We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silver Streak scores”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Streak Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #45 of 66 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
294 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Silver Streak scores”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I stopped by Silver Streak because of trip advisor reviews and we were pleased with the meal. It is hard to find, poorly marked, no curb appeal and the interior is nothing to get excited about. The food however was outstanding. I had catfish and my wife had Tilapia and both meals would have been excellent in a fancier restaurant. We were passing through on our way to St Louis where we are moving but will return here if trips East have timing that puts us close to Mt Vernon anywhere near meal time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hallercf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as it use to be.....”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I've been to the Silver Streak many times and have had really good food in the past. Was in Mt. Vernon for the weekend, so I though we would give it a try. We ordered the Rib-eye special and there was nothing special about it. Everything was good except for the steak. It was so tough you could not eat it. It was very disappointing since they use to be known for their great steaks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankford, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I lived in mount Vernon for 30 yrs and have recently moved to MO, I will be passing thru MTV Ina few days and pln on stopping in the Sliver Streak for a chicken salad sandwich it's the best I ever had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue6005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bud, Illinois
Level Contributor
258 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great Little Find!”
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

I eat here often. I have never had anything bad. The fried chicken, cod, chicken salad sandwich, homemade chips are all great. I could go on, but would be naming most of the menu. Not a fancy place, but good food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siwasher1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average diner food”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Small roadside diner in a depressed area of town. We drove 4 miles from Rte 57 to experience the Silver Streak for lunch given the great reviews here. We were a bit disappointed. Though the food is not the worst we've ever had, it's not great. The seafood is heated up frozen from a box/bag, the ribs were overcooked with sauce. The green beans were pale and flavorless. The iced tea is instant. Maybe this is good food for the area but I wouldn't visit again. Sorry Silver Streak.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFranklinFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Streak Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Silver Streak Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing