We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nauvoo at its finest”
Review of The Woodruff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodruff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I decided to go to Nauvoo for our sealing on June 9, 2014. We schedule and reserved a room back in April 2014. On our way to Nauvoo, we saw that we would be getting there early and it was thunder storming. We didn't have a place to go to wait until 3. The owner was kind enough to make sure our room was ready for an early arrival of 12 noon. I had also requested, if available, when we made the reservations that we have a room with the view of the Temple. We had an excellent view in room 202. Our sealing was at 9 am on the 9th and we weren't sure if we would be done in time to get our things. The owner allowed us until 1 pm to check out when normal check out is 11 am. Our stay was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The jacuzzi bath was amazing too. Especially after a long day of walking and touring.
We will definitely be back to the Woodruff Hotel when we plan on our next trip to Nauvoo. The gallery is also awesome. We bought 2 paintings and he made a special sealing gift for us. Thank you so much! If you have a chance to meet the owner he has an amazing history of Joseph Smith or anything else you would like to know about Nauvoo.
We give it 5 stars. The Byrnes

Room Tip: Room 202 has an amazing view of the temple. It is perfect to be able to park your car and not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ByrnesBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your special day. It was a delight having you stay with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you come back to Nauvoo. Thank again Very Very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The building and our room were both clean but the employees were sub par and made it difficult to give a more positive review here. Calling 30 minutes in advance to see if we could check in "early" (check in is 3:00 pm), the phone immediately went to a recorded ". . .we're busy with guests", which is understandable IF you're busy. Not so. Upon arrival (off season), two teenage employees were "busy" eating mac and cheese and checking their phones. I called the hotel while standing at the check in desk to see if anyone would answer but again, got the recorded message. We were the only two guests standing in the hotel; clearly they weren't "busy with other guests". I went to their table, inquired about checking in (it's now 3:00 pm) and was told to come back in 90 minutes as our room wasn't ready. I asked about the check in time of 3:00 and it was surprising to them both that it was 3:00. They must have been very "busy" that day. I would give our room a '3' due to the rooftop view (had requested a temple view), the missing towel rack in the bathroom, and the TV remote that didn't work. We won't be returning or recommending this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

First of all THANK YOU for your review. We have a large gift shop with a sandwich shop and those were employees of the gift shop. However that is no excuse for how we could have handled your situation. The Woodruff hotel staff works hard to help people feel comfortable and enjoy their stay in beautiful Nauvoo. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you come back to Nauvoo. So we can serve you better.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We just spent a weekend in Nauvoo and stayed here. The staff was incredibly friendly and found us accommodation without much notice. The room was pretty spacious and very nicely kept. The building are full of history. Wish they had a restaurant though. They had shut their grill down in anticipation of a move.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank TX_travelling_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We recently attended a wedding in Nauvoo, with the reception at the Woodruff Hotel. We stayed in the historic building. It was beautiful and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were all very large with mini-fridges and we even had a couch. The hotel staff was great! They were incredibly accommodating and kind. The wedding reception, in the gallery, was fabulous. They had the best cookies in the world, and the dinner buffet was delicious. The location was unbeatable - right across from the Temple up on the hill and very close to all the historic sites.

Room Tip: There are two buildings in this hotel - the historic one and a more modern one. Both have beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My family of 5 had a blast staying here. We were right next to the temple and old Nauvoo! We had great access to the fun shops as well. The hotel staff is very friendly and kind. The rooms are beautiful with comfortable beds.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Being in the military, I have traveled and stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years. This one, however, exceeded all expectations! Great service, great amenities, great views, great history, great room, and all in all the best experience! This one will be number one for sure so far in my life! I will never forget the experience!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Brit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful spacious room with a view of the Nauvoo Temple. Very reasonably priced. Excellent customer service and super friendly owners led to an overall amazing experience! Highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JennySharland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
5.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
273 reviews
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
344 reviews
8.6 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Keokuk
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Nauvoo Grand Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodruff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff Hotel

Address: 1200 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Price Range: £82 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodruff Hotel is located right across the street from the Nauvoo Temple. We offer beautiful hotel rooms with walk-out balconies overlooking the Nauvoo Temple. Walk to the Nauvoo pageant and the historic sites. The Woodruff Hotel was VOTED BEST HOTEL in Nauvoo by LDS Living magazine and BEST OF the MIDWEST in midwest living magazine. NOTE: We are not a B&B When choosing among hotels in Nauvoo please consider staying at the Woodruff Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing