We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Stop Shop for a Navuoo Wedding”
Review of The Woodruff Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Woodruff Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay in a clean comfortable room. The owner was very involved and went above and beyond to accommodate our large, crazy family. The gallery was perfect for the wedding reception. The food they catered was exceptional. Truly a great one stop shop for getting married in Nauvoo.
P.S. They make an amazing chocolate chip cookie.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Okie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

We are so happy you had your wedding here. We certainly enjoyed the fun and great atmosphere your group brought to our entire hotel. The Woodruff hotel staff works hard to help people feel comfortable and enjoy their stay in beautiful Nauvoo. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you come back to Nauvoo. Thank again Very Very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for The Woodruff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has the small town, authentic old building feel, without feeling like you're staying in an old house. We stayed in a deluxe guest room which had two queen size beds and a rollaway bed. We were on the third floor and had a little balcony with a beautiful view of the Nauvoo LDS Temple. The room was spacious and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but had everything that we needed and was clean so I wouldn't say it was an inconvenience. The room AC worked very well....a little too well for us since the room was kind of cold and we couldn't figure out how to turn it down, but would've probably appreciated that more if we were there during prime summer time.
Zion Mercantile right next door with some fun, nauvoo focused souvenirs. The check in desk is also located in there also. They woman who checked us in was so friendly and was very helpful in pointing us to some fun things to do with our family.
Overall, we would definitely stay at this hotel again. It is definitely one of the pricier hotels in the nauvoo area, but in my opinion completely worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Chaundell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellijangles, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you very much for your for complimenting our "Great View & Wonderful Location." We are so happy that you enjoyed your trip to Nauvoo and that your stayed at our hotel. We hope you'll come visit again.

Thank you again,
Woodruff Hotel Nauvoo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms our family had at this hotel were the best rooms we have ever stayed in. The hotel was historic and full of ambiance. We had a few rooms each with views of the Temple and city and large walkout balconies. What a hotel gem right in the center of Nauvoo. We would be the first to recommend this hotel and we will for sure stay again when we come.

Room Tip: The suites with the walk-out balcony are amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M K, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2014

THANK YOU for your review of our hotel. The Woodruff Hotel staff works very hard to help all our guests enjoy their stay and feel comfortable. Your description of the Woodfruff Hotel as FANTASTIC is such a nice complement and it inpires us to want to work harder still to assist our guests.

THANK YOU so much for you kind words and we hope to serve you again if when you come to Nauvoo.

Very Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel was wonderful and historic. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. We stayed here a couple years ago and this time was even better than the last. They're getting better all the time. We are so happy we stayed.

Room Tip: They gave us a room with an amazing view Room 207
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jolean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

We are THRILLED you stayed as well. Thank you so much for staying with us and letting us serve you. We hope you will come again to beautiful Nauvoo. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had an amazing time staying at this historic hotel in Nauvoo. The rooms were so comfortable and ours was huge. The Temple was right outside our window and that made for beautiful views at night. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We had the breakfast buffet and it was very good. We would recommend this hotel to anyone - and we will stay here again when we come back.

Most of their rooms have a view of the Temple and it is worth requesting one. We were so happy with our whole stay at the Woodruff Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a hotel room with a view of the Nauvoo Temple
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you LOVED our hotel. The Woodruff hotel staff works hard to help people feel comfortable and enjoy their stay in beautiful Nauvoo. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you come back to Nauvoo. Thank again Very Very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I decided to go to Nauvoo for our sealing on June 9, 2014. We schedule and reserved a room back in April 2014. On our way to Nauvoo, we saw that we would be getting there early and it was thunder storming. We didn't have a place to go to wait until 3. The owner was kind enough to make sure our room was ready for an early arrival of 12 noon. I had also requested, if available, when we made the reservations that we have a room with the view of the Temple. We had an excellent view in room 202. Our sealing was at 9 am on the 9th and we weren't sure if we would be done in time to get our things. The owner allowed us until 1 pm to check out when normal check out is 11 am. Our stay was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The jacuzzi bath was amazing too. Especially after a long day of walking and touring.
We will definitely be back to the Woodruff Hotel when we plan on our next trip to Nauvoo. The gallery is also awesome. We bought 2 paintings and he made a special sealing gift for us. Thank you so much! If you have a chance to meet the owner he has an amazing history of Joseph Smith or anything else you would like to know about Nauvoo.
We give it 5 stars. The Byrnes

Room Tip: Room 202 has an amazing view of the temple. It is perfect to be able to park your car and not have...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ByrnesBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your special day. It was a delight having you stay with us. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you come back to Nauvoo. Thank again Very Very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The building and our room were both clean but the employees were sub par and made it difficult to give a more positive review here. Calling 30 minutes in advance to see if we could check in "early" (check in is 3:00 pm), the phone immediately went to a recorded ". . .we're busy with guests", which is understandable IF you're busy. Not so. Upon arrival (off season), two teenage employees were "busy" eating mac and cheese and checking their phones. I called the hotel while standing at the check in desk to see if anyone would answer but again, got the recorded message. We were the only two guests standing in the hotel; clearly they weren't "busy with other guests". I went to their table, inquired about checking in (it's now 3:00 pm) and was told to come back in 90 minutes as our room wasn't ready. I asked about the check in time of 3:00 and it was surprising to them both that it was 3:00. They must have been very "busy" that day. I would give our room a '3' due to the rooftop view (had requested a temple view), the missing towel rack in the bathroom, and the TV remote that didn't work. We won't be returning or recommending this property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKennedy_Nauvoo, General Manager at The Woodruff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2014

First of all THANK YOU for your review. We have a large gift shop with a sandwich shop and those were employees of the gift shop. However that is no excuse for how we could have handled your situation. The Woodruff hotel staff works hard to help people feel comfortable and enjoy their stay in beautiful Nauvoo. We hope you will consider staying with us again when you come back to Nauvoo. So we can serve you better.

Thank you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
8.6 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Keokuk
4 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
8.9 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
83 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodruff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodruff Hotel

Address: 1200 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Price Range: £81 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodruff Hotel is located right across the street from the Nauvoo Temple. We offer beautiful hotel rooms with walk-out balconies overlooking the Nauvoo Temple. Walk to the Nauvoo pageant and the historic sites. The Woodruff Hotel was VOTED BEST HOTEL in Nauvoo by LDS Living magazine and BEST OF the MIDWEST in midwest living magazine. NOTE: We are not a B&B When choosing among hotels in Nauvoo please consider staying at the Woodruff Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing