We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, basic hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Mount Vernon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here overnight on a swim meet weekend in September 2013. The room was spacious, clean, and as described. The hotel appears to be well maintained and still pretty new. The pool was good. We were on the first floor and heard a bit more noise from doors and other guests that I would have liked, but not much more than "average" for other hotels. The included breakfast is quite basic and the coffee was really bad, so bring some Starbucks VIA. We do plan to stay here again and have reservations for next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
To our Valued guest:

Thank you for taking your valuable time to let us know about your hotel experience. We thank you for your kind words and I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. We do hope to see you again and please tell others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    91
    24
    4
    8
See reviews for
132
89
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after a long day's drive. The hotel was easy to find, and the lot is spacious. The lobby seemed particularly large and well lit, with two friendly and helpful staffers at the front desk. Checkin was a breeze. The room was spacious and clean, with comfortable beds and pillows. Plenty of power outlets and USB charging ports for all the electronics, which is great. The window mounted heater was reasonably quiet and very effective. Bathroom was also fine, except for the shower head which flopped helplessly down, delivering a stream of water right into the tub drain. By the time we discovered this, we had already settled into the room and had no interest in moving, though the front desk did offer to do so. So, we made do with the crappy shower and enjoyed sleeping in the clean comfy beds. I guess from now on I should really check that shower to be sure it's working before I settle into a room!

The only real downer was that when I went down to the indoor pool to take a dip in the hot tub was a moron hanging out there with his phone and a cigarette. He had clearly been there for some time, as the whole place was hazy and stank of smoke. I left in disgust. They need to do a better job keeping the rednecks and hillbillies from smoking in the enclosed pool where doing so would clearly ruin the place for other guests.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BarkaLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
To our Valued guest:

We thank you for taking your valuable time to let us know about your hotel experience. I am happy to hear that you were pleased with our friendliness, location and cleanliness. I sincerely apologize about the busted showerhead that has since been promptly replaced. I apologize about the inconsiderate guest in the pool area. I have informed my staff to make frequent rounds to the pool area to help limit this situation from reoccurring. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

First - - the hotel..... Very clean. Very convenient. Very comfortable. Very Friendly.

Secondly - - the staff and their honesty. I accidentally left my diamond solitaire wedding band in the room after checking out. Several hours later and miles away, I realized I had forgotten my ring. I immediately called & was reassured by the front desk that my ring had been found by housekeeping and turned in for safe keeping. After being able to identify my ring to the General Manager, he went above & beyond to have my ring shipped back to me.

I am happy to say that my ring is back with me and even happier to recommend this hotel based on our stay and the AWESOME staff. Thank you to everyone at Comfort Suites, Mount Vernon, IL.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
To our valued guest TB:

I want to personally thank you for taking your valuable time to let me know about your hotel experience. I am very happy you found the hotel clean and comfortable. I am very proud to say we have honest people and very happy we were able to return your ring. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a pleasant place to stop over. Front desk was so helpful and kind. Room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was over the top nice. The breakfast hostess went well beyond the call of duty making sure everyone was happy and everything was fresh. To bad we didn't get a chance to use the pool etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmergidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
To our valued guest Famergidget :

I want to thank you for taking your valuable time to let us know about your hotel experience. I am very happy to hear that the front desk was helpful, the room was spotless and the breakfast food and service were top notch. We strive to exceed your expectations.Thank you for your business. We do hope to see you again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Trying to find a hotel that welcomes large dogs is difficult - trying to find one that welcomes TWO large dogs is really difficult. Trying to find a clean, nice-smelling, comfortable place that takes two large dogs is right near impossible. This place was wonderful. The rooms were clean, quiet, and large enough that my sister, my great pyr, my boxer and I all slept soundly and peacefully and will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavancil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
To our valued guest:

We are very pleased to offer pet friendly accomodations. Thank you for taking your valuable time to let us know about your hotel experience. Thank you for sharing the picture as it is priceless. We are proud of the fact " The big Dog(s) are in the house". We do hope to see you again and please tell others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
desoto, mo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very good experience, clean room, very comfortable bed. The 2 times I got to go to the pool I had it all to my self, only wish the water temperature was warmer. Another plus is the pool & hot tub area is open 24 hours. We will stay there again if ever in the area. The staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
To our valued guest Sharon d

I want to thank you for taking your valuable time to let me know about your hotel experience. I am pleased to hear you appreciated our friendliness and cleanliness. We do provide a 24 hour indoor pool and hot tub and we are glad you were able to take advantage of this. Thank you for letting me know the pool temperature was not warm enough. I did personally investigate this and we found out a fan failure was not letting the pool heater work properly. The fan has been replaced and thus the proper pool temperature is now being maintained. Thank you for letting me know. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The room’s bed and bath were clean and comfortable. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi were good as were the Internet and tv.

There was no chair by our room’s desk, something that should have been realized by housekeeping but comments by people working the front desk seemed to indicate that it had not been. However, a chair was brought in promptly.

We had difficulty getting from the King bed area to bathroom when sofa bed was in use -- not enough room for walking when it was opened. Although this room was billed as a King suite, there was no wall separating the bedroom from the living area. just a partial partition.

The person helping with breakfast was friendly and helpful, but the breakfast did not come up to the standards of some other motels we have used. Both the cheese and the egg of the “omelets” seemed manufactured and there were no toppings to help the taste or texture. I usually like biscuits with gravy, but this was sub par. There were no toppings we could use for hot cereal or waffles.

After getting home, we noticed we had been charged a safe fee, though we had not requested use of a safe an had not used it. We called and were told that this was an automatic charge. We asked to have it removed but were not given assurance that would be possible. Warning!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExDiplomat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtvernongm, General Manager at Comfort Suites Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
To our valued guest Ex Diplomat2000:

I want to thank you for taking your valuable time to let me know about your hotel experience. I am pleased to hear you appreciated the cleanliness and friendliness . I will pass your comments on to the owner in reference to lack of space when the sofa sleeper is in use. We always look to upgrade our breakfast and welcome all recommendations. Thank you once again for sharing your experience. If I can be of assistance please contact me personally. (618) 244-2700.

Sincerely,
Kerry Dodson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
#7 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Mount Vernon

Property: Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Address: 404 South 44th Street, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Mount Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Suites Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing