We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun historical hotel!”
Review of The Woodruff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodruff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Awesome hotel! We are a family of seven, and we had plenty of room! The location is perfect and the little store was so fun! The owner was very nice and helpful as well! Will definitely stay here again when we come back to Nauvoo!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kamoanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel was just what we needed when we stayed in Nauvoo. Next to the Nauvoo Temple and all the other places we liked in Nauvoo. We live in Illinois and go to Nauvoo a couple times a year. It has always been a given that there was no great hotels. The Woodruff Hotel is exactly what the whole city of Nauvoo has needed. Great Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grassleyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Loved the whole feel, cozy, quaint, nostalgic, but with the most comfortable beds that smelled so clean and fresh, I could have spent an entire day just enjoying the room, beautifully decorated, well kept, spacious, and relaxing. It just has a spirit of love and care that flows through the halls, so enjoyable! Couldn't find a better place within 100 miles or more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leif T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The first time I visited Nauvoo, my family stayed at a large-chain hotel in Keokuk because we didn't know any better. My wife and I stayed in the honeymoon suite when we were married a year ago (and my family stayed in one of the larger suites), and just spent our first anniversary there as well. We absolute love it and have decided that we're going to try to make it an annual tradition. We love the history, the artwork, the staff that treats you like old friends, and just about everything else. The suites for larger groups are also a great value - 1000x better than booking multiple rooms at some chain.

Room Tip: Book temple views early - they're awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KentD3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We loved our stay in Nauvoo at this amazing hotel. The history and the historicity of every hallway, every suite, every single space has not been lost on us. There are actual antique works of art on the walls of this remarkable hotel. We have stayed in some nice hotels over the years and this one is among the best we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Get the multi bedroom suite - its worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolHilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

What we loved most about this hotel was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Even in the restaurant they were able to answer questions about the hotel or Nauvoo or building history. It was really cool to see how aware everyone was about where they worked.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crepeman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From past experience, it is hard to find a place to stay that is close-by to Nauvoo. We wanted to give our 2 pre-teen sons the complete "Nauvoo Town" experience during the pageant. I called less than a month before the pageant and were able to find accomodations for 3 consecutive nights, but had to stay in a different room each night - which was fine with us. I was just thrilled to get rooms on such short notice. Each room had a different flavor, but loved the character of the renovated historic building & that the rooms had A/C, a mini-fridge, and access to a microwave in the lower foyer for guests use. And the stairs were good exercise up to the 2nd & 3rd floors, since there is no elevator in the old Woodruff Building. The manager of the hotel was great - she seems to do it all. She was fabulous at working with us as we switched rooms each day, around room cleanings and guest check-outs. It is in the heart of everything - the Temple, Zions Merchantile, Latter-day Harvest store, a Family Restaurant, Ice Cream/Custard & Fudge shop, the Nauvoo Art Gallery (my favorite), bike rental, and the pageant site down the street. We had a fabulous time & plan to stay there when we go again.

Room Tip: If you want an option of brand new rooms with wheelchair access or elevator access/no stairs - stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
5.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Keokuk
4 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
84 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodruff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff Hotel

Address: 1200 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Price Range: £83 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodruff Hotel is located right across the street from the Nauvoo Temple. We offer beautiful hotel rooms with walk-out balconies overlooking the Nauvoo Temple. Walk to the Nauvoo pageant and the historic sites. The Woodruff Hotel was VOTED BEST HOTEL in Nauvoo by LDS Living magazine and BEST OF the MIDWEST in midwest living magazine. NOTE: We are not a B&B When choosing among hotels in Nauvoo please consider staying at the Woodruff Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing