We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Vernon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Vernon B&B and Inns
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Elegant and Comfortable”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

How refreshing to stay here when 6 of us came from different parts of the world. We alway gather somewhere twice per year. This time we chose Mt. Vernon, Illinois. I must say that the food and comfort is super, super, super. It was just VERY relaxing to be here. Just passing through or finding a fun destination, this is the place for you. Coffe and treats are always available. We truly recommend Sidwell Friends.

Room Tip: The master suit is just wonderful. The master bathroom is is even better. Request this room just f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
48
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zweibruecken, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

For those of you who search out the hidden gems...this is one of them! Your entry to the private drive reveals that this is no ordinary place. And we assure you that you will not be disappointed by the beauty that lies within. Each room has been carefully appointed by Larry, with such lovely antiques and stately decor. The essence of the home, though, is the warmth from which you feel every item has been carefully and lovingly chosen.

From the well-appointed library, to the cozy kitchen, up the stairs to the comfortable bedrooms and restored bathroom, each space is worth spending your entire stay in! We wished we'd been able to stay beyond just one night. Our trip was for an engagement which took most of the evening away from us.

However, our short stay was in no way diminished, as Larry's hospitality and graciousness was beyond compare. It's our hope that one day again we'll be able to relish in the comforts of his lovely B&B, and relax from morn til' night.

You'll love the down bedding, heated bathroom flooring, and the private patio out back under the lovely old shade trees.

By the way, this retreat is not far from two major interstates: I-64 and I-57. The proximity to both of those which run East-West and North-South respectively, makes this hidden gem worth 'checking in early' for the night.

The town is filled with great places to dine, and a few historic stops worth marking on your map! Don't miss an opportunity to book a room at Sidwell Friends. You will love every second of your stay. We WILL be back! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauramaymuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My wife and I were traveling through Illinois on our way down to Kentucky, and Mount Vernon was right at the point in our trip where we wanted to stop for a night. We read all of the wonderful reviews on Sidwell Friends B&B and decided to stay for the night on our way through. From the time we arrived and through the remainder of our stay we were immersed in Larry's outstanding hospitality. The home was beautiful and extremely relaxing! We enjoyed spending time sitting in the Library room in front of the fire place, going through and reading the amazing amount of books that Larry has in his collection. The house is impeccably decorated! One could spend days just looking at everything in the house. We loved our stay at Sidwell Friends and wished it could have been for more then one night!! If we are ever traveling through this part of Illinois again, we will certainly be staying at Sidwell Friends B&B. And we will make sure it is for more then one night! Thank you Larry for being such a WONDERFUL person and an amazing host!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKchaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have stayed here twice now; the most recent being last week (Nov. 10 & 11).
Both times we have been impressed by the hospitality of the host Larry Sidwell. He is thoroughly sincere about looking after his guests in every detail, from the breakfasts he prepares to the quality and comfort of beds and any other needs they may have. The place has subdued charm, is beautifully furnished and reminds one of a very high end B & B in the English country side. Stay here if you are around Mount Vernon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atmktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

At Sidwell Friends B&B, it's all about attention to detail. From the time you drive up to the welcoming entry, relax in the cozy living room furnished in period New England pieces, and then retreat to the beautifully-appointed bedroom, you'll find yourself transported into a comfortable space that you'll never want to leave. The luxurious bathroom with heated floors and heated towel racks beckon you to linger in the jetted tub. The breakfast consists of a delicious combination of fresh fruits, flavorful cured ham, light and fluffy baked French toast, just to name a few, and is a perfect duo of tasteful presentation, along with delightful conversation. The homeowner is the icing on the cake and rounds out the entire experience.

Room Tip: The Dunaven is a LARGE suite and has a bathroom that provides a spa-like experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraftonGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I have stayed at well over 150 B&Bs around the country and every once in a great while we encounter one that truly stands head and shoulders above the others. Such was the case at Sidwell Friends. After embarking on a 2200 mile trip in one of our antique cars, we developed engine problems just north of Mt. Vernon, IL and were fortunate to have found this lovely B&B. Not only was the house beautiful and exquisitely decorated, but the bed/bedroom was very comfortable, while the breakfast was scrumptious and without comparison. Our bathroom had heated tile floors and a heated towel rack. Larry Sidwell was a most gracious and accommodating host on so many levels. For starters, he took us to a nearby garage whose owner was not only a master mechanic, but who had the knowledge and experience to repair our classic car. Larry then lent us his Jaguar for four days while we awaited parts and repairs. He suggested interesting things to do and great places to eat while we waited. We had no idea Mt. Vernon was such a welcoming and delightful cultural and gastronomical city. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, despite the circumstances which necessitated it and we made a friend whose B&B we will visit many times in the future. We recommend Sidwell Friends without qualification. It's worth the trip, I don't care where you're coming from.

Room Tip: They are all very nice, but we would have chosen the largest suite, had it been available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motherroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Sidwell Friends offers all of the comfort and welcome of a great b&b. The decor is beautiful and lush with cozy furnishing. A warm host rounds out the experience to something arguably better than a home away from home

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
2.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
457 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
571 reviews
2.0 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#9 of 14 in Mount Vernon
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sidwell Friends Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1812 Richview Rd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-2883
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sidwell Friends is an intimate B & B with the character and amenities of a boutique hotel----antiques, artwork, hardwoods, orientals, well stocked book shelves, Jacuzzi Air Tub, heated tile floors and towel racks, WiFi, deck, and patio. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing