We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food and people”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #4 of 66 Restaurants in Mount Vernon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great food and people”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

the people here are real nice. they try to be help full with each other. so no customer goes un helped

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    45
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food was not great.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Always like to look at the items in store. Have had good experience at other Cracker Barrels. Food (fish dinner) was just average with little flavor. We did not have to wait to be seated.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We ate here for our 14th Anniversary. It was a very very busy night but our server was AMAZING! Our drink glasses were never empty and we never had an empty plate left on our table. The food was hot and served super fast!
This Cracker Barrel is close to our house and we have eaten here many times, our experience is always outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mellykn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“everything you expect from Cracker Barrel”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The food was good, as always. This Cracker Barrel had the best service of any we have been to. Our server was prompt in taking our drink order and bringing our drinks. But in the short time he was gone two other servers had asked if anyone had taken our drink order.

We also heard several servers tell various tables "I'll be one of your servers today". It's nice to know that the restaurant is more concerned with serving their guests properly than worrying about who gets a table (ie tip)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Okie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have dined at 3 cracker barrels recently and they seem to be going downhill. Our latest visit to the Mt. Vernon location was a big disappointment. We ordered a vegetable plate and the roast beef dinner. The vegetable plate was ok but the roast beef was not good. The portion was small and the beef was not tender or flavorful. Also the beef had very gravy on it. The small serving of mashed potatoes were hard, the worst I've had, and also had very little gravy maybe they were running low. Our server was awful and acted like he wanted to be somewhere else. We didn't leave a tip and will not be dining at any cracker barrels in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank offandupout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing