We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff; uncomfortable beds!q”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
chamblee, GA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly staff; uncomfortable beds!q”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Everything was above average except the beds. The mattress was either old or just not comfortable. The sheets were wrinkled and thin but towels were very new and soft.

If you are just passing through and need a clean ,quiet room this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thalialou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear thalialou,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We apologize you were not satisfied with the bed you had during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    68
    72
    50
    22
See reviews for
82
63
18
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I attended a three day conference at this facility. My room was spotless when I checked in. Check in was fast and courteous. The facility is very attractive as you enter with large comfortable chairs and couches grouped for intimate visiting and mini-meetings. The free Wi-Fi was a big plus and was easy to access and use. My favorite thing was the pool. Opens early enough to take a swim before sitting through business meetings and late enough for another dip before bed if desired. The complimentary breakfast was tasty (although the same every morning) with enough variety to not have to eat the same thing every morning. The area for eating was large and clean and well stocked. There is ample parking and a room just off the main entrance with an abundance of nice new bellman carts for guest use when arriving or departing. During an afternoon meeting in the large conference room, I stepped out to take some medicine and when I asked for change at the front desk to buy a bottle of water from the vending machine, the desk clerk gave me a bottle of cold water from their refrigerator behind the desk. The servers at our luncheons and dinners were very nice, efficient, and helpful. The food was as good as large business meeting food can get (same salad, etc, but different main course and sides each meal). The best thing was the wonderful yeasty rolls they serve with every meal. Housekeeping seems to pay attention to detail when cleaning. Nothing was out of place or in need of replenishment when they left. All in all a great time. I would stay here again any time I am in that area.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for an inside room on the second or third floor. There are balconies or at least wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senior_student_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, Ecuador
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I just was connected to the internet through your (Holiday Inn, Mount Vernon) service (I am a current guest) and chuckled at the spade of poor reviews on your own site. I was just in the restaurant tonight and another woman started a conversation about how poor the service is here, and how dated the hotel appears. Another gentleman jumped in the conversation saying that the restaurant staff were in a tizzy trying to serve the few tables that were present and how he was taking his group of 10 guests across the street to Buffalo Wild Wings instead of eating as planned at the hotel. This isn't a bandaid fix, or a lecture or correction to a particular staff member. This clearly is a reflection on the management team who permits an on-going lackluster commitment to customer service and an acceptance of mediocracy.

Room Tip: Asked three time to be assured I would get a non-smoking room.........you guessed it. Room was satu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear megoreilly,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and concerns We are happy you like our location. Please accept our apologies for your less than satisfactory stay and apologize that our hotel fell below your expectations. Rest assured that these concerns will be looked into. We greatly appreciate your opinion and suggestions. We do hope when business or pleasure brings you back to the area, you will allow us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Vernon hotels

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

First time stay here. Staff was very friendly. Easy check in/out. Sports bar restaurant. Ok food, good service. Room was fine with great bed linens and a king size bed. Ladies-bring hair conditioner and shower cap. The rest is provided. While a bit tired, they are upgrading (linens, extended shower curtain, free wifi). I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Semomu,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We travel frequently with our dog. It's not that easy finding a hotel that provides rooms that look and smell clean when you travel with your dog. That is what we want and that is what we found at the Mt Vernon Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Room 507 had a bit of a shower drain problem. We reported it. Hopefully it is fixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Al.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stopped here while on a road trip & within an hour of checking in, had injured myself on a 6 inch piece of metal protruding off the bed frame & hidden by the bedskirt. The front desk kindly offered to take $5 off my bill for the. She seemed indifferent to say the least. On my return home I contacted the hotel manager & explained what happened, sent pictures of the bed and injury, and he kindly sent a certificate for a free night stay which I may or may not use. From one who travels a great deal, this is how customer service should be handled!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear alakatski,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I regret that the room accommodations you were given were a disappointment. Despite this, it is good to know that our Manager followed up with you regarding this situation. We will certainly use your comments for improvements needed.

We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.


Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The room was good, some trash left over in the drawers, minor oversight. But, the front desk attendant was absolutely rude, and felt the need to lie to me about the reservation. She made comments as i was leaving to the room which were directed at me; I was too tired to acknowledge them.
I was never greeted to the hotel, nor even greeted as a platinum member. While i never said anything, in my mind I guess the front desk help is tough to get in this area. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moto66514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Mount Vernon, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear moto66514,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the majority of features provided. However, I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
#2 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Mount Vernon

Property: Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Address: 222 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Mount Vernon 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon, Illinois. Our hotel is conveniently located at the intersection of Interstates 64 and 57. At the Holiday Inn Mt. Vernon you may choose from 223 beautiful guest rooms and handsomely appointed suites which all have free high-speed wireless Internet access. Contact our sales department to coordinate all your meeting or banquet needs. Get your day started with breakfast where Kids Eat Free in Mr. F s Atrium Café located in our luxurious 3-story sky lit atrium. After breakfast take a dip in our indoor, heated swimming pool or lounge in our Jacuzzi, and in the summer months, on our sundeck. Stay connected with our business center which includes PCs, printer, and copier. Continue your exercise regimen while you stay at our hotel in our fitness room. Pets are allowed with a fee in designated pet rooms only.You can enjoy shopping within walking distance of our hotel at Rend Lake Marketplace or watch a movie at Showplace 8. Order room service or dine in at Krieger s Sports Grill. Relax, it s Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing