We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh and well prepared.”
Review of Jelly Cafe

Jelly Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh and well prepared.”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Good, polite service, well prepared fresh food, and a nice atmosphere. I will be going back again. This place is well worth visiting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millenniumtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3,115 reviews
2,437 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Jelly Cafe is located in an off-street mall with plenty of parking. Not as large as some breakfast restaurants, we found the service slightly lacking. This was not because of the waitress, however. For some reason, we came on a morning when there was only one waitress and she was working very, very hard and doing as best as she could. There was at least one manager helping, but the service did get behind. That being said, the food was good and there were some different menu items. Five different benedicts to choose from. We tried the hash bennie and the pot roast bennie. Both were very good and the portions were large. We also had the baked goat cheese salad which was way better than expected. I have to agree with one review that mentioned the beignets in cinnamon sugar with jelly. How about beignets with powdered sugar, and see which one gets ordered more? It is a quality local restaurant and we will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen21096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great service, ambiance, compote (but it's not jelly!)”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

First off, I actually preferred the pectin-less compote they provided to jelly. It, and the amazing fried potatoes, were the highlights. The rest alternated between just okay (pancakes) to not so good (beignets buried in granulated cinnamon sugar, huge fluffy cheese omelette with almost no cheese, prices). Go to Walker Brothers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bgandl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“First time and will be back”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Great new place. We tried it today with our kids. Staff is very friendly. Ample selection and a good value for the quantity. We had the Mickey Mouse Pancake, Spanish Omelet and a Fajita Omelete. All excellent!! We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One breakfast and we're hooked”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just a great change from the ordinary chain-type breakfast restaurants. This place is bright, cheerful and classy looking and the food exceeded our expectations. I had the peach cobbler pancakes which was one of their specials of the day and it was wonderful. A layer of peaches between the pancakes as well as on top and I am not talking pie filling peaches here, I am talking peaches. My husband had the cinnamon roll French toast and said it was also excellent. Service was spot on and since we were there about 8:30 on a Monday the place was only about half full. Portions are large and prices extremely reasonable. Hardest decision was what to choose from the menu. 10% senior discount before 9:00 on weekdays. Total check about $20 for our two breakfasts and coffee. We plan to return very soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charleegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jelly Cafe also viewed

 
Mount Prospect, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Jelly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing