We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best way to do Nauvoo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodruff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodruff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Certificate of Excellence
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
“Best way to do Nauvoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The first time I visited Nauvoo, my family stayed at a large-chain hotel in Keokuk because we didn't know any better. My wife and I stayed in the honeymoon suite when we were married a year ago (and my family stayed in one of the larger suites), and just spent our first anniversary there as well. We absolute love it and have decided that we're going to try to make it an annual tradition. We love the history, the artwork, the staff that treats you like old friends, and just about everything else. The suites for larger groups are also a great value - 1000x better than booking multiple rooms at some chain.

Room Tip: Book temple views early - they're awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KentD3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    14
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
62
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We loved our stay in Nauvoo at this amazing hotel. The history and the historicity of every hallway, every suite, every single space has not been lost on us. There are actual antique works of art on the walls of this remarkable hotel. We have stayed in some nice hotels over the years and this one is among the best we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Get the multi bedroom suite - its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolHilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

What we loved most about this hotel was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Even in the restaurant they were able to answer questions about the hotel or Nauvoo or building history. It was really cool to see how aware everyone was about where they worked.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crepeman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

From past experience, it is hard to find a place to stay that is close-by to Nauvoo. We wanted to give our 2 pre-teen sons the complete "Nauvoo Town" experience during the pageant. I called less than a month before the pageant and were able to find accomodations for 3 consecutive nights, but had to stay in a different room each night - which was fine with us. I was just thrilled to get rooms on such short notice. Each room had a different flavor, but loved the character of the renovated historic building & that the rooms had A/C, a mini-fridge, and access to a microwave in the lower foyer for guests use. And the stairs were good exercise up to the 2nd & 3rd floors, since there is no elevator in the old Woodruff Building. The manager of the hotel was great - she seems to do it all. She was fabulous at working with us as we switched rooms each day, around room cleanings and guest check-outs. It is in the heart of everything - the Temple, Zions Merchantile, Latter-day Harvest store, a Family Restaurant, Ice Cream/Custard & Fudge shop, the Nauvoo Art Gallery (my favorite), bike rental, and the pageant site down the street. We had a fabulous time & plan to stay there when we go again.

Room Tip: If you want an option of brand new rooms with wheelchair access or elevator access/no stairs - stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Platte, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is a beautiful place to stay. Their suites are nice and the beds are very soft. Slept like a log. Their lobby has an art gallery and amazing gify shop. They have a restaurant on the main floor too. We can deffinatley reccommend this place as a good place. You will be glad you stayed here if you do.

Room Tip: I didn't know they had a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divingdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I got away to Nauvoo, Illinois for a short weekend trip. The Woodruff Hotel was beyond any expectation we had. It was lovely and well furnished. We had plenty of room in our suite. The room is decorated in a historic art and decor which made the whole stay so enchanting. We woke each morning to ring of the Temple bell tower. It was a weekend we will not soon forget. The Woodruff is a very good choice if you're heading to Nauvoo

Room Tip: Get the balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindon, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We really liked staying at the Woodruff Hotel. It is such a great historical piece of Nauvoo.This hotel was a very nice place to stay. It is clean, comfortable, and very centrally located, easy access to all the activities in Nauvoo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
5.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
9.5 mi away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#4 of 6 in Keokuk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodruff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff Hotel

Property: The Woodruff Hotel
Address: 1200 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodruff Hotel is located right across the street from the Nauvoo Temple. We offer beautiful hotel rooms with walk-out balconies overlooking the Nauvoo Temple. Walk to the Nauvoo pageant and the historic sites. The Woodruff Hotel was VOTED BEST HOTEL in Nauvoo by LDS Living magazine and BEST OF the MIDWEST in midwest living magazine. NOTE: We are not a B&B When choosing among hotels in Nauvoo please consider staying at the Woodruff Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing