We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Marriott Naperville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chicago Marriott Naperville
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Naperville
Certificate of Excellence
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very quiet, very clean, very well maintained, comfortable beds, helpful and enjoyable staff. The rooms are slightly small but it didn't really matter. Very convienient to visiting Naperville. You are close to tons of places to eat. This is a feel good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReluctantTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your comments on your experience with our entire service team. Although the rooms may have been smaller to you I happy you still enjoyed the comforts the room had to offer.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    152
    40
    19
    14
See reviews for
83
63
13
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I had to stay at this hotel for a business meeting and let me tell you the staff at this hotel is fantastic. The food is great, the room was clean and great location. Room service guy used my name and was polite. You get a great feeling when you stay at this hotel. I would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ekalashian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your positive comments on your experience with our entire service team. We take great pride in the service we provide to our guest and I am happy it showed during your stay. It looks like you were able to try some of our amenities at the hotel and I’m happy you enjoyed the service you received.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I actually used a Marriott reward certificate to stay here. Surprisingly it is only a Category IV hotel in the Marriott world but it is a much better hotel than the Category would suggest.
The hotel looked as though it had been recently renovated. It had a nice buzz going on in the lobby with lots of activity in a very large space.
Room service food was great and service was quick.
Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10izboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your comments on your experience with our entire service team. I happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and enjoyed the features of the renovation. I have also passed along your comments to our Food and Beverage team.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We checked into the Marriott and had requested 2 rooms with Queens in both. They were ready before check in and the front desk was friendly. We were pleased with the rooms clean and the beds were comfy. They were a little small and it would be nice to have a fridge and a window to open for fresh air. The second of the 2 rooms had a problem with the air and the hotel sent up someone to check it out, they moved our room since the air was broke and floor was wet. It caused no problem and they addressed the issue right away. I did request extra pillows and no one ever showed up with the a little lack of communication. We ordered a drink in the bar and it was good but expensive, and also ordered a snack which was good and within reason price wise. We ordered room service and the food was good but I felt I needed to tip although it was added into the bill. Breakfast was big and hot when it arrived. The hotel staff did a nice job overall and I would stay again, we enjoyed sitting outside at the pool in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucymoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your comments on your experience with our entire service team. I am happy that you enjoyed the room and the amenities it had to offer. I also want to apologize for the problem with one of the ac’s in the rooms not working properly. Although it isn’t what you want to do I’m glad they were able to accommodate you to another room. I have also passed along your Food and Beverage comments to the Food and Beverage Manager for review.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The staff at this hotel were wonderful and attentive. Always ready to service our requests and with a great attitude. Rooms were very nice and the bedding excellent. You can be assured that this hotels management believes in giving their quests a superior experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebee1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your positive comments on your experience with our entire service team. I am happy to hear that our staff provided excellent service to you during your stay. We have taken great pride in the renovation of the rooms and I’m happy you were able to enjoy it.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

First of all, I need to explain a “lockout.” When I check into a hotel it is normally for 30 days or more. There are times when a hotel has sufficient vacancy to allow me a “lockout.” In a “lockout,” I agree not to stay in the room for a certain number of nights, and the hotel agrees not to charge me for those nights. I do it when go someplace else on a weekend. The “lockout” means I don’t have to pack up my room and leave it in the hotel’s luggage room. The benefit for the hotel is they don’t have to have housekeeping clean the room every day, and they gain the good will of the hotel guest.

I asked the Marriott for a lockout for Labor Day weekend, and Marriott agreed the Wednesday before that weekend.

At 9PM on Thursday night (yes, the night before the lockout was to commence), I was called by Brittany (Front Desk Supervisor) and told that they would charge me $30.00 per night for a total of $90.00 in order to make use of the lockout. She told me she had just been made aware of the charge, and that she didn’t even know about the charge before that day.

She told me the Manager, Jonathan Earlywine, had made all the decisions, all poor in my opinion. The following references to Mr. Earlywine’s decisions were those that were conveyed to me through Brittany. Mr. Earlywine never had the courtesy to talk to me directly.

I had spent 39 nights at this Marriott, and was scheduled for another 18 nights. At $92 per night, I had already spent $3,588.00 at the Marriott, and was scheduled to spend another $1,656.00.

Mr. Earlywine held to his requirement of $30 per night for the lockout. For the “misunderstanding” he offered me 20,000 points which, I was told, equaled one night’s stay at the Marriott. I considered that an insult. I’m paying $92 per night, which means his 20,000 points is worth $92. If I pay the $90 for the lockout, that’s only $2 in my pocket.

I pointed out I was a Platinum Club member with Marriott. Mr. Earlywine’s response was that he “had a lot of Platinum Club members,” thereby denigrating the loyalty of all members.

At that point I had to pack in order to vacate the next morning since it was apparent that Marriott & Mr. Earlywine weren’t amenable to any solution. I made a reservation for those 18 nights in a Hilton property and I’m typing this complaint from the Hilton property.

I felt that this was bait and switch. Agree to a lockout, and at the last minute notify me there is a fee. And it’s not just a token fee. It’s 1/3 of my daily rate. And the fee is hidden. It is not published anywhere. Even the Front Desk Supervisor wasn’t aware of the fee.

For a corporation that is in the hospitality business, they sure were inhospitable.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger, but you probably need to bribe one of the managers to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your comments on your experience with our entire service team. I want to first say how we value your rewards status with Marriott hotels. We take great pride in providing the highest quality of service to our guest and I’m sorry it didn’t show during your stay. Again we are truly sorry for the situation that you were put in during you stay with us.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and would look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is pretty standard midwest Marriott, with decent rooms and a compact lobby with fancy tile work to make it look elegant. The staff is friendly and efficient but the place feels a little bit too much like a Courtyard by Marriott. It is on the small size and is in a far flung suburban location so perhaps it cannot justify anything better. Still, it is clean and has what you need for business. Plenty of parking.

The only complaint I have is that, for those who try to eat healthy, there are no good breakfast options. If you like scrambled eggs and sausages, you will be fine. Otherwise, they will try to offer you watermelon and toasted frozen bagels for breakfast so you may want to bring something if you are health conscious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathon E, Front Office Manager at Chicago Marriott Naperville, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I have also shared your comments on your experience with our entire service team. I have shared your suggestion with our Food and Beverage on healthier options in our dinning outlets.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel and look forward to your next visit at our hotel.
Jonathon Earlywine
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Naperville hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago-Naperville
4.2 mi away
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Naperville
Courtyard Chicago Naperville
#9 of 18 in Naperville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Naperville
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Naperville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chicago Marriott Naperville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chicago Marriott Naperville

Property: Chicago Marriott Naperville
Address: 1801 N Naper Blvd, Naperville, IL 60563-1554 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Chicago Naperville)
Region: United States > Illinois > Naperville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Naperville
#5 Family Hotel in Naperville
#7 Business Hotel in Naperville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chicago Marriott Naperville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very excited to announce big changes for our cornerstone hotel in Naperville, Illinois. In early March 2012 this hotel will re-open as the Marriott-Chicago/Naperville, the Premier hotel in the Western Suburbs. In addition with the re-flagging of our hotel, a 30-million dollar complete renovation will take place putting this hotel at the top of any meeting planners list. The Marriott Chicago/Naperville will boast over 26,000 square feet of flexible convention space and 426 uniquely appointed guest rooms. This hotel and staff will create a new expectation and definition of what hospitality and luxury should be for your guests. The Marriott-Chicago/Naperville is conveniently located just 25 miles West of Downtown Chicago. We are directly off of Reagan Memorial (I-88) exiting South on Naperville Boulevard. The hotel is quickly accessible from both O’Hare and Midway Airports, downtown Chicago, the northwest suburbs, and central Illinois via I-294, I-355, and I-55 makes us a popular choice of meeting planners and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Chicago Marriott Naperville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Chicago/Naperville Hotel Naperville
Holiday Inn Naperville
Naperville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing