We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Nauvoo℠

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Nauvoo℠
Ranked #2 of 12 Nauvoo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This review is based on the "cottage" located behind the Hotel Nauvoo. This was lots of fun for us because we basically had our own home in Nauvoo. We were there during pageant so it could get very busy. It was nice to be able to get away to our own "house" and enjoy peace and quiet. We were able to have a home cooked dinner at a dinner table each night. It was great and saved us lots of money (note: you are unable to use the oven so all meals must be cooked in the microwave).
The cons to staying here: You will have no internet access.(Our GSM cell phone had little to no signal strength around the cottage). If you want to use the internet you are required to go to the hotel lobby. You are unable to get many channels on the "satellite tv". This was only a minor issue because we didn't go to Nauvoo to watch TV. But it was kinda inconvenient when we wanted to watch tv (or the world cup) at the end of the day and were unable to do so.
Even with these cons the experience can't be beat. You will be within walking distance to many of the local attractions. If you want to be in the "heart of Nauvoo" this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mistrygirl-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I stayed at Motel Nauvoo for one night. We were very grateful to be able to check in really early as we had driven all night and were in desperate need of a nap and shower. We stayed in the suite. Beds were comfortable. We really liked that there were ceiling fans! Bathroom was spacious. It was basically a two bedroom apartment. Overall, we were pleased; however, for being a suite, it lacked some amenities we thought could be useful. We understood that the oven was disconnected due to safety concerns. But there was a microwave and toaster. It had a full kitchen and refrigerator. There were no kitchenware. At all. We were told it is not provided because it would be more mess for them to clean. While I can understand that, they could easily offset that with perhaps charging a housekeeping fee. We weren't making culinary masterpieces by any means. There weren't even paper towels or napkins. We had to buy plastic ware and napkins from the convenience store up the road. That would really be the one reason I give Motel Nauvoo a 4 out 5. Overall, we were happy and clean and staying right down the road from all of the historical areas was a major plus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in the suite at the Motel Nauvoo and it was wonderful. Everything seemed quite new, clean and fresh. And there was so much space! It was really an apartment with two bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen, dining room and living room. It was great to be able to spread out and enjoy our stay more.
The only downside is the kitchen. When booking a room with a full kitchen, you usually expect some assortment of dishes, pots, utensils, etc. Not here. Nada. The many many cupboards were completely empty. Not even a pot holder or a paper towel. Also, in spite of having a full size fridge and stove, you can only cook with the microwave. It's like they advertise and hook you with a kitchen, but don't really want you to do more than reheat a burrito.
I would definitely stay there again, because of the size and overall niceness, but we would be prepared for the kitchen.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwells7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNauvoo, Management Representative at Hotel Nauvoo℠, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. We hear repeatedly from our guests that they too find this accommodation to be spacious, clean and homey. We're sorry about the apparent miscommunication regarding kitchen utensils. The unit that you stayed in is advertised as allowing "microwave cooking only" for safety and sanitation reasons. We hope to serve you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We originally booked with Hotel Nauvoo because they were running a special for $65/night. This special was for a full size bed. After reading other reviews and talking to my husband we decided that a full size might be too small and we would regret not upgrading to the queen, so we upgraded. A queen size room ran us $76 + tax/night. We stayed in room 5, which was a little smaller than I thought it would be. I would have liked to see how it compared to the full size room! Other than the bed, the room did have a tv, a desk, and a sitting chair. There was very little room to move around. The window a/c unit kept the room as cold or warm as you wanted, but also kept it very humid if you didn't know how to adjust the exhaust lever. My husband had to look online to figure out how to adjust it. Directions for the unit would have been nice to have. The bathroom was larger than expected, but didn't have a fan, so the mirror got foggy every time we took a shower. There was also mold growing on the wall above the shower because unless you shower with the door open, the heat has no where to escape. The only other complaint we have about the room is that there are no darkening curtains. The window had mini aluminum blinds with a lace curtain. There was nothing available to keep light out, so as soon as the sun came up, it was bright as day in the room. We are not people that like to get up with the sun and found this very irritating. Waking up at 5 am while on vacation, unless it is planned, is not my idea of a good time!

Checking in was interesting. You check in at the same place they are conducting restaurant business. We were checking in around 6 pm, so it was busy with dinner guests. It was just weird to me that there wasn't a separate area for hotel check in.

They do have a little area upstairs where they keep cookies, ice in a cooler, hot water for coffee and hot chocolate, and a microwave. The cookies were always stocked and were very tasty. It would have been nice if they had a pitcher of drinking water so we didn't have to drink water from the bathroom.

The dinner buffet is really good, but is a little pricey! ($16/adult). There is a great selection of different foods and salads. It would be nice if they offered a discount on the buffet like they offer a discount on breakfast at Grandpa John's for their guests. There aren't many restaurants in town, so the buffet seemed to be the only place to eat dinner. On our second night we opted to eat pizza from Casey's down the street. It was pretty good considering it was pizza from a convenience store. It was definitely cheaper!! It is the only place to get pizza in town, though, so they were very busy! We didn't have time to wait the hour it was going to take for our pizza, so we did their pizza by the slice option. I'm sure a fresh pizza would have been much better, but it was still good.

Grandpa John's breakfast was very good. For $10/person you get the all you can eat buffet. They do have other options available as well. They make your pancakes and french toast to order, which was a nice surprise. The eggs, hash browns, bacon, biscuits and gravy, sausage, fruit selections, and danishes were all very good and fresh. We ate here both mornings we were in town. The staff was very friendly and willing to get you whatever you needed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNauvoo, Management Representative at Hotel Nauvoo℠, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for your comments. The historic inn is a very unique accommodation, but we pride ourselves on having the cleanest rooms in town, so we have responded immediately to address your concern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in Nauvoo last summer. She had visited before on a road trip across the country but I had never been. We had a great stay and found the hotel to be more than adequate. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the buffet downstairs was decent. It was a bit overpriced, but we only ate there once. As guests of the hotel you get a discount at the breakfast across the street. We had breakfast there every day.

The hotel is old, but that just adds to it's charm. If we visit Nauvoo again, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Hotel Nauvoo again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stricktown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed 1 night. Nauvoo motels close in the evening and don't have on-line resevations or prices. Hotel and Motel Nauvoo are the same owners, just a few blocks apart. We first ate at the Hotel which had great food at a good price. We then checked in to the motel (room 1). A well-kept, 50's "U" shaped motel. Small room but satisfactory for a couple. The only thing that bothered me was the decorative window in the top of the room door let a lot of light in. Hard to get to sleep if you require a dark environment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brighamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just enjoyed a very nice stay at Hotel Nauvoo. We were in Room 4, nice large, clean. The employees were very nice and attentive. Very quaint hotel, beautiful curved staircase. The restaurant has a wonderfull delicious buffet. Enjoyed our stay & it was convenient to relatives in Hamilton, Il

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nauvoo hotels
0.8 mi away
The Nauvoo Grand Bed & Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Nauvoo Villas The Condos
0.5 mi away
Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nauvoo℠? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nauvoo℠

Address: 1290 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1012
Region: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nauvoo
Price Range: £37 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nauvoo's original, genuine Historic Inn, built in the 1840's, with fully restored overnight accommodations. Free Internet. Cleanest rooms in Nauvoo. Discounted breakfast next door at the ultra-clean Grandpa John's Cafe. We are located one block from the Nauvoo Temple. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing