We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“that hillbilly with bad review”

Bugsy's Chicago Dogs
Ranked #19 of 72 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Reviewed 9 January 2013

great food great service,loved these people that jerk who gave bad review i think john h i know him he eats possum skata and barks at the moon hes my neighbor beware of hillbillys with opinions there like a hole eveyone has one i have some road killl for you johnny

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malaka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Y, Owner at Bugsy's Chicago Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

All of us @ Bugsys would like to "thank you" for your passionate review of our menu items. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great "thumbs up"!! Please stop in again when you are in the So. Illinois area!

Ya Sou!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2012

The best place in southern Illinois to get a little taste of Chicago. Never had a problem with the food. They do a great job.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edmtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Y, Owner at Bugsy's Chicago Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. I am happy you liked our food and hope that you will stop back in sometime. We take pride especially in our Greek items as they came from my husband's grandmother's long line of great Greek recipes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

friendly staff, several big screens to watch while I did lunch, great food must try the bbq and all the greek food. and the fries are awesome

Thank stlcardinalfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Y, Owner at Bugsy's Chicago Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Bugsy's would like to "thank you" for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your positive response to your experience with us. I do hope you will continue to stop in when you are in the Mt. Vernon area!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Was apprehensive at first to try them as we don't normally patronize fast food type restaurants due to the characteristic unhealthy, low quality (yet pricy) offerings, but when a friend of ours with strict dietary standards introduced us to their authentic Greek Vegetarian entrees they create every Friday night, and we met the super friendly and accommodating owners, we were hooked!
Bugsy's is run by a couple of Native Chicagoans with attitudes and personalities that shatter the stereotype of your usual "Big City types." Their hearts are deeply rooted in the handling of their business and it shows with not only the quality of all their menu items but also with the way they treat their customers. We are and will remain happy and totally satisfied customers and friends with the comforting knowledge any issue, should it arise, would be promptly and courteously rectified...Never thought I'd ever feel this way about a Hot Dog Stand!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank einzigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Y, Owner at Bugsy's Chicago Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

"THANK YOU SO MUCH" for the wonderful review you took the time to leave for us! We look forward to Fridays just because you and your lovely wife spend part of the evening with us. Always time for a few laughs...
We appreciate your patronage of our little place every Friday.
:o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The hotdogs arrived with all of the flavor boiled out of them, the beef had been microwaved, and the bread for the beef was a previously frozen, dried out and stale lump. We couldn't believe how less-than-mediocre this place was on our first visit, so like fools, we tried it a second time. Although it wasn't *more-terrible* than the first time, it was every bit as bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RichH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Y, Owner at Bugsy's Chicago Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

So sorry your experience with us was not better. I would like to point out that we do not boil our hot dogs or microwave our Italian Beef. They are kept on a steam table like "real" Chicago style food is typically kept. Our Gonnella rolls are shipped down from Chicago and are frozen up there. It is necessary to do this as we cannot get the right rolls down here. Almost all our foods are shipped from Chicago. Many of our menu items are homemade. We have owned hot dog stands in the city of Chicago and are not from Mt. Vernon, so we do serve the real thing. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bugsy's Chicago Dogs also viewed

 
Mount Vernon, IL
 

Been to Bugsy's Chicago Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing