommend this hotel whether for a one night or several weeks stay. I will stay here again and so will my fellow construction workers if we ever work at the power house in Clinton again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twocountyboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel rooms are spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and I found the complimentary breakfast quite good. The Allerton Retreat Center, where I attended a conference, is just a short 10-15 minute drive south, whereas Savoy and Champaign are 20-25 minutes north. The highlight of the hotel, however, is its staff. I had difficulties finding a way to get to the airport in time for my 7 a.m. flight: the front desk staff went above and beyond, allowing me to check out early and booking a room for me in Savoy. The hotel manager even went so far as to give me a ride to Savoy!
I was awestruck by this level of hospitality: I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area or attending a conference in Allerton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. It was convenient to where we needed to be, but for $100 not worth it. Should have went to Champaign. The rooms especially the bathroom looked like they had just patched places on the floor etc but never bothered to paint the fixes. The breakfast was bad, starting with the coffee I think the machine needed a good cleaning, only had very limited choices, said it had a variety of breads, well white bread is all they had, the jelly on the tables was very old, and the butter was drying up. We went across to the gas station and got coffee. Certainly expected more for the $100 per night and we ask for the senior rate but was not given it. No receipt when we checked out. Will not stay there again. The pool was closed also.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maandparob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The front desk staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. Sadly, this hardly made up for the hotel itself. The room was damp in spite of the air conditioner running almost constantly. The sheets were a bit damp even. The shower gel and shampoo dispenser in the shower was empty - discovered too late to do anything about it the first night. Figured they'd fill it when they cleaned the room, but got back at the end of a long day and (checking the dispensers first this time) saw that they were still empty. Fortunately, the front desk had "one bottle left" of shampoo and had the last of the large bottle they fill the shower gel dispenser from. The place was generally clean, which is of course a plus but the dampness of the room and the lack of care in keeping it stocked with amenities kind of ruined it for them. All in all, a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ModerateTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at the Best Western for a local wedding, and its convenience cannot be denied. Since this is likely the most amenity-filled hotel in the area, it was great to be able to have the reception in the banquet hall and retire to our room later that evening. Additionally, the hotel is pet-friendly, which allowed us to bring our cat with us for the two nights we stayed without having to look for a sitter.
However, despite being a good choice in town, this Best Western is not perfect. Our room, while fairly large, did not feel very clean - I was glad we were only there for two nights. The furniture and kitchenette looked old and dated. The smell of the pool permeated the front lobby, which was also not great. Finally, the complimentary breakfast options were few and not particularly exciting - mostly just cereal. While we appreciated the convenience, we are glad this was a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

It was a one night stay while passing through Monticello, IL. Three C's - Clean, Comfortable, Cheap. I breakfast buffet to not great, but the coffee was good. Everything else was OK. The front desk girl was very helpful in suggesting a local place to have dinner. The place she recommend was outstanding. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7503Happyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manisha p, General Manager at Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Best Western Gateway Inn! I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with our breakfast choices. We try to provide a variety to please all of our guests, however that is not always possible. We would also like to thank you for utilizing our staffs knowlegde and for recognising the helpful information you were provided with. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
16.7 mi away
Best Western Paradise Inn
17.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
17.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Champaign - Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Foster's Inn
Foster's Inn
#2 of 2 in Monticello
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn

Address: 805 Iron Horse Pl, Monticello, IL 61856-8145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Monticello
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: £73 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn is conveniently located right off of Interstate 72, exit 166. There is a full service restaurant next as well as a convenience store located across the street. Additionally, there are several pizza restaurants in town, all of which deliver right to your room. We offered a continental breakfast, free WiFi, a business center, group areas to visit with family and friends, a free newspaper every day, an Olympic size pool, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Monticello Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Monticello Gateway Hotel Monticello
Monticello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing