We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Pub”
Review of The Gun Inn

The Gun Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gun Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridsdale B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant Pub”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Liz was the best landlady we met on our trip to Northumberland and Cumbria. We were staying at a nearby pub, and were a bit miffed with it, and decided to try "the one up the road". We found the Gun, and after a fantastic welcome and an excellent pint of Black Sheep Bitter decided to return the following evening for a meal and to join in the pub quiz. A night to be remembered. This must be the friendliest pub in Northumberland. We WILL RETURN

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 556DavidL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Very welcoming and friendly hosts, great food and breakfast. Local also very friendly, and didn't laugh to much when we came last in the pub quiz!

Comfortable bed, beautiful location. Real value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon_yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

we stayed at The Gun Inn, when my husband ran the Kielder Marathon, we were booked into family room which was very big and roomy, with on-suite the room was very clean with ample tea and coffee to use, Liz and Mike were very friendly,the food was great they caters for all as i had my 2 girls in tow who are 8 and 11 who are really hard to please but the enjoyed it as well. The view from the dining room is breath taking, if we ever go back to Kielder we would consider staying there again.The breakfasts were outstanding but the chips were beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just enjoyed a one night stay in The Gun Inn while walking St Oswald's Way. Liz was a perfect host: offering to collect and drop us back on our walk, serving welcome pints of cold beer, great steaks in a dining room with fantastic views, comfortable, clean accomodation and making us sandwiches for the next day's walk. We can highly recommend this accomodation

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

great pub in ridsdale
liz and mike excellent hosts rooms clean comfy food excellent good beer and wine
bar staff are very friendly go out and drive round northumberland loads of history and great walks we will be back in october all ready booked
keith karen

Room Tip: stayed in family room nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I went to Northumberland on my motorbike, tent loaded but was unsuccessful in finding a campsite. Turned up at the Gun Inn as it was getting cold and late on a friday night and I needed some warm food.Food and Black sheep beer was nice and I enquired if they had a room available, luckily for me they did. Mick and Liz were very welcoming as were the locals and my wife and I had a good evening in the bar. Unfortunately they didn't have a room for the Saturday night but were more than happy to help find somewhere else(very local !) The cooked breakfast set's you up for the day.Also nice to meet Buddy, the pubs friendly dog :-)

Much nicer atmosphere than hotel chains,its a pub that's at the heart of its community so if the village is having an event best to just join in!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dartford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

we stayed at the gunn for four nights. a very warm and friendly welcome was given by liz and mike on arrival. the rooms are clean and comfy. the full cooked breakfast was to die for and bar and resturant meals are plentifull and very good quality , you sure get plenty of grub for your money. the staff are very friendly and more than helpfull. a good choice of lagers and real ales and plenty of choice where the wine is concerned. locals are very friendly and we had a good day at the village fun day and a good evening at the kareoke that was held in the bar. views are stunning from the pub and especially from the resturant.. a stay at this b&b is really recomended even if it is for one night on route to another destination. we will be staying at the gunn again. simply the best in northumberland.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridsdale
5.4 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
5.5 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
4.7 mi away
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
14.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cheviot Hotel
Cheviot Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gun Inn

Property: The Gun Inn
Address: Ridsdale, Ridsdale NE48 2TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ridsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Gun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing