We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Screwed by weather and Hotwire, this place made good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Certificate of Excellence
Las Cruces, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Screwed by weather and Hotwire, this place made good”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was an amazing experience, stuck in town during a downpour, we got a horrible hotel room from Hotwire, canceled it and prepared to leave town. A Hotwire clerk got us credit and a room in town, but pulled it from a hotel that had no vacancies. Luckily a last minute cancellation left the hotel with a spare room, and for over an hour the two women behind the counter worked to get us a place to spend the night. Those two women worked tirelessly, even calling their supervisor to try to get everything straightened out. I can't recommend this hotel enough. Great gym too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusDing0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis_bruce, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us at the Hampton Inn - Mt. Vernon, IL. I am sorry to hear about all the confusion with your previous reservation, but happy that we were able to assist you and make your stay a great one. Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding my staff and I will be sure to acknowledge them for their great efforts to assist. We hope to see you again in the near future. Hampton Inn -Mt. Vernon, IL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    140
    65
    30
    9
See reviews for
172
140
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
393 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is convenient to the highway. We were able to park our van and trailer out of the way which was nice, but still be in a lighted area! We checked in very late and were given a comfortable room. We found the room clean and the beds comfortable, which was important after driving all day! We had breakfast in the breakfast room. It was well laid out and seemed well supplied. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirlslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis_bruce, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn - Mt. Vernon, IL. I am glad we were able to satisfy your parking needs and your room was clean and comfortable. We are happy you had a good stay with us and hope you visit us again in the future. Hampton Inn - Mt. Vernon, IL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We needed a place to crash for the night. Price was a bit high for our short length of stay. We did enjoy the hot tub and the breakfast choices were excellent. The room was very clean, although I would have preferred queen beds instead of full.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank C4M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phyllis_bruce, General Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Hampton Inn - Mt. Vernon, IL. I am very glad you enjoyed the hot tub and our complimentary hot breakfast. Although our beds were doubles instead of queen, I do hope the rest of your stay was satisfactory. Thank you again, for staying with us at the Hampton Inn - Mt.Vernon, IL and we hope you visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great experience. We especially enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with so many different choices. Food was outstanding. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great location, variety of restaurants, and fast food chains nearby some within walking distance. Will meet your expectations of a Hampton property. Reserve early as this location is the last one before East St Louis if headed that way and fills up quickly. Have had to drive the extra 1.5 hours into St Louis in the past because this location was fully booked! My Preferred stop on the way to Iowa from Atlanta.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank haboo1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Clean and pretty. Good service. Went out of their way to help us. Pool area and spa ere clean. Plenty of towels. Would stay here again. Convenient to highway. Lovely town. Went to recommended 9th st Grill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austinsun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonaire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great room and pool for the kids. Really appreciated the complimentary adult beverages that evening after being in the car for 9 hours with 2 little boys!!!! The breakfast was really good in the morning and had some items on it that you don't normally see on a free breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Vernon hotels
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
Drury Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon
#1 of 14 in Mount Vernon
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
Comfort Suites Mount Vernon
#3 of 14 in Mount Vernon
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mount Vernon Rend Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Mount Vernon
Days Inn Mount Vernon
#6 of 14 in Mount Vernon
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
#5 of 14 in Mount Vernon
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
#8 of 14 in Mount Vernon
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Property: Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
Address: 221 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864-6721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, IL hotel is located just 15 minutes from the Mount Vernon Airport, surrounded by beautiful scenery and delectable restaurants. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Mount Vernon
Hampton Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing