We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very eccentric. . But would definitely stay again!”
Review of Hotel Glenview

Hotel Glenview
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Carroll
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Glenview
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very eccentric. . But would definitely stay again!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Love to try new and different places. This was very different; but completely enjoyed it and would definitely stay again.
Great location. We ride bikes and I don't like to ride at nite. Great variety of places to walk to for food and drink. One place has live music every Fri and Sat nite.
Very nice town.. had a lovely weekend and we will definitely do it again and stay there!
Owners are super! The place is a work in progress..realize that going in and you will enjoy!
Loved my weekend! thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkm456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We've stayed on 2 separate occasions. Our only regret is that we didn't know about this place the first time we visited Mount Carroll, while attending performances at Timber Lake Playhouse. It's unfortunate that, when doing an internet search for B&B, hotels, in the area, Hotel Glenview never came up. The rooms are upstairs so you need to have the ability to do stairs. Both visits we stayed in a suite, which provides you with your own bathroom, which we prefer. The suite also includes microwave, coffee pot, small fridge, etc. The bedroom had a window air conditioner, which cooled the living area just fine. While the Hotel Glenview is not opulent, it has the charm of a historical inn that is like non other. The hosts, Laura & Larry, are most welcoming & couldn't be friendlier. They welcome you to sit on the front porch, if you like. The shop & recently opened wine & cheese shop downstairs are a bonus to your stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Work in progress. Rehabbing historic hotel. It's not the Ritz, but it's not meant to be. Unfinished areas / work in progress. Great mattress / quiet sleeping. Wood floors have well-worn look, but are clean. No bright lights. No bad smells. If you want simple, quiet, well-worn "charm" with an air of history, it is here. Hosts were very accomodating. It is NOT a franchise / chain. Not a spit and polish streile look. Clean, safe, comfortable, historic and nice in-town location. We'll stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seektrue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logan square
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We had a most pleasant and relaxing stay in Mt. Carroll. The Hotel Glenview was a wonderfull step back in time. We felt like we were staying at a turn of the century hotel but with 21st century upgrades! Comfy beds,bright linens,stylish bathrooms were just some amenities. We especially like the minimalist decor. The owners explained many options for shopping and dinning and made arrangements for a light snack and wine. They were more than happy to share their front porch (overlooking town) with us. We plan on returning with freinds. The historic homes and signs explaining their history was also interesting. Beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrolllogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2010

This hotel is undergoing renovation and is truly not in appropriate shape to hosts guests. I did not personally stay at the hotel, but I did visit several of the rooms since several people on a tour with us did, and they were very upset with the experience. The rooms I walked through (three of them, one of which was a suite that cost $100/night) were dusty, dismal, poorly lit, and had cheap, unattractive furniture. None of the rooms seemed comfortable or inviting. One room where someone was staying had a broken window above the door that faced the hallway which she reported made the room quite noisy. The people who stayed there also reported that brown water came out of the faucets, the shower never seemed to get hot even after a long period of waiting. When the guest told the owner about the problem with the shower, he did not apologize or give her the sense that he was concerned about it. While I was there, I used the bathroom in the hallway that was across from the rooms where the people on the tour were staying and discovered found that the door did not shut properly or have a way to lock it from the inside, and the toilet paper rolls were stored on the handle of a toilet plunger--not an appealing sight. If you are looking for accomodations in Mt. Carroll, I would instead recommend the other B&Bs in the area, particularly the Palmer Country House, where I had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler6937743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Carroll hotels

Been to Hotel Glenview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glenview

Property: Hotel Glenview
Address: 116 E Market St, Mount Carroll, IL 61053-1151
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Carroll
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Carroll
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing