We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charged much too much for this room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Mt Vernon
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The room was below standards for just about anyone. The exterior of the hotel was considerably rundown. Our room was dingy with worn bedding and the bedspreads should never have been put on the beds in the first place. The hanging shelving unit was placed in a precarious area near the sink and I hit it several times. Not enough shelf space to hang anything or storage to keep anything off floors. Towels were worn a s well. I won't be staying here again. In fact I'd rather sleep in my car than in this hotel again.Stains on ceiling, bed skirt, floor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Deliastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed here on a cross country journey from NC to WA. I admit I was a little tricked by the name when I drove up. I thought I was staying at America's Best Value Inn, but noticed the name was different when I pulled into the parking lot. It was late, and we were tired. So, we just went with it. We paid $72 for two people, and that was with the AARP/Senior discount. This is a very high rate for the area. Typically, you expect to pay $50ish in the area.

The staff wasn't exactly welcoming, but just doing their job. We were told there was a hot breakfast for the morning. We got to the room, which was dark and old school. It wasn't exactly dirty, but showed wear. My blanket had a giant hole in the bottom of it. There has been an attempt to update, but sadly it was just hot and dark inside.

The room was extremely hot when we entered, but after a 30min with the door open, and then later the A/C on it got to a comfortable temperature. It had been over 100degrees that day.

There were hot items in the breakfast, but nothing that looked like I would eat it. We just left, and went on our way.

Overall, A place I wouldn't stay at again given the competition in the area. It was a little overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahuku x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We read the reviews which did not portray reality. It was ok, clean, very small dark room.Did not try breakfast. Expensive for the quality.Would not stay again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Gary-Cherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were passing through on our way to TN for a family vacation. I was really excited, I read the reviews and went to expida.com booked the room. Got a GREAT rate of $53.00 says it has a hot breakfast and the rooms are clean.
The hotel lost our reservation, told me they didnt' have it. I said I'll go online and show them the confirmation email from expedia and they magically found the reservation. They said some times it takes hours to get it. I booked the reservation over 24 hours prior.
The room was clean, but the breakfast was horrible. The HOT breakfast was really bad, the eggs were not eatable, the sausage was GRAY! and the gravy was water with white clumps. The cereal was stale and the fruit was canned fruti contail. I was really dissappointed and won't be staying at this hotel EVER again. The food was bad (and i am big on breakfast) and the service was rude.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cilicia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I came to mt vernon just passing thru on business and was checking rates when i came across americas best inn...the front desk clerk informed me of the rates and specials they had to offer...i was pleasantly satisfied with the whole experience...the staff was excellent...rooms were very clean and modern....and the hotel was maintained beyond my expectations...the breakfast was excellent....thank you

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Free hot breakfast not so good, hard biscuits, lukewarm gravy, is that an egg??? U get the idea. Cleanliness, eh, so so. Cheap & it shows!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristyjojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed here after a long day's drive. Checked in at 11:00 pm with no trouble. Front desk help was real nice. Room was small but very clean. Had a nice LCD television with good reception. Bathroom had been re-done and was well maintained. Enjoyed the hot breakfast in the morning. Not an I-HOP experience, but better than a lot of complimentary breakfasts I've experienced. Basically, a good clean place to stay for a night without breaking the budget. Wouldn't stay here for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 148Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
Motel 6 Mount Vernon
#9 of 14 in Mount Vernon
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mount Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Mt Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Mt Vernon

Address: 222 S 44th St, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6727
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range: £45 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Mt Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Mt Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Best Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing